have to say peters have alot to say, for a team that only won the potters cup last year,, do somethin then we shall listen!!! fair enough junior cup final, but second my as well be last!!!!winners only please,,,,sorry!!!!!
Printable View
have to say peters have alot to say, for a team that only won the potters cup last year,, do somethin then we shall listen!!! fair enough junior cup final, but second my as well be last!!!!winners only please,,,,sorry!!!!!
st. peters too much to say for a team that only won the potter cup last year, fair enough junior final, but if peters had a under 12 team, they would have put up a better performance, well more fight anyway!!!! second my as well been last!!!winners only please!!!!!
Not Been smart but that comment sounded like a 12 year old..only 1 potter cup.and only got to ALL IRELAND FINAL 1st team in 80 years from ATHLONE Very poor season alright.True there performance was poor in final.I think peters and anyother teams have a right to say what They want on here..whoever wins sunday will have the braggin rights then i suppose.
Ah I gotta shout for Da Land cos I played with them last season for a bit :D
Great gang of lads and Tommys training sessions were always good craic
Division 3B though is a real hotbed of Athlone footy with Da Land B, Clonown,
Gentex, Melville and Clonbunny (and Moate down the road)!
Makes me wish I was back playing :(
Ash..
Willow Park & St.Peters have started strong..
Melville may struggle as they seem to be leaking goals..
Monksland A look very strong and should be promoted..
Temple Villa are capable of getting promotion also..
Willow Park B need to start winning asap or else will struggle..
St.Peters B should be favourites for their division..
Clonbonney have started well..
Gentex have started ok..
Clonown have started ok..
Monksland B will have to start picking up points..
Melville Celtic may struggle as they are young so i heard..
HAVE I LEFT OUT ANY ATHLONE SIDES IN THE CCFL?
Are u serious?? what age are you really
Well holy god. I've never seen such poor refereeing as today.
Monksland B v Banagher. Ref gave them absolutely everything ... although it
was kinda expected seeing as the Banagher manager is also Sec of the CCFL.
Quote of the day after another ridiculous decision by the ref:
"You wouldnt be complaining about my decisions if you were winning"
Went to the local derby Melville Celtic v Gentex too. Gentex came back to win
3-2 but credit to the Melville keeper, had an absolute stormer in the 2nd half.
Yes some of the refereeing is questionable at times. They show a total disregard to people efforts considering they are the only people there on Sunday actually being paid to do their job! Was at a game recently where the ref got 80 euro for his trouble. Obviously had to travel a bit (don't know the milage) but it can't have been that far because to schedule a game for a ref where he would have to travel far enough to make that sort of fee would be madness!
Surprised to hear Mr Bond is still coaching..... I would have thought that he would have to step down from one or the other. I know he was a referee once too and prob knew the guy you had yesterday!
Yep, he wasnt over them last year but is this season. Some clubs have already
lodged objections due to questionable refereeing during games against
Banagher this year.
Although I cant see it doing any good. Who do you send letters of complaint about Karl Bond to??? Why the League Sec of course, Karl Bond!!!
Speaking of refereeing do you know who is ref for the big Willow and Peters game on Sunday. And what did you make of the ref for the last game between the sides at McCarthy park.
Cant answer either Im afraid, I couldnt make it to the last game between them. Dunno who ref the upcoming cup
game but hopefully I'll be there.
Actually a great bit of defending during Melville v Gentex. Gentex winger got the ball, tore down the line ... skipped
past the full back only to be blocked, well put off at least, by a young lad cycling across the pitch!!! Play on says the ref
Umbro FAI Junior Cup 1st Round
Willow Park v St.Peters; 2.00; Willow Park,Athlone; C.McDermott P.Geoghegan M.Buckley
I would say Columbo will be the man in the middle.
Pics from some of the weekends games for anyone interested
CCFL Division 3B
Monksland United B 2-3 Banagher
Melville Celtic 2-3 Gentex
i see from previous posts that no one on this site had the decincy to congratulate willow park on their second league in as many years just tought it was strange seen as must of ye claim that ye are not bias to any club?
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3625/...bc9c2160e2.jpg[/QUOTE]
I think's it fairly obvious who's camp people are from on this board.
Why has it taken you a week to congratulate willow if it means so much to you to hear the praises? Good luck to them, well done to Sully if it helps you. I shook everyone of their hands after that playoff match and evryone said it was the kick of a ball that beat us, much more modest than some of your comments (half of which have been deleted!)
Ash, fair play to you with the photographs, it's great to see the other divisions with Athlone teams being plugged. You mentioned the Melville Keeper had a great game at the weekend, wasn't Philly Keogh by any chance? Good lad is Philly, does a lot of work behind the scenes and it is people like him who keep clubs going.
No wasnt Philly, it was a young lad. bit shakey in the 1st half but made up
for it in the 2nd. I think the D3B side Melville Celtic are a kind of break away
club to Melville in the Premier ... as Mr. Miyagi would say, "Same Same But
Different" :D
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2633/...38439a0c0e.jpg
Thanks Ash, Mr Keogh might have gone to the Otherside perhaps?
It's good to see some Athlone interest in this forum but are there any other non athlone teams on here? Surprised there is none one on from Mullingar Town or Athletic.
I see Clara are playing the Mun in the LFA 1st round.... I would not rule out an upset in this one. Willow played Ballymun and should have beat them last year, Peters played them and never looked like beating them. As football sayings go, "It's a funny old game Saint"...
Think I got the gist of that post, punctuation wouldn't go a miss.
Don't know of anyone betting, wouldn't touch it anyway cos it'd give us the blink!
sorry about punctuation spent to much time mitching school instead of attending .back to football maters i think willows new signing colin furtune could sway it there way he seems to have that touch of class that could unlock peters strong set up.its great to see good athlone league of ireland players now playing junior football we tryed to sign one 10 years ago and he laughed at us saying it was micky mouse football how times have changed long my it continue.if u got the best from willow and peters and play them lads that are repersenting our town i garentee they would run them close.