No worries Peadar. Remember - Fred West ran an open house..... :DQuote:
Originally Posted by Peadar
Printable View
No worries Peadar. Remember - Fred West ran an open house..... :DQuote:
:D PM us your adress then and will see ya up there!Quote:
:eek: ;)
Fred West let men have a go off his missus while he watched through a peep hole. :eek: You might regret making a comparisson between yourself and him! :DQuote:
Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
Will the Lyric be big enough ? Regarding the Irish sky card , how does it work do you need an Irish box or do you need to make any modifications to the UK box ?Quote:
Irish Sky card is dead easy to sort. Key thing you need is an address in ROI to use (shouldn't be too hard for your Free-Staters.... :D ) :Quote:
Originally Posted by londonred
1) Get Sky over here (London).
2) After a while ring Sky up - tell them you've moved to Ireland, taken your box with you, that there's already a dish at the place you've moved into and it's all working, but you're not getting the Irish channels and still getting BBC London. When you ring them be sure to do '141' to stop your number showing up - otherwise they'll know you're ringing from a London number.
3) After a while the numb-nuts in the call-centre will click that there's a different card for Ireland. They'll then cancel your current card, set up a new contract for you at your supposed Irisih address, and send you a new card.
You may need to prompt them a bit - but make sure they don't try to tell you it's a technical problem and try to arrange an Engineer's visit !
4) Pay by either your credit card or through an Irish bank account if you still have one.
5) It takes about 4 weeks to sort out, so down-side is you don't have any Sky for that time. ****ed my housemates off a bit, but hey - the end justified the means.... :)
Again - can't disuade you all from the Lyric enough. Was in there for a Celtic Euro game once. After the match, when people were leaving, the landlord
was flicking around looking at other footie results on Sky text, and looking for something else to put on the telly. I politely asked him could I have a quick look at how the Irish teams had done in Europe that night, at which point he essentially told me in an aggressive manner to go feck myself, that Irish football was sh#t, and that he wouldn't have anything to do with it in his pub. He then completely ignored me and put it onto a DIY programme or something like that just to be even more thran. I went back to my seat and told my mate what had just happened and he confirmed that the person I'd been speaking to was the Landlord. We left. I haven't been back since.
The man does not deserve Eircom League fan's business, and I'd be disappointed if fellow fans gave him any.
Errr, should this Sky card business be on a message board?Quote:
Its a fair point regarding the Landlord if that was your experiance (and after my O' Raffs suggestion was so cruelly ignored, and the Guinness would have been £1.60 a pint, yes thats right folks £1.60 a pint Sunday to Thursday, [Pleeeeease give me a free pint now PF?]) but I think too start fecking around with the venue now would cause more trouble than it is worth.
Well as an alternative, we could see what people say to having it in the Porterhouse in maidens Lane, Covent Garden, bit pricey on the bev but not a bad spot all the same.
No football tops though :eek: ;)Quote:
Originally Posted by sylvo
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pat O' Banton
I was thinking that myself as well. Anyway see what everyone else thinks on it, I don't mind either way.
Were you planning on wearing one?Quote:
Originally Posted by Pat O' Banton
It's best to stick to the original plan.
We can always move on if needs be.
It could be my Versace jacket with a YSL jumper over my Finn Harps top possibly :eek: :D .Quote:
Rather; this was firstly a point of information for those coming and potentially wearing football tops then not getting in and secondly a reference to me being thrown out of the spot at 12 in the afternoon for wearing a Celtic top (no doubt an policy that many on here would enforce if ever the got hold of a licence to sell intoxicating liquior ;) )
I agree with keeping it in the Lyric, as this has been the venue we started out with and secondly its small so no one should have any trouble finding anyone. The Porterhouse is massive and it would be causing too much hassle to try to meet up.
DCFCSteve your point have been noted and we may well look for another venue for the next meet up.
Grand so, we'll have a look at somewhere else for the next meet up. I guess the porterhouse would be a bit of a pain to find everyone in.
Don't forget Pat, Pub's in London have a smoking ban just like they do in Troyes. ;)
Still trying to enforce one on myself :rolleyes:Quote:
Originally Posted by sylvo
aye keeping at the lyric is a \good idea-sound a bit selfish but after convincing ma parents to let me meet ma brother in LOndon and then go drinking with you lot may mess 'em about to tell them i'll be somewhere else :eek: ;)
Lookin' foward to it! :D
Who's confirmed in? haven't seen PP aroun for a bit......... :confused:
Will miss dav :( but we'll drink a toast!
Lads sorry i ahven't been on much but comp isn't working so am using ma parents lap-tops whenever they arn't working!
My work Christmas do has been shifted forward a night - happy days ! Can now come and help yee lot get drunk :) May drag another Derry fan along with me as well, but can't confirm yet.
I've got one on that night too.Quote:
Unfortunate thing is that I have to meet a customer early the next morning.
Nightmare!
Should leave me free for the rest of the week and weekend though.
Merry Christmas Dav-card on the way! :DQuote:
Originally Posted by davros
See the rest of ya Thursday! :D
See you lads Thursday! Could one of you lads PM me your mobile number, my knowledge of Central London aint the best and it'd be good to know the arrangements when i get there, cant use email at work!
Lookin foward to thursday! what time is it all kickin' off?
Pauro would give ya my number.....but ya'd probably be better with one of the other lads-I'm coming from Guildford tho pretty sure ma grandad knows the way fine from his decades up in Landan :D
What's the nearest tube staion?
Piccadilly Circus or Leicester Square. From Guildford get the train to Waterloo then the Northern Line to LS.