A Dublin rag it is, they should issue an apology to Celtic, highly insulting and embarrassing
Printable View
A Dublin rag it is, they should issue an apology to Celtic, highly insulting and embarrassing
Jaysus lads it was a mistake by the reporter some of ye need to relax a little,do ye really think celtic are going to be upset about that article all that matters to them is they are in the semis and im sure the reporter in question will realise what he done some of ye need to get down off yer high horses its junior football not professional football.
I think Celtic have every right to be upset. It is a huge achivement to get to the FAI and when it is reported on it should be reported on correctly. If I were Celtic I would get on to the Star. John Power is the PRO and he seems like a good lad, so I reckon he will be on to them. Big win for them last Sunday. As was said on Tipp FM, to go away from home and score three goals is impressive but to do it in a quarter final against the holders, is simply outstanding. I am a Clonmel Town fan but I tip my hat to Celtic and wish them the very best of luck
It is really a matter of personal choice. I usually attend junior soccer games during the winter and senior gaelic football games during summer/autumn. Personally I prefer the top class junior soccer games i.e. Clonmel Town, Clonmel Celtic, St.Michaels etc rather than senior gaelic games. Its really a matter of the individuals choice and affiliation, but I respect your point.
I think the fact that junior soccer is played during the winter is a disadvantage to it vis a vis GAA. Unfortunately, it is often pretty inhospitable to go and stand on the line of a game on a Sunday morning, when it's pelting down rain and hailstones. Watching lads try their best to control a ball when they are up to their ankles in muck, and knowing that week by week, the ground is likely to get softer and muckier. It's not somewhere you really want to be bringing kids out in either.
On the other hand, heading off in the evening time in balmy weather to watch a GAA game is much more enticing, isn't it. No matter if the standard of play is equal, you'll always feel like you had a better experience when the weather was nicer. It's no coincidence that the best crowds, and arguably the best games in the TSDL, are the first five of the season, generally played in August/early September. I mean look at the relative success of the League of Ireland teams in Europe since they switched to Summer football.
I suppose go back to the Michaels/Tipp Town game a few weeks ago. A fine Saturday night, under lights, great crowd, great athmosphere, helped to create a better experience than a game played on a cold wet Sunday morning.
But that's the time of year soccer is played, so there's nothing can be done about it unfortunately. There must be other ways of promoting the games however. I think the four major field sports can co-exist, they just each have to find their own market niche.
And so they should , for any team to get to an FAI Junior semi final is an amazing achievement. And then for a so called big National newspaper who specialises in the Junior soccer leagues to make such a glaring error and give the credit to your big local rivals is disgraceful. The paper needs to issue an apology immediately and do a big 2 page
report on Clonmel Celtic and give them the recognition they fully derseve .. Best of luck lads anyway , hope ye win the big 2
If I was involved with Celtic, id be delighted Id of brought it down training and used it as a motivational tool.
Stuck it on the wall of the dressing room. Stir the players a bit of over it.
At this stage of the game i dont think they'll need much motivation,that's not the first time either that paper has printed huge errors.if a journo is going to do a report he should surely have his facts right in all fairness,i would'nt get too worked up about it if i was involved with celtic,do their talking on the pitch and i've no doubt they will.like they have been in the 2 big ones.
Nice to hear positive comments from Redman and Complexman. However it does appear that not everyone 'in their camp' share their view. I was speaking to someone involved in Celtic last night and they have heard from a reliable source that Pike were considering an appeal based on a 'phone call they received from Clonmel'. I suppose that could have been any sad individual on a solo run. I understand that Celtic is close to finding out who it was. If it happens to be anyone involved with Clonmel Town they will let them know as I am sure a decent club like Town wouldn't appreciate any members acting in such a pathetic underhand way.
there are small minded people in every league roberto.
sour grapes it sounds like.think ye should now focus on what is in front of ye rather then what went on in the last few days or so,which may be distracting( possible objection,news paper articles etc.)
janesboro,as i have already said,are arguably the best junior panel(or side) in limerick at this present time.
it should be a cracking tie on sunday
It is a pity to hear about this carry on. I heard, following St.Michaels win over Landen Utd, the Dublin club received a phonecall encouraging them to object to Michael Rafter. As far as I know St.Michaels tracked down who made the phone call. Also, after Clonmel Celtic beat St.Michaels in the Munster Junior Cup Saints received a phone call to make a protest regarding the proper registering of a Celtic player. Pity this kind of jealousy persists. Clonmel Celtic have done the TSDL proud and every decent supporter within its jurisdiction wishes them good luck on their bid for national and provincial honours.
Your right, it is ridiculous carry on. Petty vindictiveness at its most corrosive. Well done to Clonmel Celtic on their success this year, just as it was great seeing Michaels do well over the last few years, and Clonmel Town in the recent past. Well done also to Peake for getting to the last 16 of the FAI.
Players, coaches, administrators and supporters in Tipp should be proud of the fact that the TSDL is one of the strongest, if not the strongest junior league in the country, in terms of quality and depth. There's no need for dragging any team down. Celebrate success, and work hard to emulate it.
Can i ask who are the Town lads on this that have said anything bad about Celtic i havnt seen any bad comments about what they are achieving its a credit what they have done,however its an individuals decision whether they want to see a team do well or not just because Celtic are in the tsdl doesnt mean everyone in the league has to support them,i for one would wish them the best of luck but i wont lose a nights sleep if they get knocked out simple as.
As it was Tommy Lewis who passed the transfer of the player in question for Celtic,St.Michaels would not of having a leg to stand on Clonmel Town had their chance to object to the player after losing 5-1 to Celtic but refused which was probably the right thing to do after all Celtic did pay Town a 1,000 euro for the player in question over an incident last year after an FAI game.
Who said Town lads said anything bad about Celtic? And even if they want to let them fire ahead and say what they want as I'm sure it doesn't bother Celtic. Most soccer fans in the TSDL get behind local clubs doing well but as you state it not as if it some kind of rule. Frankly speaking I don't see the point of your post. If you are referring to a previous most of mine I think there is one hell of a difference between someone not being too bothered about how Celtic do and someone ringing up a club they have just beaten in an attempt to get them thrown out don't you think?
What are you trying to say? Maybe you can explain this in a bit more? Why would Clonmel Town have objected when they were beaten by Celtic when the League administrator approved the transfer of the player? No wonder Pike didn't proceed with their appeal if this is the kind of non sensical information they got in 'that phone call from Clonmel'.