Who would? Look at our government for instance :o
Printable View
I know im late to this topic but imo,there is little history to this Derby. It only took on real significance for Dundalk fans with Drogheda's recent success. Prior to this golden era for the Drogs it would have been percieved in the same light as Monaghan v Dundalk is now...a bloody nuisance where a team plays out of their skin in what is their biggest game of the season. Was it 96/97 Drogheda Put Dundalk out of the cup 2nd round....Dundalk fans embaressed and Drogheda fans comparing to being as goodl as being league runners up once........huge potential for the future if Dundalk get their act together.
Not a Derby but over the years Dundalk v Rovers always had a real bite.
Etymologically it's fine to call big-draw, bumper games 'derbies', whether they're local derbies or not.
I was wondering when someone would finally bring the etymological point of view to the table.
Drogheda United v Dundalk 6%
6% is bull,alot bigger imo
Nice digs there but not true! This one has had an "edge" to it for as long as I can remember (late 80's) and from before that from what I hear from older fans.
Its a proper derby, along with the big Dublin ones and Harps Derry, and it is far from friendly.
Big crowds too. Over 5,000 at the last one in the cup a couple of seasons ago. (which we won 2-0 btw :D )
The only thing that suggests that Galway United and Sligo Rovers games are 'derbies' is the fact that both Clubs are in the same province. The reality is that Terryland is 120KM from the Showgrounds better illustrates that it is indeed, not a derby.
In fact, I reckon Galway United is the most remotely located Club in Ireland. The nearest other Clubs are Athlone Town (80KM), Limerick37 (100KM) and Longford Town (100KM).
We don't actually have a derby.
There were also about 600 to see a 7 or 8 nil drubbing for Drogheda late 90's in league cup!! There was near 2000 for most recent Malone cup...point being being was that the 'edge' existed for Drogheda fans. Im not knocking this fixture but it has no more history than if Monaghan won the Premier league:D over the next few seasons...then the context of the tie would change . Bit like us thinking that the English care about the Rep Of Ireland being the auld enemey - we dont even register compared to the scots/gremans/french etc. Dundalk were far more interested by the visits of rovers bohs and derry and pats and shels and galway and sligo and ucd and ach ye get my point;)
on a replay.... we should have had yis the first game in oriel - missed a penalty (?) and hit the bar twice - finished 1-1.. is that the game you refer to? or is my memory skewed? good craic tho... next season we should have a few in the league... hopefully anyways
You're funny Nesta!
Bholg, you are wrong. The 2-0 win was in Boriel. The 2 games you're on about were the season before that.
I hang my head in shame that our vocal support have been reduced to singing about how much we hate Drogheda.......the ultimate of back-handed compliments!!! sniff many of the dublin clubs used to sing about hating Dundalk. Im funny!, as funny as Drogheda's plans for a new stadium.....sorry sorry couldnt resist such a cheap shot:p
See all these Dublin derbies, old news i know, but in a 10 team league it will just bore the pants off people! How many Dublin derbies could be played - 12 or 16 in one guise or another ffs fingal and shels promoted the press lads will love it as they really will live the dream of nothing existing outside our beloved capital! (theyed be claiming subsistance expenses for traveling to Drogheda and Bray :rolleyes:)