Seen it last week, a lot of cheese alright, no way in reality he would get such a looker, eh?
(by the way - gave up on the book about one chapter in, really ****e)
Printable View
Seen it last week, a lot of cheese alright, no way in reality he would get such a looker, eh?
(by the way - gave up on the book about one chapter in, really ****e)
Exactly, english girls might be a sucker for an irish accent but it doesn't quite work in reverse! The books on fleabay for a few quid, was half tempted to buy it but I'll take your word for it. Have you seen Machine Gun Preacher? that's next on my hitlist.
I meant to warn everyone not to bother with "The Devil Inside", it had the potential to be an average enough exorcism horror but with a running time just over an hour and a terrible ending you'll just end up sitting there feeling incredibly ripped off.
Don't waste your money.
Contraband - apart from being a marketing vehicle for Maersk, it's awful. It tries to be cool, slick, soundtrack etc, but just wimped out in the end. Felt like I wasted an hour and a half or so from my life. 2/10.
Went to see 21 Jump Street earlier. It's a good laugh. 7/10
The cinema at the square has re-opened and it's a vast improvement, very comfortable and excellent picture and sound quality.
For some reason last night I ended up watching 4 Weddings and a funeral with herself and realised it's the first time I'd actually watched it properly, as in, completely. I didn't see it in the cinema and then on tv I never paid much heed to it. So I was both pleasantly surprised and disappointed with it. 1. Andy McDowell is a slapper in it. 2. Hugh Grant is actually a slimeball. 3. The only half decent character in it is Hugo and John Hannah (can't remember his name in it). There are some very funny moments, some emotional moments (especially the funeral) but no way can it be classified as a rom-com, and I couldn't see it doing the box office today that it did back in, 1994? Anyway, complaining over, 4/10 (I like Love Actually and found Hugh Grant and the cast good in it, and I like the man himself, mad as he is).
Project X. From the makers of the Hangover. A really fun film that just gets better and better as it drives on relentlessly from farce to farce. You'll find yourself reminiscing about the old days... Plenty of boobs. 7.5/10.
Completely agree with all of this.
Eh, finally watched Reservoir Dogs last night in full. Haven't watched it since around 1999 or so and I always turned it off cos I thought it was ****e. Oddly I loved Pulp Fiction even at that stage so it wasn't the fact that I may not have gotten it. I seemed it was just a mental block.
Anyway... It was savage.
9/10
21 Jump Street, oddly translated into Macho and Botan here (don't know why). Loved the tie up with the original show (used to be on Sky and my sister loved Jonny Depp) and overall it was fun. Some silly scenes, some good stunts, good oneliners and well worth a watch. A couple of moments where I found myself smiling then breaking into a laugh. Agreed with last review - 7/10 (harmless fun).
Saw 2 movies in the cinema the last couple of weekends, both were funny, but for different reasons.
American Pie (the latest excuse for jewish-masturbation-naked teens-father son jokes). Wasn't a fan of the old ones, but this was good. Some good acting, some nutty moments (I'll give up on coolers when going on picnics) and a nice way of looking back at school. Some ott nakedness and a little uncomfortable (though I don't know how the 70-somethings 3 rows in front of us were handling it - many that pun is apt given the cost of viagra). Worth a look just to see Tara Reid after rehab and latest surgery. 5/10
Battleship (Morski Boi in Russian, or sea battle, the same name as a classic arcade game here) - I twigged the hasbro thing early on, but then when they plastered - from the board game Battleship - at the end credits, I just collapsed in laughter. Possibly one of the funniest movies I've seen this year, or in years. Also the worst I've seen this year, or ever. Poor acting (Rihanna forgot that you need to do more than pout and pose while wrapped up in bondage gear), so-so special effects and a storyline that had more holes in it than a toilet wall in Monaghan (but none of these holes were glorious). It's the perfect movie if you've recently had a full frontal lobotomy, taken lsd or been raised by sheep in the wilderness (should play well with Harps fans I guess). If I start telling some, it would give away the central piece of the plot, but I have to ask, have aliens not heard of coloured contacts? Okay, watching it with a Russian audience, and the movie being about how brilliant America is, meant that at certain points cheers went up (ironic) when the yanks figured a way to batter an alien. The awards ceremony had the audience clapping politely, while Liam Neeson really has a huge @rse. I am certain, 100%, that this will be a mega hit, that cola filled kids and computer game freaks will love it, and most important of all (in terms of "target audience") LOI fans. Only LOI fans can endure farce, horror, comedy, thrills, spills, violence, romance, hate, fear, loathing, love, confusion and so on (that's just an EGM), so that this film is perfect. It makes the LOI look positively real! For sheer mentalness and unintended comedy 7/10. In fairness 2/10 (because the popcorn was tasty and Rihanna got battered, again).
