Not sure if worth posting, but maybe of interest, despite the source.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...r-3119678.html
Not sure if worth posting, but maybe of interest, despite the source.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...r-3119678.html
The second half was very enjoyable. I can't comment properly on the first as I had the usual poxy stream issues after getting turned away from every pub in my small english town cos they were showing horses or lower league English football. Very relieved we managed to nab the goal and head off with a win as even though the performance was good at 0-0 getting the victory gives us a great psychological boost that was in any case merited.
As usual it seemed to be our typical, solid but where-is-our-goal-coming-from performance but with that little bit extra creativity in the shape of an on form Aiden McGeady. Hopefully the little ploy of 'dropping' him in order to let McLean stake his claim will help carry that 2nd half showing through to Poland. A wee rocket up the arse for Aiden was no harm. Little bit of criticism in the press, the building hype around McLean and Aiden has responded magnificently. I've been a fan for years and he can easily our best player now and for years to come if everything clicks for him. However there is the nagging doubt that he is one of these 'unlucky' players. Hitting the post yesterday for example, or a good piece of work out wide coming to nothing - how often have we seen it? Trappers is often considered a 'lucky' manager. I don't buy that sort of ****. He makes his luck, he knows what he's doing. Conversely, if Aiden is constantly 'unlucky' (hitting the post yesterday) then there are reasons for that too.
But McGeady/McLean out wide going forward? Yeah - have to be happy with that.
I'm with the lads who question Doyle getting the nod along with Robbie. Walters and Long have just as much claim on a starting place going on form. The fact that the jersey is Doyles and has been for a while now is the only thing keeping him in the starting 11 at this moment. I like Walters. Strong, burly but quick and with a decent touch and its not like you are sacrificing mega goal getting if he plays instead of Doyle - you might even gain a bit?
Gibson. Him going to Everton could be one of the most important things to happen to the Irish side in a long time. Everyone can see that there is a player there.
Ward and McShane. Hmmmmmm. McShane is a bit of a cult hero at this stage and you can tell he loves the green jersey. There's a rash challenge and a penalty stalking him mercilessly though and there's no shaking it.
Like everyone else I can't wait to get over there. 2 days in Berlin, 3 in Poznan, 4 in Gdansk, 3 in Poznan, 2 in Berlin..... gonna be fecking brilliant.
I can blame this bloody article. Came across it the other day and browsed through it. It must have subliminally slipped into the 'Facts' section of my brain, avoiding the 'Fiction' and 'Dubious' sections.
http://www.irishabroad.com/news/iris...allegiance.asp
Quote:
Aidan (sic) himself, however, has diplomatically steered clear of citing a pride in his diasporic heritage as the reason for his preference — explaining instead that having come through the Irish youth system and being capped at under-16 level he is simply following a natural progression by wishing to play at senior level for the Republic.
His father John, a former professional footballer with Sheffield Utd, has also been at pains to emphasize that Aidan’s decision has been motivated by purely footballing reasons, even going so far as to appeal to the Rangers support ahead of an Old Firm match not to single his son out for abuse for choosing to play for Ireland.
That's already been posted, sorry Ole Ole.
I think we now know the Nr1 top 2 players :)
This was the first time in an age I can remember watching us thinking we can actually play some football. I thought we were very good in the second half, very positive, and attack minded. I thought we lost our shape at the back because of this a few times though, which isn't normally like us and I can imagine Trap not being happy with this. But i did notice after half an hour that Bosnia weren't really keeping possession anymore so maybe its hard to gauge how good we were given the lack of urgency/will from the bosnian players.
Some people are very funny on here, Mcgeady was excellent his crossing was excellent his movement was excellent, and his timing, which was always a problem was excellent. He timed everything perfectly, but ya he used to be crap crossing, 1 game doesn't change that, but he has proved over the last couple of games that he is perfecting his timing and his crossing, which is great to see.
