Ya; Saints beaten by Old Bridge in the league and missed the chance to go top.
Surely too many dropped points at this stage to be in with a shout of winning it.
Peake may even finish above them.
Printable View
Ya; Saints beaten by Old Bridge in the league and missed the chance to go top.
Surely too many dropped points at this stage to be in with a shout of winning it.
Peake may even finish above them.
Great result for Old Bridge on Sunday beating Michaels 3-1, fully deserved win and to be honest it should have been more. Bridge played good formation and hounded Breen and Chawky the whole game so they couldn't play ball out of defense. Poor midfield for Michaels missed Davy Ryans magic and up front showed nothing to threaten Bridge's stand in keeper.
Can't believe nobody from Old Bridge is in TSDL squad after 2 great results in 2 weeks, up to 5th in table and only 3pts behind Town and Celtic.
It's usual same old story with TSDL squad there is some "click" going on there. Michael's have been very poor this year and Town have barely played any games but they both still dominate the TSDL team.
Why didn't Town play on Sunday again? They are 4 games behind everyone else which is a disgrace, just shows they can do what they want as usual. Title is theirs now again after Bridge's win at weekend. Anyone agree?
wouldn't have an opinion on this as i'm involved in the limerick junior scene.
quick couple of questions:
the munster junior cup draw sees clonmel town and peake villa playing each other
how's the form of either team??
lastly how's alan barry playing with st.micheals?????
great result for oldbridge,wasnt at the game but talked to couple of the lads and nobody argued that it wasnt deserved,alan getting sent off didnt help and those who say the refs always favour saints were wrong for once by all accounts,as for oscar traynor im not sure who exactly with the bridge is good enough?? seems to be more of a collective effort,in terms of who is in the squad i think its right that it should be large saints and clonmel squad,both are the dominant force and thats reality with all league squads,however i am very surprised barry ryan of peake not involved,usually a regular and has dominated the nationalist in recent weeks,also surprised cosgrave not involved,as talented as any other midfielder in the squad,both guys would not win a popularity contest however:)
valid point:) he had a headbutting incident with paul scully last season and that may not have helped his cause with both scullys in the panel,still both players unlucky not to be selected
Sorry Pearoso whoever you are, I think Old Bridge are allowed to blow their own trumpet is they want. If anyone else beat Town or Michaels they would do the same. It is very rare it happens so think they are allowed enjoy it, it is good for the league that this happens every now and again. Do you want the same old boring league every year??
Just to inform you that the result on Sunday is Old Bridge's 2nd win in the league in a row after beaten Bansha last week 5-2 away from home as well.
Bridge will stay up and will prob even finish 5th.
i can see what pearso is saying......at the end of the day saints will win more games than they lose and will pick up a cup hopefully but still a great win for bridge and they have been going well.....fair play
My point is there is no reference to your win over Bansha or do those points count for less? Your only blowing your trumpet because you beat one of the top two. We wont hear about any other victories if you manage any that is. What was the score in the home leg or do you remember??
And by the way you know who i am as well as i know who you are, you were the bloke that kicked the ball about 10 times into the stand in the home leg.
Best of luck for the season you will need it!!
Is it true that the much maligned Town PRO Muiris Walsh had a heart attack last week? Hope its no ture but would like to wish him well, he is, contary to what some people think, a really nice and decent man.
Get well soon
All,
Muiris Walsh is ok he was back in work on Monday and seems ok. He got Angina, he is about 41yrs old. All at the Old Bridge wish him well.
Does anyone who scored the goals for the oscar traynors last sunday ?
i think alan barry scored a hat trick and kennedy two. think this shows why barry ryan was left out of the team. unfair that he is not in squad however himself and kennedy probably need a big man beside them so could not play together. havent seen barry playing but must be decent, presume he is of the same style as moroney or o connor, although he is probably more likely to turn up;)
some intersting games this weekend,would expect saints and town to both make last 64 comfortably,if they can get some luck in the draw for next couple of rounds i would fancy both for quarter finals
our youths played clonmel town in munster youths 2nd round today and the game had to be called off as the clonmel players turned to violence when the celtic players were getting on top in the game, bad form!!!
