Building up your core and being fit are two different things.
Printable View
It wasn’t a great game, and the first half was terrible really. As the match wore on it was clear Dundalk would be the one pressing to win the game and especially in ET, I thought at that point it was just one sided, such was the fitness of Dundalk.
I got the impression if ever there was a game for Cork to beat Dundalk yesterday was that match, especially in the first half as we struggled to get a grip of the MF. I thought the same when Cork visited after we played BATE in July (1-1 draw), however once O’Donnell got going, and started his short passing, this seemed to breathe more life and belief into the side. Shields did well to slot into right full, however Towell was quiet enough in normal time, much more lively in ET, and Finn and Horgan were magnificent for most of the game. Mountney made a big difference when he came on, and will be thinking he should have started on the right. For Cork, Bennett was quality at the back, and Gaynor showed some great pace with decent crossing at times. We just got the feeling once it went to ET, there was going to be one winner only.
On Cork’s re-building, I would start with getting rid of Healy, he is far too slow, decent passer and can put in a tackle, but he offers little when the team are on the back foot, not sure about Miller either, but I`d be looking for younger guys in the middle, it’s an area that appears to be holding Cork back, just too slow. Thought that was a dreadful challenge on Gannon, especially the follow up leg coming through, nasty stuff, think this was Buckley, he didn’t even get booked.
Disappointing to read about the seats, and like another fan who mentioned this, it was the first thing someone said to me at work this am, FFS, it had to be negative. The fans have said it was only due to standing, but the photos suggest differently, another fine and probably a deduction from the prize money.
Overall it was a great day out, fantastic to see so many there with their small kids, ourselves included, it was a real big day out for all who went, 25,100 was good turnout, definitely over 10k there from DLK . Achieving another double and the clubs 3rd in total was just a great feeling.
Commiserations to Cork, but who knows if they have more self belief, they could have got something yesterday.
Went along as a neutral but decided to do my bit for the league and brought 9 others to their first LOI match in the hope of a decent game between the top 2 in the country. We got to the ground 30 mins early to make sure we got seats together in the unreserved premium section that were protected from the rain but just before kick off some of my guests went to get a bite to eat while I stayed behind. Along came an unpleasant Cork fan who took the seats and told me 'tough sh*t, if they all don't stay at their seats they can't keep them'. So our group were chucked down a few rows onto wet seats and Baltic conditions. Very frustrating trying to introduce people to the League and dispel the myth that LOI fans are unfriendly and unwelcoming when stuff like this happens.
Following that we ditched our status as neutrals and donned the Lilywhite colours for the day thanks also to some friendly Dundalk fans in our new seats. On the match itself, the weather didn't help contribute to a great spectacle and I felt the volume of fouls in the first half really stunted the game's flow. Highlight of the match for me (and my guests) was the incredible atmosphere generated by both sets of fans just before the end of he first 90 minutes. Congrats to Dundalk on a well deserved double; you've also earned 9 new fans in the process.
It's terrible journalism - there's certainly only 12 seats in those photos.
Looks to me like shoddy workmanship there - I see three weld-joints that have given way, I'd worry about the quality of the metals & joints here - all the damage is done to the metal parts & none to the plastic.
IMO I don't think any club should just 'pay the costs' - I'd be more for asking questions about the build & fit-out quality of the stadium here.
Watching back lat night Tony O'Donoghue's interview with a visibly gutted Alan Bennett did nothing for Bennett's mood I'd guess. I'm paraphrasing, but his three leading questions were along the lines of 'you were beaten by the better team there.... it was a bit like when you lost in 2005..... will you be retiring now'
Yeah I thought that at the time. A real Tony O'Donoghue special.
Each journo covers a different beat; Earley for one rarely if ever has anything to do with the LOI as Emmet Malone covers the LOI and the national team for the IT (and does a good job of it in my opinion), Earley mostly covers the UK football & Second Captains is his main gig these days and Duggan is the Chief Sport writer for the IT, he covers mostly the GAA. Can't speak to the Examiner as I wouldn't be a regular reader of it either online or in print.
30/40 years ago there wasn't wall to wall coverage of every ball kicked or sport played worldwide. At a glance there now the 2nd byline/ headline on the IT sports section is Dundalk complete the double and in the national league section there's plenty of coverage there and the IT would have the least coverage out of the IT, Indo, Star, Sun etc. Neil O'Riordan and his young fella do great coverage for the league in the Sun as well.
It's tv and radio (& the FAI to a fair degree as well) as opposed to print/ online outlets where the league lacks any sort of advertising or coverage bar Soccer Republic and the odd perfunctory mention of the scores on the news.
When Stephen Kenny came in one of the first things he did was to get Graham Byrne in and he has total control over the squads strength and conditioning and dietary stuff, he's the head of DCU's fitness department. The lads follow his plans down to the smallest detail and even over the close season will be working on a program, think they'll be getting their close season details come the end of the month off him.
It made the papers so it's not a non-story. On a good day for the League it was a negative story and could have been avoided. One thing is sure, the seats didn't fold themselves. Maybe instead of getting all agro on here, you should direct your anger towards those from your club who caused the damage.
http://images3.naharnet.com/images/6...jpg?1354029393
The damage is not that bad.
