Small crowd by Cork standards. Shed barely half full.
Printable View
Small crowd by Cork standards. Shed barely half full.
Serious strike from Mark O'Sullivan. Unstoppable.
Good game at the cross, said in the tv thread there the extra 15 mins of pre match build up was great to see.
There we go three nil, goodnight Irene. Pats very sluggish at the back again tonight, same as against us on Monday there. Cork came flying out of the gates at half time and what an absolute belter of a goal from O'Sullivan, brilliant!
It looks as though 3 of last years semi finalists are going to be out by tonight.
By all accounts, it'd be great to see a Dundalk v Cork final. Chance of a big crowd, good game, and the two best teams in the league in my opinion. That'd be a proper occasion to sell to any neutral, or English Premier League fans.
Aye, I could see getting 25-30k, possibly a bit more into Landsdowne if it ends up Cork/ Dundalk in the final, be good to see them not meet before the final if they make it that far. Two big one club towns (or city in Corks case, ahem!) that would bring a hell of a lot of local bandwagoners, for want of a better term, along with the regular support up & the usual LOI heads who go along. A great crowd & atmosphere, the top 2 teams in the league playing good ball on TV would be a great advertisement for the league. Roddy might even bring the Luton Town manager back over, you never know! :D
In tonights greatestleagueintheworld news:
https://twitter.com/cahill_ashley/st...02013717557248
:DQuote:
Ashley Cahill @cahill_ashley 1h1 hour ago Madness...one of this Athlone Town squad has just entered the pitch area having been locked in the dressing room for the 1st 30 mins!!!
Nice man of the match award there, RTE, where did they get that, a fcuking Subbuteo set?
Also, what's the story with Forrester's face? He looks like Gen Sir Mike Jackson (before the eye bag surgery).
Jaysus, Healy is a flatcap and a rifle short of being on top of a ridge in Béal na Bláth in 1922!
Good game though and he ran the show for Cork, absolute belter from O'Sullivan. Brennan very soft trying to win a free out for it. Don't think it was a free in for Cork's first.
Dundalk 4-1 up at Galway, Sherriff held Athlone 2-2 as well.
great results in the cup.:D
Fair play to Cork & Bray. hope they go on to meet in the final.
buckley was takin the pi$$ playing a no mark like greene up front - they really are paying for not having a ready made replacement for Fagan.
And the bozos lost out to a highly controversial goal apparently. makes it all the sweeter!
A free is usually given in situations like that. Derry also won and they are cup team who bring a decent support to the final. Cork still have plenty to play for, so their crowds should improve again. Agree Healy was the best player on the field.
Didn't see 4 goals coming before the game let alone after a disappointing first half. We really upped our game and pats had no answer for it. A special goal from Sullivan and a dennehy return goal to cap it all off
Well that was a pleasant surprise! Had a tenner on Billy for the last goal too which is just icing on the cake!
I disagree. I think Pats just capitulated in the second half. You didn't even have to play well. All of the goals came from mistakes. Very very disappointing from us. Combination of being toothless up front and poor defending. There's still plenty of talent in the Pats team, but we've fallen a good bit short this year.
Something happened in Dalyer tonight about a goal that never was but was given i believe?
Galway scored what looked like a perfectly legitimate goal tonight and that was chalked off.Refs are back in the spotlight.
Bizarre "goal" for Bray on 4 mins.Delaney had his feet over the line when he caught a cross well in front of him.Lino put his flag up for a goal, Ref did a double take and signalled a goal.Cue incredulity all round.
Hopefully Bray go out next round.
That was an unsavoury evening we were the better in a poor first half but the second half was awful stuff pure disaster two ****e displays in a week.
Agree with this. We are absolute muck ATM yet still 4-0 winners. Awful defending for the first, cowardlice by Brennan for the second, good run by Gannon for the 3rd but awful defensively and terrible mistake for the 4th.
We could not string 2 passes together in the first half yet looked brilliant in possession when we went 2-0 up. I think it was more of a Pats capitulation than City upping their game. We are very uncreative that depends on mistakes and set plays to score. Hard to watch at the moment.
Listening to Galway local radio and the comm was sure Curran scored. But when nothing given and the co-commentator then said that it must have hit inside of post and came out/across goal. Video hopefully will tell but there have been good number of bad decisions at Terryland this year; peno v Derry the most recent outrageous one I have seen.
Strange, but the standard of refereeing in the 1st division last year was better it seems to me.
Eventful evening out in Clontarf by the sounds of things. http://www.joe.ie/sport/league-of-ir...tonight/509191
I hate it when advertising hoardings are so close to the goals. There should be a mandatory minimum distance. The goals in Hunky Dorys and Terryland Park are ridiculously close to the advertising hoardings.
I was at the far end of the ground but I thought the ball smashed into the advertising hoardings and came back onto the pitch. However, I was miles away and my view was obscured by numerous pillars.
What 'goal' are you referring to? I don't recall any controversial goal not given.
Dundalk won tonight without really getting out of second gear. When Galway went in front it seemed to me they weren't sure about what to do and we kept the ball and then took the chances. Great to be still in the cup we shouldn't really fear any team in the draw.
The ball hit the post and ran across the face of the goal, well in front of the line but strangely behind the gk who would have been 2 or 3 yards off his line and out the other side of the pitch. There was no goal, it did not hit the hoardings. Perhaps a few people need glasses in the stand!
Going to head to Cockhill-Longford later despite the journey involved.
Don't forget that's the second game in a row now and 8 goals in total that Pats have conceded due to 'ALL' goals coming from their defensive mistakes.
Nothing to do with attitude, dropping off, midfielders waltzing around, and general poor concentration.
Mark O'Sullivan had a great game last night and must be one of the front runners for the August POTM now.
Good win by Dundalk and although I was a little worried when I saw Galway had scored, the fact it was so early meant there was plenty of time and by all accounts we ran out very comfortable winners.
QF draw is on tomorrow during Sunday Sport on RTE Radio 1, around 2.30 I think.
a)I never said anything about the Dundalk game, but you can't deny that all of the goals last night were down to poor defending ( not saying it wasn't a quality strike by O'Sullliven but the attempts to close him down(Killian Brennan throwing himself to the ground particularly) were awful.)
b)I don't disagree with you second point. We were awful in the second half. I didn't see the Dundalk game, apart from the goals so I can't comment, but by all accounts it was a similar story. Awful collapse in the last two games after a great run of nine wins. We'll just have to pick ourselves up and try and finish the season on a better note. Still the consolation prize of the League to go for.
I probably sounded a bit harsh, but it doesn't take away the almost unbelievable collapse by Pats in the last 2 games. Cork to be fair suffered two previous defeats but they took their chances last night.
I can't help thinking it was a massive mistake selling Kilduff to Dindalk while Fagan was still out injured, why was there a need to offload him? Anyway you don't become a bad team in one week.
Cockhill 0-1 Longford. Midway into second half, OG from Cockhill. Couple hundred at the game.
2-0 to Longford, last few minutes.
Cobh Wanderers 0-3 Sligo HT
Quarter final draw is on Radio 1 at 14:30 this afternoon.
Happy enough with that draw.
Bray Wanderers v Killester
Derry City v Cork City
Longford vs Athlone/Sheriff YC
Dundalk v Sligo
Can we just save the club the hassle/travel expenses and withdraw from the cup now?