what was the score in the match when it was abandoned. very unlike town to have been involved in a situation like this. was it a mass brawl or what.
was up at the complex today for the game nd im still concerned for town. they won handy but do not look like a side to challenge for national or provincial titles. they came up against the usual 45-60 mins decent peake performance today altho peake never looked like they would get something from the game. these are currently the top 2 in the table. standard a lot poorer than years past. town badly need aaron back.
who got towns goal. town and saints are our only tsdl reps in open draw so
Check your results again.Town,Saints and Rock Rovers to represent TSDL in last 64.Good Luck to all 3 teams.Anyone knowmwhen the draw for the 'Open' round is
sorry mate forgot bout rovers. with full strength team and if they get home draw rovers be very tough to beat. be great game if they drew carrick united in last 64
would have to disagree with ron,i went to watch town/villa game as expected saints and cashel to be a lot less lively,i thought villa gave town a big fright,charlie made all 3 subs at nil nil,one goal was always going to win it and villa dominated for large spells in the first half,if barry ryans strike that came back off the crossbar went in maybe it would have been villa going through,however the second half did see town become more dominant but right up til the end i thought villa might nick a draw,would agree town desperately need aoran moroney,alan coady never looked like scoring,i would be very confident saints will knock town out of munster cup because saints wont concede to easily and will definitely breach that town defence,it looked shaky at times yesterday
Another great reuslt for Old Bridge yesterday beating Cahir away 3-1 with an Eoin Leahy hat-trick. That's 3 big wins in a row for Bridge and should defo stay up now.
I decided to so see the Saints Cashel game but would first like to send best wishes to the Cashel player who suffered a very nasty leg break. Saints had their player sent off for the challenge, game was delayed for nearly an hour waiting on an ambulance.
Saints got their first just before the break, Cashel had their keeper sent off even though if the same incident happened at the other end i don't think the Michael's goalie would have gone. The resultant penalty was missed with a fine save from the stand in keeper but Chalkie scored after the corner wasn't cleared properly. Saints could have scored more than two,they were very wasteful but Cashel had plenty of chances also including a fantastic one at nil nil and on another day the game could have had a different outcome.
However can't see Michael's getting far in the comp and I expected more from Alan Barry with what they are supposed to be paying him but as they say it all depends on the draw
ah i see the ' ifs and buts' brigade are out in force once again after town and saints predictably go through. its a two team league lads. get over it:p
my prediction was both teams would go through comfortably,villa surprised me they shoved it up to town though,having read back over comments i dont see and ifs and buts,it took 2 teams to make a good game of it and i was particullarly happy coming away from complex as i feel ssaints will have big say in the league yet
i would have to say that cloughjordan put up a better fight than peake. they managed to score and caused all sorts of problems for town. of course there will be an upset every 4 or 5 years but unfortunately for the league there are no real quality among the likes of celtic, peake or cahir etc
I was at the Town match Sunday and I have to say, I thought it was a very good game of football. Peake were the better side in the first half but Town did get on top in the second. I can't see Town winning the FAI but they look a bit more solid at the back now that Costigan has signed. On their day, they are a match for anyone. They seem to have a full squad now.
God Town fan has something positive to say about Clonmel Town
Joking aside, good display by Town, did enough to win the game. Will have to improve big time, if they are to have any chance of going far in this cup.
Good to see Muiris Walsh at the game, looking well
The pitch down there is excellent,its a big pitch which will benefit any team that likes to keep the ball on the deck.They do not have there own dressing rooms but for a game of this importance they would normally use a local GAA clubs facilities.They will be hostile enough on the pitch but very hospitable off it.
lads just wondering does the current Clonmel Town (a quality side) team have any junior internationals? and if any of their youths side from last season are playing with them this year??
ya tony scully is a junior internatioal. as for youth players of last year they definatley have michael coady and dwayne byrnes. 2 quality players both on oscar traynor team this year
wel lads wat do ye tink or how do ye tink the rock wil do at home to fairview
rock are shocking,saints hit them for 9 i think it was,they will probably have a few sent off as well