Oh what a night. great atmosphere for the final yesterday. on a sour note the seats didn't get broken. The metal bar collapsed. its designed to do that in the event of crowd congestion. that section was oversold by the fai when taking into account they closed off the first 4 rows of seats so more people had to crowd at the back.
Also the same happened with derry fans and seats in a final a few years back.
Back in the day when there were telephone kiosks, in Copenhagen they eventually designed their telephone kiosks to withstand an assault from 4 drunken Swedes.
Perhaps the seats in Lansdowne rd could be designed to an A+++ standard --> can withstand a battering from two 'excited' Dundalk fans.
Nice of Caulfield to go and talk to the dundalk dressing room after the game
https://mobile.twitter.com/inphospor...69333810393088
Congratulations Dundalk. Was a rank horrible game but Cork wilted visibly and the goal was inevitable when it came, as was the lack of a fightback. Both teams have played better this season but cup finals tend to do that to you, especially when it's been a few years since either was there.
Don’t buy the argument that we were less fit than Dundalk.
The team that are less technically gifted always have to run more than the team that are more technically gifted. Dundalk can keep hold of possession for long spells and we had to do a lot of chasing closing down etc. just to keep them at bay and not allow them any space. Simply put, that took its toll. Tough loss for us, but we will bounce back.
Got to say despite the Baltic conditions, it was an enjoyable game to be at. The Dundalk fans were a credit to the club – it was a tremendous atmosphere at times. Both sets of supporters were very vocal. Bit dangerous with the flares and fireworks maybe – don’t like to see that kind of thing, but apart from that it was brilliant.
Interesting thought. I would like to see the distance covered stats to see if your theory is correct.
I notice the Dundalk players are getting irritated with the media consensus that a lot of their success is down to superior fitness. They constantly reply to questions about fitness by pointing our their skill level.
Agree with Real Ale Madrid. The Limerick players were training 3 or 4 times a week and also doing gym sessions so the fitness wasn't really a key factor in our lack of success. Fair enough one or two don't have their fitness where it should be but The vast majority of our players are very fit. Our lack of technical ability and defense errors were more of a factor.
The point about the technically better players have less work to do I always find from playing is correct. If it was as easy as just getting fit then you would have teams doing nothing but running.
Dundalk had the perfect combination of both. They had a very fit squad that were conditioned well, like most the top teams but they also were technically far superior and implemented the teams tactics and game plans much better with accuracy.
In my opinion if you are not fit then you have no business playing football at any higher than junior grade.
I noticed no difference in fitness levels when Dundalk and Limerick played in the Markets Field.
The media appear to have settled on a consensus that Dundalk are miles fitter than everyone else. This was epitomised by Rico's rant on Soccer Republic last night. This could well be lazy thinking on their part.
I suspect a lot of players will be cursing this lazy consensus as clubs give them gym programmes for the off season.
It was lacking a quality that has characterised both teams play this season but rank horrible it was not and not in the context of a cup final (and double winner prospect)where the intrigue value of both teams coping with that pressure from the 2nd half onwards, has also worth
But its not just about fitness, it's how you use it. Dundalk have enough quality in the middle 3 to allow one to sit back and the other 2 to work more for it. It switches over and over. Also in the full back and the wingers there is enough support there when required either in defence and attack.
Pre season has a lot to do also. We had a longer preseason than other clubs because the squad was sorted shortly after last xmas.
There is a saying that hard work beats talent when talent doesn't work. In our case we were the hardest working team, also the most talented but even key players spoke about th admiration for squad members pushing them all the way in training.
I think it's beyond question Dundalk have an edge in the fitness stakes. It's not a bad thing, so did Barcelona at their peak, so do the All Blacks. There are very skillful teams and very fit teams but the best ones are both.
Just saw this interview with Graham Byrne after the final:
"I am always trying to push the lads to their limits whether it is fitness or in nutrition. We are always looking for inches everywhere. This process started three years ago. I told the lads it would take three years for them to feel the absolute true benefit of this. We have streaked away from the other clubs. I’m only as good as people buying into my messages telling them to eat certain things and train a certain way. There was a culture in this country before that players didn’t buy into it and we have the first group of players who have bought into it."
http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/art...ouble-winners/
As some others have said, I think that Dundalk making other teams run themselves into the ground defending against them has a lot to do with how much fitter they look.
Very honest post Oriel. A lot of us have been saying it for ages now about the way City play. Your spot on when you said Sunday was our chance to beat ye, but we didn't take it and we were not brave enough. Dundalk had a great crowd down fair play to ye. See yous all again next year when we'll do it all again.
I think City are adapting their game and a little more bravery especially away from Turners Cross could lead to a tighter affair in the league again. If we can convert some of that 10-12k support in to season ticket holder or more regular visitors to Oriel Park then it is icing on the cake for winning the double. The atmosphere at times was amazing, Ive not been to an Ireland game so cant compare but 25k of fans that are passionate about their team, a sell-out game at the Aviva would be incredible!