Any forecasts on Avenue v Newtown???
Printable View
Any forecasts on Avenue v Newtown???
well interested i suppose you could say that i was only counting premier and cup. also i dont think that corofin have won any major honours in GAA.u-15 c hurling championships dont count.;) the point i was trying to make that it was such a big deal in the VILLAGE that they would fight to the bitter end to hold onto their title. if you have been offended by my compliment to the corofin team then maybe i should just slag them instead:eek:Quote:
Originally Posted by Interested
newtown layed very well last weekend and if they can keep that form they will be tough to beat. they gave us a good game in the lees road at the start of the season and were unlucky to lose.Quote:
Originally Posted by shelbourne1904
suppose avenue will be looking to bounce back from the defeat in cork. they have played a lot of games recently and maybe they could be getting a bit tired.
time to sit on the fence : DRAW:ball:
you're really playing it safe here!!!Newtown, I believe, have a full team back so I should say they will loose but I wont I will hex them and say 2-1 to Newtown!!!!!!Quote:
Originally Posted by plasticpitch
No offence taken with the compliment. I was just trying to point out that the Clare League is not just confined to the Premier League and the Clare Cup. There are other smaller prizes on offer to the lesser teams in the League and I have no doubt that any team winning the 3rd Division Shield would celebrate as good as if not better than one of the usual Title Winners. For the record I don't think the VILLAGE have won any honours at Rugby, Cricket or Tiddlywinks either.Quote:
manalishi ...Quote:
Originally Posted by manalishi
lifford have drawn & now lost their last couple of games
1 to newmarket who were bottom of league & the other to a understrength terrible team in crisis newton !! and finally dont't forget who bottled the league last year ... so newtown may not be the only team here with no balls !!!:D :D
Last Year Avenue were in a very similar position and impressively went on to win their last six games to claim the title. The question is can they do the same this year? I really think that the first goal in this game will be crucial as both sides are capable of dominating a game once the tails are up. However on the flip side Newtown especially have shown this year that when they win they win comfortably but when they lose they also concede quiet a few.Quote:
Newtown need to score first to win but I think Avenue will be well up for this and may be too strong. Avenue to win 1-0.
beig honest i dont know how Avenue have been playing recently but Newtown have been performing well in the league, highlighted by the excellent performance and result at home to Lifford last week. im going to say a Newtown win
yeah the waether has been terrible over the last few days but the lees road pitches hold up well????
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prem Rep!
Great assessment Prem Rep but hopefully the Shannon boys will score first and then Avenue get an attack of lifforditis!!!!Or could it be called lion(see liffords crest) flu in these days.
Thats certainly what we will be hoping for. Not looking good weatherwise at the moment. Lets hope the fixtures are given a chance to go ahead with referee's inspections on Sunday.Quote:
No word on games yet but I think they will go ahead....Quote:
Originally Posted by tommy
I'm away till next Tues lads so I hope ye dont miss me too much. :D
Prem Rep is well informed on goings on so he might let ye know if anything changes re games...
He might post the results and fixtures Monday also if he gets a chance.
ps I think Avenue Newtown will be a score draw...
no worries interested!! i know what your saying!!! anyway welcome to the thread. do ya think corofin can keep up their recent good form this weekend??Quote:
really think that they could be promoted this year. olympic might do their usual and fade away towards the end of the year. i'm sure their slip up against rock last weekend has given teams a wake up call that the league is still there to be won:ball:
careful im going to sneeze:DQuote:
nice one shelbourne lol:D
I am not that well up to date with the current form of Corofin. They do however usually come good towards the end of a Season, which would seem to be the opposite to Shannon Olympic. I have watched Olympic a couple of times this year and still think in my opinion that they have one of the strongest midfields in Clare football. John Ryan has made a huge differance to them and I can't honestly see them fading out of it like they did last year. Last weekends result might only have been a blip.Quote:
As for your own Club. Any time I have seen you playing or should that say not playing, the opposition on both occasions Mountshannon (home) and Newmarket (away) both oposition teams seemed to want the points more, the battling qualities needed for such games was sadly lacking. But to be honest you are not sitting on top of the league for nothing so maybe I just picked the wrong games to go to. Yourselves and Avenue should be a cracker:rolleyes:
Just to add to interested and plasticpitch discussion,think moher and olympic will go up,but will have to fight it out to see who wins the league,olympic tend to drop points towards end of season.have to see can they do it this season.As for 3rd spot there is a range of teams will go for it.Kilmaley,Connolly,Burren,Rock and Corofin will be battling for it.Corofin on a good run after xmas and taking points,lots of teams taking points off each other,
yeah i think olympic will be promoted this year.... unless they get lifforditis;)Quote:
yeah we performed a lot better at the start of the season won 7 drew 1 lost 1. our form has dipped a lot and i dont know if we can get back to winning ways this sunday. But yes you are right m'snn and newmarket were definetly up for the those games you were at. going on that form i think bunratty and cratloe will be relegated this year. i know it might upset some people on this thread but as ye all know 'pitch is not always right:ball:
Look at the table - we are still on top and still in our own hands.Quote:
You seem to be doing a lot of talking about other teams yourself.
