just getting on my flight to vegas... what a party im having tonight!
Going to Pacman fight tomorrow too! great weekend!
Printable View
just getting on my flight to vegas... what a party im having tonight!
Going to Pacman fight tomorrow too! great weekend!
I am not sure, is it possible that the slate could be wiped clean for the finals? I vaguely recall talk about that sometime but I am surely wrong.
Anyhow, given we were 4-0 up would it not have been sensible for players on yellows to have got themselves booked deliberately so they
missed the second leg, rather than carry a yellow card through to the finals?
Buzzing! Too wired to sleep but I'll give counting chickens a go. Thank feck it's saturday (now). 1 goal conceded in 10 games and probable qualification for a major finals on the back of a big playoff aggregate margin. Happy days.
I think he had a bit o' the 'spirit of Paris' about him tonight. Won't ever be accused of being a playmaker but some savage determination.
Shocking dive from Duffer. Barely touched him. :D
Andrews best game for Ireland. Super performance, took responsibility to get forward from first whistle.
Just a word of warning, one thing I have noticed quite often in the Premier League is that a team has a big win, ie 4-0 or 5-0 and
then goes and loses the next match by a similar score line!!!
I can't provide any example of this right now but I am pretty sure it has happened a few times!
I will see if I can find some. Might just be my imagination though or just that you notice on the very rare occasions it does happen.
A very good night for Irish football. Estonia looked overawed by the situation and we did our job effectively. It's been a long wait. Too long.
Found one already!
http://www.worldfootball.net/teams/b...derers/2010/3/
21. Round 09/03/2010 19:45 A Sunderland AFC Sunderland AFC 0:4
30. Round 13/03/2010 15:00 H Wigan Athletic Wigan Athletic 4:0
So there you have Bolton (ie Estonia ;) ) losing 4-0 then winning 4-0 against fairly similar opposition!!
I mean you can just see it, Estonia have nothing to lose and go flat out on the attack whilst we are resting on our
laurels, 0-1, well they deserve a consolation goal, 0-2, time we tightened it up a bit at the back, don't want to let them get back in, 0-3, bloody hell!!! 0-4 oh ****!!!
http://images.cheezburger.com/comple...6211834256.jpg
Great win, absolutely fantastic!
A not unexpected response!! ;)
Just out of interest, when was the last time we lost 4-0 at home?
I can't remember anything worse than a 2 goal defeat at home although I do recall a 3 goal defeat in Cyprus.
Actually there was Republic of Ireland 0-4 Holland in 2006 but that was a friendly
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/foot...ls/4795339.stm
But enough of the pessimism, I don't want to destroy the feel good factor before Tuesday!!
No, but it's close
We beat Liechtenstein 5-0 away in 1996 - http://www.soccerscene.ie/sssenior/m...ils.php?id=324
all 5 goals came in the first 20 minutes!
I can't wait until it's 24 teams, surely even we can't fail to qualify for that. It should have been 24 this time.Quote:
Originally Posted by BonnieShels
No sympathy for the opposition. They insulted us after the draw, indicating we were a pub team like the Nordies and tonight, with their Union Jacks in abundance.
Great night for everyone connected with Irish football. Wonderful lift for the nation. Football will be all over the back pages (and front) next June showing who is boss, while the rugger buggers kick air on a tour of some kip called Fiji or something.
For everyone who put up with San Marino, Switzerland, Moscow, and Montenegro amongst others, for those who put up with local FA's wrecking their travel plans in the past 10 years, this night is for you. Safe journey home, and enjoy the party on Tuesday.
There is not a hope of us losing this tie. Estonia were limited. They showed that. They ended up with 9 men as a result of their inexperience and indiscipline.
That's their fault. Not ours.
On Tuesday we will deal with them in a professional way and kill the tie. The pessimism is completely unfounded ya mentalists!
Come on you boys in Green!!!
Absolutely needed this. Delighted. Have been a fan for 30+ years and this was a good one. Keep the head on Tuesday (will be at the match) and we're golden.
Very pleased and proud tonight. That is all.
:ball: PP
I guess the guy who thought up the Union Jacks idea is probably floating down the Pirita River right now!!!
The "i feel sorry for Estoina" brigade needs a kick up the hole.
Soft mick's :( Feck off ta hell,yis dopes,pity it wasnt 6/7/12 eleventeen nil,soft,very soft lads & i'm trying to be good here. ;)