Pats grab one before half-time through Mulcahy. Game on?
Portadown take the lead in Dalyer.
Printable View
Pats grab one before half-time through Mulcahy. Game on?
Portadown take the lead in Dalyer.
Jesus Oriel, I said "back to the football" because everything was more or less covered with regards to fans behaviour. Would have thought that was fairly obvious.
Like it or not there were negative aspects to the occassion. Am I not allowed mention them?! Yet you want me to mention your "excellent achievement"!! in case you missed it I am a Drogs fan - I was hoping for a Linfield win
Pats had a goal disallowed too. How it's not at least 4-0 is a mystery. Destroying Cliftonville
Just got back from Richmond and ****ing hell we could have won that game 10 nil if we had a decent goalscorer on. Dave McMillan could have had 4 on his own if he had stopped skyin every attempt. Good long throws from anto murphy but so that's a threat at least, if we can sort out our finishing we,ll be a force this year.
Saying we'll be a force is probably an exaggeration to be fair. But i agree, if we'd had a striker of note, we'd have been comfortably through. I think Danny North will be up there amongst the league's top scorers come the end of the season, but he can't do it on his own. Hopefully, Ian Daly will be up to scratch!
Not taking chances has been the story of Cliftonville's season thus far and we have been in the same situation Pats found themselves in last week a number of times. I am glad to see that they have taken their chances well in the Setanta cup at least. We have a small squad and its been beset by injuries of late so I was pleasantly surprised that we managed to hold out.
yep both games passed of peacefully .............................but to read the grossly inaccurate BBC report , you'd thik there was all out war at the game,
as for Secterian singing..................ffs it was Dundalk V Linfield , both sides where at but what did people expect ,
secterians songs are belted out in a lot of NI league matches as well as Celtic V Rangers and lots of other matches across europe, freedom of speech really ,
to me it all Banter among rival fans .........................anyone offended by a chant may perhaps need to get a life
Was the draw supposed to be last night?
To consider IRA or UDA chants as sectarian is infantile.
The fields of athenry or I..I..IRA are not sectarian, they are political yes of course but most definetly not sectarian.
I dont really care tbh what was song its just brandishing anything remotely political that comes out of the North as sectarian is not only innacurate it is also disingenuous.
Chanting IRA is about as racist as South Africans chanting MK.
..... no problem just get the FAI to "investigate" it :rolleyes:
Decent match at Dalymount last night, a very patchwork Bohs side (think they only met in the tunnel) put on a good display against Portadown. Two cracking goals by Ports gave them an ill deserved win (think a draw would have been fair result) which makes them strong favourites to win the tie.
Killian brennan was (rather harshly in my opinion) sent off for an aerial challenge - ref said he led with his elbow - but after whinging at the distinctly average (and thats generous) ref, Mr T Connelly all game he was asking for trouble .
Not a great crowd (have not got official figure) but a decent game. No sectarian chants or incidents inside the ground and despite it being a rather chilly night neither set of fans saw the need to burn anything :o
Not all over but very much "advantage Portadown" at the half way point.
What was the Bohs team? There's been all sorts of rumours about who ye're going to sign, but what have ye actually ended up with?
Good man WW, you wanted a club from outside our own league to beat a team in ours. Lovely.
Also, I stand over my first post, you simply could not wait to post up the only bad news story of the tie, and took delight in pointing it out. That was my point.
Get a life
starting 11 was
B Murphy
O Heary
O Cahill
A Price
K Feely
L Dixon
G O'Brien
R Bayly
K Brennan
K Somers
A Flood
Liam Burnes and Rossiter and O'Connor (keeper) injured (along with long term injury Cronin) after that its all a bit hazy :D with few trialists still around (obviously not registered for SETANTA)
Was there complaints from the Irish League in previous seasons on the timing on the competition? I don't think they can have those complaints at the moment. I haven't heard League of Ireland clubs making an issue on it before. I suppose we can only tell after the tournament has completed but hopefully the Setanta Cup has found a settled format.
As Darby O'Gill would say woo whoo hullabaloo :D
You're gonna love this Oriel, I took great delight when yous were hammered in Europe last season as well!
And I didn't take delight in the disgraceful behaviour of your fans. It just didn't surprise me in the slightest is all.
Prove it WW, as usual you have nothing except an "I heard"...
Theres rivalry and then theres obsession but you take the biscuit. Not even funny anymore it's sad..:doh:
What can I do, yous fools keep replying! Even I'm bored at this stage. But if you wanna bury your head in the sand Dunny, fire away.
