reality is green has always played better for us than gibson.
gibson is the only 6 counties player that the north didnt mind "losing" to the republic and that says it all really.
Printable View
Stephen Kelly had at least as good a claim to have featured in the Euros, having played more friendlies and more qualifying games, but he got 0 minutes. Where is he now? Oh yeah, he's about to join up with the squad like a professional who loves his country.
He didn't have Paul Green or any inferior playing coming on for him though. John O'Shea played all 270 minutes. Gibson played in 3 out of the 4 friendlies leading up to the euros and played basically every time when he was fit and available. Rumours around the time of the Spain game were that Gibson confronted Trap and Trap made a reference to Gibson's weight. Highly insulting and unprofessional if true. In a situation like this no-one wins and it's a shame for all concerned really. Gibson - not playing for his country and Trap - falling out with another player. Hopefully it'll be resolved but you just get the impression that it won't. Ah well. We'll always be able to put a squad out.
all a matter of perception and the fact that gibson played for man utd helped him in this regard. gibson constantly gives the ball away and barely tracks back and thats mainly in friendlies with no pressure on him. i have no doubt that he has ability but lacks hardcore desire
Actually his passing stats are second only to James McCarthy in terms of our midfield options. I can only find stats for this season, but he's one of the most accurate passers around, and I think his stats for last season were even better.
McCarthy 90%: http://www.squawka.com/players/james-mccarthy
Gibson 78%: http://www.squawka.com/players/darron-gibson
Hoolahan 75%: http://www.squawka.com/players/wes-hoolahan
Whelan 75%: http://www.squawka.com/players/glenn-whelan
Pilkington 74%: http://www.squawka.com/players/anthony-pilkington
Andrews 69%: http://www.squawka.com/players/keith-andrews
McClean 68%: http://www.squawka.com/players/james-mcclean
edit: actually Meyler is ahead of him on 81% but has had limited game time: http://www.squawka.com/players/david-meyler
Maybe he gives the ball away a lot for Ireland because nobody is looking for it.
There's obvious problems in the lines of communication between Trapattoni and the players, and this is just another example of it. Eventually we are going to reach a point and ask the question is the problem with the players or is it with the manager.
gibsons replacement twitter response to being called up...
"So happy to be called into the Irish squad. Biggest moment of my career, like to thank everyone especially my Dad, Mum and Sister!"
delighted to have lads like meyler benefiting from messers like gibson pulling out
a little surprising some people are still blaming Trapattoni for the communication problems after Duff's comments during the week
As with most things, there are two sides and the right side to this saga.
I am reticent about blaming Trapattoni, but I can also see how difficulties can emerge in translation. In a relatively short space of time we've had problems between Trap and Kevin Foley, Shane Long and now Darron Gibson.
There is no clarity here at all and we are all left speculating, which rarely helps.
I hate throwing blame around in these situations, but you really have to ask the question; why is it that this generation of Irish players in particular seem to have problems linking up with the squad? It's all very well trotting out the hackneyed, chest-thumping talk of playing for your country, or players being immature and whatnot, but tbh that's a lazy excuse and just ignores a bigger question - surely I'm not the only one who finds it all a bit bizarre there have been so many incidents like this.
Sure, some of it has turned out to be baseless tattle from journalists, but some of it hasn't and I honestly don't recall another period in Irish football with this constant issue of players' commitment. It doesn't seem to be a problem in other nations' squads, so why Ireland? I don't buy the notion of international football being completely devalued these days, so I can't help but wonder if Trap & his setup is somehow breeding a sense of ... casual indifference in some players; and with the best will in the world, ones patriotism only stretches so far in the face of pretty irrational snubbing.
There are two players who refuse to play for Ireland, one of whom predates Trap. Casual indifference to friendly international fixtures is endemic across the football world. It's nothing to do with Trap.
Moyes' two cents. http://www.evertonfc.com/news/archiv...reland-future-
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Moyes
I see that list is leaded by that sh*t stirrer Kieran Cunningham.
Gibson's attitude disgusts me.
His "disappointment" of the euros. Does that mean that the fans should stop going to games too?
Whether he should/not have been played in the euros is another story...Trap is the manager ...he makes the calls. Gibson knew that before he accepted his place in the euro squad.
I find his lame ass excuse pathetic.
The reason Gibson is not going to run up during the week is that McCarthy has taken Gibsons spot. Trap has stated so. Laughable to think that a player who could not get a look in under the Italian spoofer is now keeping out a player who is playing well for Everton. The same merchants who are Traps cheerleaders are going to support Brady for manager. I Know its hard to believe if you really follow football but this is Ireland. Brady is being seriously considered.
WRONG
Playing for his club is his job. Playing for his country should be his passion as he isnt getting a large fee for it. Playing for their country should be the passion of EVERY player.
Been picked for your countries european championship squad is a huge honour for any player, whether they play in the championship or not.
Do you acknowledge that Trap picks the Team based on his own opinion not of what the fans think?
