Altogether now...
Your ground's a cowshed
Your fans are i...
Printable View
Well we do seem to have rather melted away this summer..
In case you genuinely didn't know here's the full lyrics to that chant:
You are a culchie,
A smelly cuchie,
You're only happy on market day,
Your ground's a cow-shed,
Your fans are inbred,
You're only sheep-shaggers from Ballybofey.
- Sung to the tune of You Are My Sunshine
Funnily enough, there's a full page of Wikipedia about the Derry/Harps derby. I assume it's the same Danny Invincible as the one on here who was the main contributor for that page based on its history.
In fairness...I'd rather watch from our own cowshed, than a council owned dog track.
Any update on Sligo's new stand? Will it be ready in time? Pictures please.
Word on Orielweb that Oriel will revert back to a grass pitch in 2014 should the club survive..
That is an absolute nonsense statement to make. Of all the things to be worrying about right now... Sounds like the kind of muppetry the GUFC directors were at.
http://www.sligorovers.com/latest-ne...-to-go-on-sale
New stand in Sligo.
Looks well ^^ is there a roof going over it??
Thats brilliant, shaping up to be a lovely ground now.
That's class looking now. Are they going to do anything with the open end of the ground now? Should have thought of a temporary stand for that end for the European games this time.
http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sp...-16199238.html
So I wonder will it be done before The Brandywell is fixed up.
Maybe some progress on Harps stadium plans.Quote:
Finn Harps will be holding an open meeting for all supporters on Monday 27th August 8.30 in Jacksons Hotel. Agenda will include new Stadium, league format for next season and financial update. The chairman and board would be grateful if all those who support the club would make an effort to attend.
Pat was on 95fm this morning. He said all the pre-planning is done, the plans have been agreed on and finalised by limerick FC and the LEDP. It is being lodged in two weeks. Unless someone places an objection to the markets field it should be ready for kickoff of the 2013 season.
Hopefully the keep us updated from here on.
Ye've no chance of being in there for the start of the season.
Unfortunately sports stadiums always require further information and/or objections. Even if the plans were submitted today (has the application appeared in a local paper?) the time period for planning is 12 weeks (10th January not including Christmas week).
Requests for further information (even after Pre-planning) are usually nailed on for large applications and due to our planning system some do-gooder somewhere will object.
And all that doesn't even start to consider the necessary works ye are looking for planning for.
However, a submitted planning application should suffice for your premier license. Ye'll be kicking off in Jackman or Thomond though.
Ps- Congrats on promotion.
Sorry just re read your post, submitting in 2 weeks. That mean 24th Jan as earliest possible decision
I see Pat says in the Irish Times that we can work away on things already within the ground so even if we didn't have a start on the new stands etc… that probably require planning permission then I'm sure things like the changing rooms (maybe temporary), pitch, bar, toilets etc…. could all be worked on. That would mean we could work away on the ground as the season progresses. That would surely be enough to acquire a license?
I can't imagine you'd be allowed build a bar without planning permission.
Surely you can still work on the existing stand without planning permission too? It's just being renovated, not knocked and re-built?
Now, now. The independence of the licensing body is absolute.
Some craic if they only get a first division licence! Delaney will be like the Lundy of Limerick!
If the capacity is being increased, you'd need planning permission afaik.
Without planning permission I presume we could only make sure the stand is safe and put seats into it as that would not need to change the actual structure of the stand.
What is the minimum requirements seating wise for a premier license?
What would the seating capacity of the stand be in the Markets if seats were installed. I am guessing about 1000.