www.claresoccer.net updated
Printable View
www.claresoccer.net updated
Well done to Rock on winning the cup. Fully deserved victory.
anyone have a report from the 17s final this evenin?
On another note, i saw that the limerick boys have been giving their views on a team of the season so has anyone got any input? Should be a fairly interesting topic.
bang on with your cup final prediction there studsup. well done to rock rovers also, they desrved the win. Bunratty shot themselves in the foot before the game even started and during it as well.
Cratloe Celtic should be ashamed of themselves, to be 6 nil down after an hour of a crucial playoff and lose 6-2. They're down where they should be now anyway and good ridance to em. Showing up to a few games with just 7 or 8 players is pathetic
avenue won 1 nil to put an end to newtowns great run. yet again an example of how teams can get up for one off games. lively game thought they deserved their when, were solid at the back. was expecting a bit more from the newtown dream team after all the talk bout them.
Decent enuf game, Avenue deserved their 1-0 win tonight. Both sides missed good chances to go in front in the first half, Avenue who were the better side hit the frame of the goal 3 times. The goal came 2 minutes into the 2nd half. Newtown piled on the pressure for the last 30 mins, their striker missed the chance of the match hitting the post with a free header from 3 yards. In the last min Avenue keeper made a great double save to make sure this great Newtown team will have to settle for the league despite all their building up
Totally agree hacker.not their fault that they cant attract players.
Come on lads. ye must have opinions on the team of the season. or even players/young players of the season?
While i agree with you in regards to 3 at the back, i knew when i arrived at the game and saw the team that something wasn't right. Up to a few weeks ago i have watched Bunratty in most of their home games. Made a few calls and found out a few things. Davy Hogan is just back from injury, Monie same and is not fit at all, as for Ritchie, he would have started but for going AWOL over last 2 weeks missing games with no excuses! Was surprised to see Scales back, he was injured for a while and then decided he didn't want to play football, he came back 3 weeks ago. The system they played on Sat was the same system that beat Avenue and Lifford in other cup games. Agree that management should have changed the system but the players need to take responsibility, IMO they didn't show up on the night but when they upped the pace and passed the ball they nearly got what would have been an undeserved leveller to force extra time. While players and management will be very down for a while i think they under performed for the season and if they stick together and add 1 or 2 they could come back big time next season. They will be a very hurt group and if they channel that hurt in the right direction IMO they could be up with the top teams in the league next season. Hard luck to all the lads and well done for turning around a season that for long periods looked like they would be relegated. I look forward to being able to get back to watching them next season.
Finally congrats to Rock Rovers on a deserved victory.:ball:
c
just checked back over posts did not see a lot building newtown up
last one below was from shelbourne praising both teams !!!
U17CupNewtownvAvenue
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Anyone with nothing to do on Monday night might consider going toDoora to see this cup final.Strange time to be on almost like hiding it away??? 2 good football sides ,old adversaries ,Newtown going for the double ,won the 2 league matches 2-1 and 5-0,cocky as hell but Avenue spirit will never say die and very good team under Gary Seery.Should be a good one.
Any takers???
ah goway hacker. how can you defend them and a couple of them walkin off the field laughin and sayin ''well lads it was good season anyway haha''. resources don't come into this one, look at their opponents Cooraclare, their resources are hardly better than Cratloe. Cratloe were only in the Premier 2 seasons ago and they've had successive relegations. Since they went from the Premier some of their players have used it as a way 'to keep fit' for Cratloe's GAA teams. That Cratloe team have no heart and from what I can see only a few lads actually give a sh!t about the club. That's why they're down in the 3rd division now and they're there to stay. LazyLegs dont be tryin to stir .....
My team of season:
GK:John healey avenue
Rb:mark malley newmarket
cb:mark donlon newmarket
cb:seamus lawlor newmarket
lb:eamonn o reilly avenue
Rm:
Cm:mike malley newmarket
Cm:dave mcCarthy Lifford
Lm:
St:mahoney avenue
Can anyone else fill in the blanks or change it
shelbourne im hearing that there's a youths shield in mid june so maybe ye can atone for yer 17s final defeat in that.
cant argue with most of your selections there lazylegs, perhaps you could fit in outreds picks in it too
no i have nothing against anyone from cratloe. where did i say that cratloe's resources are better than cooraclare? i said theirs are hardly better than cratloe. they're about the same id say, they both have 1 junior team and both have poor standard pitches. one of the players told me that was said so i take it it was then.and im not coming on here slagging them im only giving my view/opinion, its hardly out of order. so theres no need for you to try and be the nice guy
Newtown 6 - 3 Bunratty
Good open game, some great goals. Delighted to finish the season with some pride after the ****e we produced all year.
Tulla's facilities are the best I've seen in the country. Credit to them it was a pleasure to play there.:ball:
Fair play papa. Good to see that ye have something at the end of a poor season.Any idea what the story is for next season?
yes they wont be there next year