Simply asking you to provide proof WW, whats wrong with that?
Christs sake, I'd be amazed if there were not some sectarian chants (by a minority) on both sides given the teams and history around this fixture. So what ? Not justifying it in any way but harping on about it only encourages the morons responsible.
As regards the "somebody burned something" argument, :rolleyes:
If Bohs knock Portadown out, we're playing Cliftonville.
Setanta Cup Quarter Finals:
Glentoran v Dundalk
Lisburn Distillery v Shamrock Rovers
Sligo Rovers v Portadown* or Cliftonville
Bohemians* or Cliftonville v Crusaders
* If Portadown beat Bohemians its Sligo against Portadown, if Bohemians win its Sligo against Cliftonville.
Last 4 predictions
Dundalk
Shamrock Rovers
Sligo
Crusaders
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
..........................I was refer to the banter among rival groups of fans , not players
why would 1 set of fans make monkey noises towards another set of fans ,
I was looking at at site Irishultrasmovement.blogspot.com seems to be a fair bit of flares used so far by supporters I take the fines have been reduced?
Im not sure what the fines are in relation to the Setanta Cup but i know that Dundalk were warned about there future use after the Linfield V Dundalk match at Windsor Park.
Warning issued,but do Dundalk fans take heed ??
Moday night in Oriel after Dundalk score :https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/_3...0/IMG_0271.JPG
I'm sure that's just the usual scaretactic trying to put lads off using them most likely. I reckon there will be a big increase in use of them this season in general.
Anyways what sort of teams are the Nordies putting out this year or are they taking it serious?
Great photo btw Built. Full of passion
Photos courtesy of DFC photographer David/Nigel Caldwell and more available on https://picasaweb.google.com/nigelca...aCupFeb282011#
We are a very welcoming club PartySaint :cool:Quote:
There seems to be a random Shamrock Rovers fan in the middle of the shed
Has that message NOT gone out yet :D
Yeah I heard Dundalk supporters had a banner at the start of the game welcoming Linfield to oriel park too
More than a scare tactic with a couple of clubs already on the first rung of the fines ladder.
Quote:
RULE 22. SPECTATOR CONDUCT
1. The home club/team is liable for any improper conduct among all spectators, regardless of the question of culpable conduct or culpable oversight and depending on the situation, may be fined. Further sanctions may be imposed in the case of serious disturbances.
2. The visiting club/team is liable for improper conduct among its own group of spectators, regardless of the question of culpable conduct or culpable oversight and depending on the situation, may be fined. Further sanctions may be imposed in the case of serious disturbances. Supporters occupying the away sector of a stadium are regarded as the visiting supporters, unless proven to the contrary.
3. Improper conduct includes but is not limited to violence towards persons or objects, letting
off incendiary devices, throwing missiles, use of smoke bombs, flares or fireworks, displaying insulting slogans in any form, uttering insulting sounds, racist behaviour or invading or encroaching onto the pitch.
4. The liability described in par. 1 and 2 also includes matches played on neutral grounds, especially during finals of competitions.
SANCTIONS
RULE 23. CULPABILITY
Unless otherwise specified, infringements are punishable regardless of whether they have been committed intentionally or negligently.
RULE 24. INVOLVEMENT
1. Anyone who intentionally takes part in committing an infringement, either as instigator or accomplice, is subject to disciplinary proceedings.
2. The disciplinary body shall take account of the degree of guilt of the party involved and may reduce a sanction accordingly. It shall not go below the minimum sanction applicable.
RULE 25. SANCTIONS APPLICABLE
1. The following sanctions are applicable only to natural persons:
a) caution;
b) expulsion;
c) match suspension;
d) ban from dressing rooms and/or substitutes’ bench;
e) ban from entering a stadium;
2. The following sanctions are applicable only to legal persons:
a) playing a match without spectators;
b) playing a match on neutral territory;
c) ban on playing in a particular stadium;
d) annulment of the result of a match;
e) exclusion;
f) forfeit;
3. In addition to the sanctions listed above the following
sanctions are applicable to both natural and legal persons;
a) a warning;
b) a reprimand;
c) a fine;
d) the return of awards.
Any list of rules which states uttering insulting sounds can't be taken serious.
Respective Club Website previews of Glentoran V Dundalk on Monday night:
http://www.glentoran.com/read_more.php
http://www.dundalkfc.com/glentoran-v...-match-preview
Are Setanta planning to show any of the games?