2 million for Daryl Murphy is pretty insane, loan them Stokes.
Printable View
2 million for Daryl Murphy is pretty insane, loan them Stokes.
I remember Terry Mancini saying after the game that he was a bit shocked by the fans being able to shout comments in to the dressing room through the cracks and holes in the dressing room windows.
I was at that game :o Not one of the shouters through the window though. Under the shed at the school end was my usual position.
That is very unlikely.
The normal version of the story has the original long version of AnbF played including the first verse. This would also have been played first as it would be the away anthem.
For a home game the normal short version of the anthem would have been played. Ours would have been played 2nd and it is obvious with the crowd etc that it is our anthem.
The story has too many variations and doesn't add up. I firmly believe it is an urban myth.
Once thought to be apocryphal but the horse himself has opened his mouth on the "incident".
http://archives.tcm.ie/irishexaminer...y130119760.asp
The man himself takes up the story: “It was a great honour to be selected and I lined up on the side of the pitch, desperate to get playing. All the pre-match ceremony seemed to go on forever, and then the music started playing and it went on and on, and I turned to Don Givens and said, ‘for f**k’s sake, their national anthem goes on a bit’ and he said, ‘that’s ours, Terry’. I didn’t have a clue!”
I´d guess one anthem blended into the other without the Garda Band pausing for breath
Snap! :) :)
Nice to have some company here now. Together, we must battle the army of Wednesdayites. (there's a thread in the World Football section on the Championship)
£2 million does seem extreme. But hey, we're rolling in the cash now so who cares. :p Those in the know say it's 60/40 ish - hopefully that means you just have to pay 60% of the publicised price! I think the competition for his signature (Mick is a big fan isn't he?) is what'll ultimately drive the price up - Leicester are rumoured as well. Keane is playing it smart in saying there are a few sniffing around. I think Murphy has good potential, he needs plenty of games though I feel, so I'm not sure the timing of this transfer is at all ideal. If we were mid-table no problem, but he's not the type of player you want coming in for a relegation scrap, as things are looking at the moment. From a QPR perspective I would've preferred Connolly for about half the price - proven goalscorer at the required level. Still, I'll proudly trumpet any Irish player who joins, and don the hoops with evermore pride!!
I've heard Julio Arca --> Sunderland, David Connolly --> Middlesbrough in a straight swap. Good move IMO since the manager wont give him a chance
Crazy rumour mate. Arca's worth about £5m. Connolly's worth a few hundred grand.
Come on over....everybody Welcome
www.iqpr.org
Ireland QPR :D:cool::)
Was at the game to-day. Murphy came on for Jones in the second half. My God if this bloke gets paid to scores goals there is some hope for us all. He is absolutely horendous.Just a big lanky useless waste of space. Who in their right mind would pay £2m for this?
I don’t rate him at all but Liam Miller was not bad although he was sent off for been a silly boy. Stokes came on with 20 to go but was ineffective. For me anyway i dont think after watching him this afternoon he would ever make a Chelsea player, not in a million years, actually if they got him for free and had to pay him £100 a week they wouldn’t have him.
I always thought you lived in a dream world as regards Connolly and I think you've confirmed it with this latest rambling! Connolly is utter tripe at premiership level. I have a friend player at Middlesborough (B.Hutchinson) who has just broken through and has ten times the potential that Connolly has ever shown at this level. I can bet you whatever you like that they will never ever look at signing Connolly. He has never ever produced the goods at the highest level and never will. Where exactly did you hear this rumour? In your head at about 4 in the morning me thinks! I'd like more than anything to be proved wrong and Connolly bang in 20goals a season in the EP but it aint gona happen so please stop kidding yourself!!
Paddy,
Yes, we were all p!ssesd over the Gallen thing. His parents are both from Ireland and he should have played for Ireland. What happened was (and I have checked this out big time) is that Gerry Francis who was QPR manager that season (1994-1995) put pressure on young Kevin to play for England. Young keving looked up to Gerry and for this reason choose to play for England at U-21 level. Because (at that time) once you played for anonther country at U-21 level you cannot play for anonther country. He played one match and never again received another callup. All QPR fans agree it was the biggest mistake of his career.
I heard it on ReadyToGo, Sunderland's biggest message board. Again, how can you say Connolly is "utter tripe" at EPL level when he has 5 starts (1 of which he got hurt, another where he started up front with his worst possible striker partner, Michael Chopra and he really didn't play badly, just not great either), and a few more 10 minute cameos?
It was nothing to do with him 'looking up' to Francis, it was to do with the fact that QPR would not offer him a contract unless he declared for England. At that time the 'three foreigners' rule was in force, Gallen had already been associated as a potential target for Man.Utd. who had their quota already, and as a non-England player, Gallen transfer's value to QPR would have reduced drastically.
I have heard of that before as well. It depends who you talk to.