1-0 Ireland.
Printable View
1-0 Ireland.
I'm going through all the stages. On Monday, with all the Sunday paper previews swimming in my head, it was panic. Yesterday, it was the strange, ominous calm of a man awaiting his execution. Today, it is resignation, albeit peppered by the obligatory butterflies. It is not a case of if, but of how much. With the lexicon of George Hamilton's commentary on Irish results past - both good and bad - as my crystal ball, I am weighing up two possible scenarios for tonight's outcome.
The first is that the French knock the wind out of the crowd with an early goal, and then take the sting out of our team by keeping possession. We manage a bit of huff and puff, but bad luck and bad finishing makes it amount to nothing. The French finish us off late on. 0-2.
The second scenario is that we do another Israel. We start bright, with Rabbie scoring after a manic first 15 minutes of end-to-end stuff. Slowly as the game wears on, reality dawns and the frogs expose us for the deficient outfit we are, despite all our window-dressing, ego-massaging and self-assurances. 1-3, with a late French goal. A convincing defeat. Roy comes off injured when the game is already lost. Duff knackers himself by sprinting all over the pitch for 90 minutes trying to run the game on his own. Clint fluffs a chance or two. Killer plays muck and loses any call he has for a place in the team. Andy O' and Kenny endure the busiest 90 minutes they've ever had. Robbie loses his temper.
Deep down, I think everyone knows that for all our grasping at empty, airy notions of 'home advantage', 'team spirit' and 'passion', the French are firstly vastly better players than us (bar in 2 or 3 positions), and secondly, they are totally prepared for what we will throw at them and are more than equipped to swat it away. They know all about the Lansdowne crowd, the Lansdowne pitch, the Roy Keane 'declaration tackle', the physicality of us. The mistake Holland made was that they didn't plan for those elements, and it was those (and those alone) which saw us beat them luckily. France, on the other hand, have been talking about little else in the run up to this game.
As much as I love my team, I cannot, in my Harte of hearts, see how we can avoid defeat against the French tonight.
Good night.
LIARQuote:
the French are firstly vastly better players than us
Another LIEQuote:
they are totally prepared for what we will throw at them
YET ANOTHER LIEQuote:
and are more than equipped to swat it away
France without ZiZu arent the team they were, ask anyone who has seen them play. Call a spade a spade.
But they could still beat us with the players they have after zizu. That being down to stupid mistakes by us.
Would you ever cheer up. THere are many occassino when the so called better team did not win. The list is endless so it is our duty as supporters to be positive and get behind yoru team. I am a believer that negativity spreads like a virus around a crowd so less of the negative vibes and more positive thinking please. Negative thinking gets you no where.
i just can't see another Holland 2001 again, we used up our quota of luck for the next ten years for that match.. I predict a cruel French victory! all i have known for the last few years was the miserable walk out of lansdowne rd up to bathe avenue with a silent crowd.. I predict by 10 o'clock tonight the same atmosphere
Fair enough, negative thinking gets you nowhere. I'll keep quiet from now on, and will keep positive. Anything to bring about the win we're all hoping for. We have some great players who rise to the big occasions and thrive under the pressure of playing big teams and big 'names'. The Keanes, Duff, Morrison, Reid, Finnan, Given. When we are at home we can be sure these players will be more fired up to a higher standard than ever. This could be Roy and Duff's greatest game in an Ireland shirt.
Come on lads. I'm behind you with my whole heart, even if my stressed head may mislead me into sometimes doubting (for what is faith without doubt?).
Please, nobody take my negativity on board or let it affect you! As I mentioned in the first post on this thread, expecting the worst is a self-comforting gear I click into for big games like this. Helps me cope with the nerves.
Come on lads. A huge Irish performance is hours away, and Germany awaits.
We will draw the game tonight and this will be a good result as we will beat the Swiss at home and lets face it if we were to get a play off we would probably get a much tougher test than the Swiss,and if we can't beat the Swiss at home to go to the world cup,well,really we shouldn't be going.
Zidane playing against himself ? how is this possible? :confused:Quote:
Originally Posted by totalfootball
Or have you got a player who's first name is zinedine as well ?
The nerves are gettin to me. I'm predicting an heroic 2-1 victory tonight against a team that's only conceded 1 goal so far, the winner coming in a last-minute goalmouth scramble.
On the crest of a wave we'll all be sickened by a disaster away to Cyprus on 8th Oct.
Isn't that the way of it?
70 to the reds
0-0....tense, nail biting, but we'll cling on...
Hi all,
We'll put in our greatest since Italy '94 and win 2-0 :o Then again , we might only get a 0-0 against Cyprus :D C'mon you boys in green!!
0-0 draw.
You can't say you weren't warned!! "Lansdowne is a fortress", me hole!!!! :mad:Quote:
Originally Posted by wallis
IRELAND 0-1 FRANCE
Now, will you understand?????????
I was right bout the score, just the wrong way around.Quote:
Originally Posted by superfrank
i've read all (well almost) the commentaries left on the forum after the match ; I agree with most of what's been said.
The first few minutes were very promising until Zidane's Free kick (wonderful save by Given). after that ireland had the biggest possession and goal opportunities - I even thought there was penalty for a foul on morisson(?).
But in second period, Henry had a superb inspiration( 1 shot on target, 1 goal)
Honestly i think that it should have been a draw , luck has been on our side..
Anyway, i do not have any doubts to the fact that Ireland will qualify, the team is really interesting to watch, they have to be there!
But I'm sure France and Ireland will both win their last two matches :D
Then we finish first, you finish second ,and we can meet again in Germany for revenge... it's perfect for me !
I really hope so, was talking to Germans last night and they were really hoping Ireland makes it, they really want to see the team in Germany and have a big party with our fans... :)Quote:
Originally Posted by Giuly
BTW , was there a lot of French supporters yesterday in the stadium ? and later on in the pubs ? They didn't show it really here on french telly ..
From what I could see in the pub last night watching the game in glasgow, there seemed good support for France, but not a lot, hard to judge, someone else who was there would comment better. There are always lots of French tourists in Dublin and i would imagine quite a few came over.
I'm going to go out on a lmb here and probably offend all the head in the clouds optimists but I'm going to predict a 1-0 win for the French.