I'm sorry to blow all the hype and all the Derry red and white tinted glasses, but Mcclean was decidedly average, he got in about 3 good crosses in the first half but in the second half he was out of position and just generally out of tune, looked like someone who was just back from injury or something to be honest. But the fact Trap gave him the full 90 means he must be wanting him to get up to speed very quickly.
Gibson, played some great balls and definitely looked far better than we have ever seen before, interesting that gibson got to play both halves, these are things Trap wouldn't have done in the past, but he seems more willing to adapt to the posivity than the negative, he must have more confidence in the team and the players at this point than anytime in the past, which again is another positive. I still feel gibson can give at least another 50-60 percent.
Back 4 very solid most of the time but a few hairy moments that will be a lot harder take in the Group games.
Keane and Doyle V Walters and Long, we looked far more dangerous in the second half than the first up front. I know mcgeady made a huge impact but I dont think if it were keane and doyle up there we would have created as many chances, for all the hard work and running Doyle and keane to a lesser extent, their positioning and running isn't as direct as Long and Walters, where doyle and lesser keane pick up teh ball, is far less advantagous than where Walters and less so long pick up the ball. They hold it up well, but they dont hold it up or bring into play in the same dangerous areas that Walters or long find themselves in. Im not saying drop keane, but im thinking with 25 mins to go or so Id look at replacing keane and doyle (if he sticks with doyle) with Walters and Long. I would also agree that perhaps Doyle needs some bench time, Long or walters, walters for me really as keane always links well with a big target man.
Have we ever looked as good strenght in depth though, apart from maybe CB and LB. Irish_praha touched on it, but its the first time I've felt like this in along time about the team, I really do think we look like a tough team to beat, with good squad depth, and organised individual players.
Hunt did indeed throw a bit of a strop but he cant really be blamed he was told to warm up then told to sit down and kelly was the sub to come on. What i like though was Trap going up to him afterwards and the 2 were grand to eachother and Hunt was just happy to be there, but it shows a side of Trap I hadn't seen before, that he does have individual man management, and he does have the personal touch with every player. I think some on here, myself included, found it hard to gauge from his press conferences how he approached players, on a one-one basis.
It looks like a lot of the general Irish public didnt watch this game because of the lovely day outside....
Great atmosphere at the match, but I cant see how there were 37k at it...
Bosnia were brutal. We did what we had to do but it was against an opposition going through the motions. Wouldn't read too much into team or individual performance given the opposition's lack of interest.
Would agree, in their position I don't think we'd have much interest either. End of season, probably filled with bitterness that we're going to the Euros and they aren't and most of all minds on summer holidays.
Still have to score your chances but don't think we were tested anywhere near defensively that we would have been under different circumstances.
Agree Ifk, but you can only play against whats put up against you, and our passing and our movement was a lot better than I've seen it before.
Good post POS, though naturally I'm going to take you on over this one...;)
Decidedly average seems a bit harsh, would you not say McClean was Ireland's most effective attacker in the first half? A half when Bosnia were at their most potent, and probably, their most true-to-form (as mentioned they seemed well disinterested in the second)?
It's all relative after all, but McClean was far more effective than Duff imo and was at the heart of most of our attacking moves in the first half.
Taking into account this is a guy making his first start - he burned his right back about half a dozen times in the first half, set up Gibson for an effort he should've hit the target with and slung in a few really good crosses.
Second half he wasn't so hot, though I think he was a bit unsettled after being shuttled over to the right for a period.
It was only last year he was playing left wing in the LOI - from that to Ireland's best attacker for a first 45 in the Aviva is some return.
Also I think McGeady's always been a good crosser - sometimes he's more in range than others. :)
Thanks for the Hunt clear up by the way - it was only because I saw Hunt stripped then looked up at the big screen and saw him sitting back down and having a minor tantrum, throwing his training top about kinda thing. Good chance he'll start against Hungary.