Equally do you acknowledge that Gibson understood that he may not get any game time in the euros when he accepted his place in the squad?
It's 22 years ago CD. The profile of international football has changed, professional football has changed and professional footballers have changed.
Gibson proved beyond question that he wanted to play for Ireland, now he's proved that he doesn't want to play for Trapatoni and he is not the only one. Fair play Trap, your slowly but surely alienating every player with the ability to pass the ball from the squad, one by one.
Who are you to say what anyone's passion SHOULD be? I'm not even saying that he's no passionate about playing for Ireland, I'm just saying that it may or may not be. I play football at the amateur level and I've had plenty of managers pick players that far worse than me. Nothing more frustrating. If I had a nine hour flight out to the middle of Asia and I knew full well that I wouldn't have much chance of playing I would probably take a pass too.
i have been a huge supporter of gibsons and i think he is a far superior player to andrews and whelan. this is a mistake though he should have shut his mouth and turned up for his country
Not defending Stan - but those withdrawals were mostly with the explicit agreement of Stan
When he was at Man U, Gibson was not up the required standard to be in our first team. Trap was quite correct when he said Gibson should move from Man U.
Finally he did move clubs, had pulled out of a few Euro qual squads through injury, turned up for the pre-Euro friendlies and showed enough to satisfy most managers that at least he was a first sub. I'd definitely have sympathy with him when he didn't see one minute of Euro action, that appears to have been a píss poor decision by Trap.
McCarthy has also had to bide his time, has also had to sit on the bench while Green was used as a sub ahead of him, now James is on the cusp of a long intl career.
I'd hope Gibson has a change of heart and makes himself available for the October games but I doubt it as he has a stubborn belief in his own image that he's an outstanding talent.
Hopefully he's just making a point of protest. In the past Trap would have said stuff like "we have other players with mentality" but here he is keeping the door open and rightly so.
I don't agree with Gibson's decision. Being disappointed by selection decisions is part and parcel of a footballer's life and he should just grin and bear it. It's a team game and I was brought up to support my teammates even when I was not picked.
Ironic that he probably would have had to pull out of the squad, due to picking up yet another injury.
Ever think that if Gibson didn't withdraw from so many squads that he'd have probably established him as first choice backup instead of Green? The sub appearance is fairly irrelevant anyway given that it was at the tail end of a 4-0 destruction and long past when the game was over, he probably brought Green on to raise his profile for not having a club in such a trivial circumstance. Managers often do this.
As to why he was behind Whelan and Andrews? His own fault, Andrews had been out for almost an entire year where Gibson had a chance to establish himself and he played utter ****e during that period, and thats when he wasn't withdrawing from squads. He's a lad who in 19 appearances for us has very seldom done especially well and certainly never laid down a marker for a starting place. A petulant, average player we could do without.
I think he realises he is still behind Whelan, Andrews & now McCarthy.
Grin and bear it or stay at home with the family? He went with the latter. He's a way better player than Whelan & Andrews but isn't mobile to guarantee a start with the Trap's 4-4-2 formation.
I am fan of the irish team(thats who I am to say what a players (who wants to play for us) passion should be) and I would expect anyone who declares for our team to have 100% passion or else I dont want them wearing the green jersey
Gibson has declared for us and did so for the euros.....in doing so it meant that another player was left out of the squad.
Travelling long distance comes with the territory of international football.
Gibson knew of Irelands trip to Kazakhstan before he accepted the place in the euro squad. So his "dissapointment" excuse is utter bullsh*t. If he was going to pick and choose what games he turns up for , then he should never have took another players place in the euro squad.
Your comparison of your amateur football career to Gibsons ignorance is completely irrelevant. Unlike Gibson, Im presuming you dont make 40000 pounds a week and are a few seasons away from an International call-up.
No great loss anyway. No matter what some people seem to think on here a few passable performances in an Everton shirt over a dozen or so Premiership games does not a great player make. He hasn't, other than in the wildest fantasies of some Ireland supporters, ever been near to being one of Everton's best players during that time. Better than Whelan, unlikely to contribute as much to Ireland as an on form Andrews and significantly poorer than McCarthy is my assessment. How Paul Green gets in ahead of him, however, is another matter entirely.
Now step up David Meyler and take your chance.
Gibson's attitude is pathetic.
The idea it's Trap's fault - the guy who gave Gibson his chance, threw him on at the Stade de France in 08, started him in qualifiers when a vocal section of Irish fans were saying 'oh christ no, not him!' and then simply didn't bring him on for five minutes at the end of an absolute drubbing against Spain - is ridiculous.
Question Trap's communication methods, they're certainly problematic, but Gibson needs to wise up and take his oil.
It would seem quite a lot of Irish supporters have turned against Trap and he can do no right at this stage. If people will get on Gibson's side against him they'll get on anyones side against him.
Not the slightest bit surprised really. Always struck me as a pretentious prima donna. The guy is not nearly as good as he thinks he is.