Conor Hourihane in there I see!
Printable View
Conor Hourihane in there I see!
Article in FLW, encouraging Middlesboro to sign free agent Manning despite his defensive shortcomings; includes stats and infographic from Foresseaball, describing Manning as " The best Non-PL Loan Championship left back in 22-23".
Middlesbrough: Michael Carrick should swoop for free agent to find Ryan Giles solution (footballleagueworld.co.uk)
In a sense irrelevant, because the Ireland manager refuses to call him up. But I wish him well as a product of the Irish league system.
So what's Mannings excuse?
Is he justified in sulking because he was left out previously? If that's the case he needs to remind himself he's a Championship level player and not Champions League. Should Wes Houlihan have turned down call ups after he was left out for far too long?
Is Manning justified because he is looking for a club and doesn't want to get injured? In which case should Gary Breen have not played a WC in 2002 without a club?
Roy Keane was vilified for years for walking out on a call up, is Manning refusing to play for Kenny because it's personal between them like Keane and McCarthy?
Or is Manning excused cos ye just don't like Kenny?
Comment withdrawn.
Whoever thought he'd be off to Real Madrid?! (Even allowing for hyperbole)
Hence my bit in brackets.
Even allowing for that, your comment doesn't reflect anyone's views in the thread I think
I don't think anyone has ever even suggested he'd get a top half Premier move though.
I think people are aware our full-backs are ageing and O'Dowda wasn't great in Greece (arguably playing out of position) so probably one of the top-performing fullbacks in the Championship deserves a squad call-up
That doesn't mean we think he's the reincarnation of Cafu like
Fair play, with that you'd think he would have got a move to the Premiership instead of continuing his journeyman career in Championship.
One of the excuses going around when he turned down the call up for the Greece game was that he was out of contract so didnt want to risk injury. Glad for him that he didnt risk it, might never have gotten such a big move if he was injured.
Russel Martin said he turned down two Premiership clubs in favour of Southampton.
Probably deserved a call-up many times before that.
Seems a decent move though, assuming Southampton use their parachute payments to go straight back up. Though they don't seem the best run of clubs, so will wait and see how they get on.