I agree, but his crossing always looks better when he plays on the right, where Trap has consistently played him for a while now, through necessity or design. When he is on the left he is either playing crosses in on his left foot, on having to cut back inside which will inevitably lead to a more difficult ball for the striker.
When he is on the left it is much better to encourage him to cut inside the full back and run at the centre half, but we don't really play that kind of football, and I doubt Trap would be happy with him leaving himself out of position if the opposition counter attacked. In my opinion the right wing is a better fit for him in our system.
Perhaps decidely average was a little harsh alright. I think Mcclean was more direct and more forward thinking, than Duff was, but i thought duff did very well and linked up better with keane than say mcclean did with either keane or doyle, and a winger, in our system at least is meant to link up with the 2 strikers and get balls into them. I was probably viewing differently to how you guys viewed him, forgetting that he played in the LOI side last year in the dublin super cup and his meteoric rise in the PL, I was expecting after all the hype the kind of impact mcgeady or duff would bring to a game, at times I thought i was watching a younger, stronger kilbane. He is very direct and strong, but without his speed to beat full backs I'm not sure what he offers - yet. His touch though and his left foot do add a dimension to his game that others don't have.
Maybe the reason mcgeadys crossing was so bad in the past and why he still misses some is he tries to perfect each cross as one of those hanging crosses that stay in the air at the same height for so long, that when he doesnt do it right, it goes way off. Its a great cross for a striker, as long has pointed out in his interview on rte this morning, and a very difficult one for a defender do defend against. The great thing about him on Saturday was I could count on one hand(only :)) the amount of times he didnt get it over the first defender.
Yes, from what i saw just like kevin kilbane 8 or so years ago :D
And just like Kilbane was direct, he had lots of pace also when he started out. But when that pace went so did any ability he ever had. Hopefully Mcclean isnt as one dimensional and as dependent on his speed as kilbane was.
Direct in football, is sometimes a replacement for, limited ability.
I'd say it was Duff, Keane, McClean in that order. McClean did some good stuff but I think the game affirmed that Duff and McGeady are our preferred combination by some distance. The one area McClean has a real advantage over either is in the air, allowing more balls to stick on the flanks, but that's arguably a negative too as it encourages our long ball-happy defenders to play more long balls.
In the first half I disagree. Keane did well to get on some long balls (and linked quite well with others) but I thought Duff wasn't great in the first 20-30 minutes - he gave the ball away handy a couple of times and didn't really trouble the Bosnians too much, not until he linked up with Doyle for that chance and also cut inside neatly and shot wide. But it took him a while to get going.
Duff improved as the half goes on and - of course - is a class act. But...
McClean created a bit of havoc every time he got in the first 45, whether forcing Begovic into his only save of the half, teeing up Gibson, or slinging crosses into the box after beating his man. If we're going to compare, I thought McClean was the round's clear winner.
When we were under pressure, sans possession, in the first 20-25 mins, McClean was by a distance our most effective out-ball (mostly with balls to feet as well).
Still think Duff/McGeady are the starters btw.
And his dink from the left side onto the head of somebody was also on left foot.
Anybody ever observe the crossing stats for Robbin?
Even at his poorest for us, he's still been our best option (along with Duff of course) at wide midfield, throughout this campaign.
Like I said in another thread, Duff is probably going to retire in the near future so it's great to have a replacement coming through at the exact right time where he can still learn something from him before he's gone.
He is in no way a like-for-like replacement but it good that we have another left-footed player who is capable of playing on the wing. This is commonly a problem position for other international teams and we currenly have 4 decent options for that position although I would prefer McGeady playing on the right and hope that McClean will become a better option that Hunt, if that's not already the case. I'm sure he has some faults in his game and this will become more apparent after he has played about 10 international games and another full season of club football. Who knows he might even develop into a decent left back for us. No player is perfect; Roy Keane for example never scored enough goals from overhead kicks :p