Don't know what you are talking about Spudulika I thought it was up there with the classics.
The Dictator
Not sure what to make of it. I did find myself laughing a fair bit but it left no lasting impression. The jokes were fairly obvious and lacked any real punch, it just felt like it was trying too hard at times too. The running time is short and if you like Sacha Baron Cohen then you won't be looking for your money back but don't expect to be laughing unitl it hurts or anything.
2.5/5
Gregory's Girl on the box last night, first time seeing since I was in primary school - BRILLIANT
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xEol7v7cA7Q
I'm going to see it tonight (even cooked herself a nice tikka masala to get in good graces before we head out) and I'm a bit worried that it'll be another Bruno. I was never a massive fan of Ali G, liked Borat and the Ali G and Bruno movies were just a bit ott (though the cage fighting scene in America makes me laugh now just thinking of how the crowd were played and changed - imagine Dan Murray getting down and dirty with Roddy up in the Gortakeegan centre circle). I guess I'll just have no expectations for it and just see it for the craic.
It's pretty different. I thought Bruno was better, neither as good as Borat though. It's a much more standard film narrative, with none of the mocumentary stuff, it just isn't really a strong enough character or story to hold the interest and the jokes are just a bit too contrived.
It appeared, from the ads, to be not too far from Don't mess with Zohan. A contrived character where the funniest bits are all in the trailer itself. It would be great to see Borat land in Russia and do something here. Travel across the country, but maybe in the guise of a dumb Brit or something. Don't knwo how long he'd last though.
Boogie Nights - 8/10. Good movie, funny at times as well, thought with the lengthy "downward spiral" it was perhaps just a little too long (no pun intended). Quality soundtrack as well.
Cedar Rapids - 7.5/10. Wasn't expecting all that much from this one but in the end found it very enjoyable.
Yes Man - 5.5/10. Nothing special but decent enough, watched it on a boring Sunday afternoon and it kept me entertained for the most part.
Dictator - got lots of laughs from the audience but I found it dragging. Not enough jokes or comedy to carry off a feature, better a half hour pee take. The joke about the expected baby (is it a boy or do we have an abortion - that was funny), but not enough going on and a complete waste of Ben Kingsley and Anna Faris. I've always found Anna Faris to be one of the sexiest and funniest actresses around, but in this she couldn't get a look in. Unless you're totally drunk, don't like Yanks or like jewish jokes about arabs, forget it. 2/10
Saw an advanced copy this weekend of "Chernobyl Diaries" - the concept is terrifying in itself, especially if you've read "Wolves eat dogs". Set in the town of Pripyat, close to Chernobyl, it's the usual stalker killer playing games with your head movie, but just set in an area that is beyond comprehension. The acting is stock, the story is basic, but the setting is literally out of this world. It's terrifying in a way, just to spend an hour and a half. If you've been anywhere near this area you can really believe that it can happen. 7/10.
A week ago watched a dvd of "Death Match", not the best, especially considering it's not exactly truthful, bit of an Escape to victory without the laughs. Never took off and the football scenes are boring. Not worth the bother. 2/10