What we really need is Kevin Nolan!
Printable View
What we really need is Kevin Nolan!
I'm sorry to disappointment you but I don't really care much for Celtic or Scottish football. Just making the point that a good man-manager can do a good job with limited quality players. And further to blast your retort out of the water...apart from numerous Scottish League and Cup wins he also managed to get them through to a UEFA Cup final via Barcelona.
Ah sure we'll be grand, Mick Byrne will sort everything out with a scoop and a smile and a song in his heart!
The important thing is that Staunton doesn't start making the same crazy mistakes that Kerr did like recklessly focusing on preparation and professionalism. As long as the players are happy, the mood is good and Stan doesn't 'lose the dressing room', I have a feeling that things are going to be allllright! :)
The players need to stand up and be counted.
They played ****e under Kerr and now the same under Staunton.
What they might lack in skill and experience should at least be made up for in spirit and determination.
There was little of any last night.
Yeah, last night was a disgrace, but it was a friendly so at least we know where all our weaknesses are...
GK- Given (in the name of god what would we do if he got a long term injury?) :eek:
DL- Kilbane had a shocker last night, but Iano has them regularly. so it's hard to know. And O'Shea wouldn't be much better there.
CB- Dunne
CB- O'Brien
DR-Finnan
ML-Duff
MC-S. Reid (sitting back in a holding role)
MC- Heres where the crux of the matter is, really. Our options are Kavanagh, Douglas, Miller, O'Shea, Andy Reid etc. Personally I'd always go for Kav, but he wasn't great last night and I'd be worried at this. So I think Andy Reid is the best option, he can tackle and can use the ball intelligently. But he could be in better shape but first team football with Charlton should help this.
MR- McGeady or Elliot, but personally MCGeady is the best option. His trickery is great.
FC- Keane
FC- Doyle
All in all
we're doomed
Time for Stan to go ?
4 nil defeat in Dublin and Stan can see positives?
Should be great odds for Ireland 1 Germany 0 after last nights performance.
Get the money on it !!!
Dont be sayin i didnt tell yis
I think I'm reading foot.ie's "English tabloid" thread. We go into a game against one of the top countries in the world with 8 players missing, and people get hysterical about losing heavily to them?? :confused:
Sweden were walloped in Dublin by Staunton's Ireland, yet it didn't affect them that badly in the World Cup, as they made it out of their group. It was a friendly, and should be dismissed as a one-off bad performance. The game against Germany next month is when we will know where Staunton's class stand in the world game. The players will be back, the tackles will be won, the concentration will come, the chances to score will be created. It will be a completely different match and performance. No need to panic.
I know some of you will say this is a defeatist attitude and typical of the ole ole moral victory brigade but after what was dished out last night the truth of the matter is that to turn it around and get a point from the game against Germany would be a fantastic result. There will be some that say we should go there, try to be creative and play our own game. However, as far as i can see we just don't have our own game at the moment.
IMO we should try to keep it as solid as possible and send out a 4-4-2 formation, which all our players are used to. There is so much wrong at the moment that we just need to get back to basics, with only 2 weeks and no more friendlies to experiment it's just a waste of time to experiment.
Our main aim should be to disrupt the German play, prevent them from creating anything - in other words defend, defend, defend. Some might argue that a 4-5-1 would be better for that but the thing is, we are strongest up front so I would presist with 2 strikers who might create something between them and will hold the ball up front to releave the pressure off MF and defence. If we go for 4-5-1 I fear we would be just inviting them onto us too much and we would eventually crack under the pressure. We need 2 strong players in CMF and I would pick Reid and Kilbane. I'm no big fan of Kilbane but if he could do exactly what de did against France away it would be all that I expect of him - just break down the German attacks and not be expected to create much himself. If he stops Ballack surging forward and it results in the Germans getting a throw-in on the half-way line every 5 mins that would do.
Maybe they will get frustrated and start to make a few mistakes of their own. However, it's unknown if he has it in him to repeat that France away performance and if he's not doing the business he should be hauled off after half an hour. Just maybe the wingers can create something for Keane and Doyle on the break but they should do their defending too.
Also, when we are playing against the weaker teams in the group, against whom we are expected to win by a few goals, I wouldn't have Kilbane anywhere near the midfield because he doesn't create very much. I would just like to see him big a big akward nuisance against Germany.
Unless there are changes I can guarantee you that we will not qualify.
So either change or fail.
Agreed Ogba. I've never seen the guy play well. To quote a Dutch guy I know, "The man barely deserved to play at Feyenoord for starters. Just that he works hard and the Rotterdam people traditionally vigorously appreciate that... His skills are equal to mine, and that ain't good :D"
Says the man who ends Dr with a period even though 'r' is the last letter in the abbreviated word. :p
Anyway, as for the game, I'll never take Duffer for granted again.
i think 4-5-1 is better, it shores up the midfield, and protects the defence, im hoping for a draw in germany, remember it nearly worked for poland
positives from tonight
A mcgready looked good, trying to beat his man on the wing, even if the fella in the Star today said he was aweful!:rolleyes: he isnt a holding midfielder!
Doyle again, but would love to see him in 90 minutes with robbie keane
and miller surprised me when he came on,
o brien is fast but man if he cant pass a square ball!!! jeez
......but he did. Against top class opposition in the Prem he is shown up, previously mentioned the League Cup Final where Man U totally overan the Wigan midfield.
Having said that he was no worse last night than he was against Chilie. We will not win against a decent team with Kav in our midfield, unless he can lean on the likes of Roy Keane for support.
Last night our defence was afforded NO cover or support, so not really fair to jugde O"Shea or O"Brien quite so harshly. Years gone by the ROI midfield always protected their defenders very well - not extended the invitation to attack which the CM sent in the first half last night.
No probs :mad: :rolleyes: :D
If we dont get a good result against Germany and beat Cyprus I would bet there will be no shortage of tickets for the czech game. Just over the years the demand drops quickly, just see how many left the ground early last night. They wont be in a hurry back if we arent winning or in with a shout.
What really ****ed me off last night was parents bringing kids home with 20 mins or more left. Even though we were ****e the kids should have been aloud stay ane watch a good Dutch performance.