We will answer ye on the pitch.
hey tommy sounds like i touched on a bit of a sore point with you. if that is the way you think then we wouldn't have a thread. :rolleyes: :( :confused: :Quote:
Lynch Hotels Clare & District Soccer League Fixtures
Friday 17/03/06
Maloney Hardware Shannon Premier Division League
Lees Road Pitch 2: Avenue United A V Bunratty
M.O`Brien 11.00
Clare Hire & Sales First Division League
Kilmaley School: Connolly Celtic V Moher Celtic
J.Stanford 4.00
Fairgreen: Avenue United B V Kilkishen Celtic
F.Coote 4.00
Lees Road Pitch 4: Rock Rovers V Kilmaley United
F.Coote 11.00
SEL Print Second Division League
Kildysart: Kildysart Celtic V Ennistymon Town
T.McInerney 11.00
Kilmhill: St.Pats A V Cooraclare Celtic
T.McInerney 2.00
Suttons Lightings Third Division League
O`Briensbridge: Bridge Celtic B V Manus Celtic
J.Stanford 11.00
Saturday 18/03/06
Clare U17 Cup ¼ Finals
Lees Road Pitch 4: Turnpike Rovers V Newtown
J.Stanford 2.30
Note: In event of a draw 10 mins e/w extra time & penalty’s if necessary.
Youths Cup First Round
Fairgreen: Hermitage V Bridge United
J.Stanford 11.00
Newmarket: Newmarket Celtic V St.Pats
A.Murphy 11.00
Gallivan Kennedy Youths League
Ballycasey: Newtown V Lifford
A.Murphy 2.00
Sunday 19/03/06
Clare Cup 2nd Round (Replay)
Tiermaclane: Manus Celtic V Kilmaley United
F.Coote 2.30
Clare Cup 3rd Round
Lees Road Pitch 4: Rock Rovers V Bridge United A
P.Cullen 11.00
Newmarket: Newmarket Celtic B V Corofin Harps A.Murphy 11.00
O`Briensbridge: Bridge Celtic A V Newtown B
P.Markham 11.00
Liscannor: Moher Celtic V Shannon Olympic A
F.Coote 11.00
Scariff: Mountshannon Celtic V Newtown A
P.Mulready 11.00
Lees Road Pitch 4: Cratloe Celtic V Newmarket Celtic A D.McCarthy 2.00
Rinnanna: Rinnanna Rovers A V Lifford A
P.Sutton 11.00
Clare Hire & Sales First Division League
Mullagh: Burren United V Kilkishen Celtic
D.McCarthy 11.00
SEL Print Second Division League
Sixmilebridge: Bridge United B V Kilrush Rangers
Norrie Henchies: Tulla United V Kildysart Celtic
A.Murphy 2.30
Kilkee: Kilkee V Ennistymon Town
J.Stanford 11.00
Shannon: Shannon Olympic B V Turnpike Rovers
Suttons Lightings Third Division League
Kilmhill: St.Pats B V Lifford B
J.Stanford 2.00
O`Briensbridge: Bridge Celtic V Rhine Rovers P.Markham 1.30
Note: would all home teams ring in results immediately after games to Michael Lydon 065-6839349. Failure to do it will result in an automatic 30 euro fine.
Note: Any club seeking a free weekend must do so at least two weeks in writing to Michael Lydon for Consideration, also once fixtures appear in the paper under no circumstances will games be called off.
Results Sunday 12/03/06
Mountshannon Celtic 1 Bridge United 0
Rinnanna Rovers A 3 Newmarket Celtic A 0
Mountshannon 1 Bridge Utd 0
Disappointing result for us yesterday. We definitely deserved something from the game but fair play to Mountshannon, they battle to the very end and certainly do not deserve to be relegated. Our failure to convert the chances that came our way proved decisive with the hosts grabbing the winner in injury time. Sickener!! But we have to get on with it, there will be more twists and turns in this saga yet. Mountshannon will stay up in my opinion and deserve to do so.
Is there trouble in the Bridge camp? Rumour has it that your manager resigned after the game?? Is the pressure beginning to show???.Quote:
What about the rinanna/newmarket match...heard there was 4 newmarket players sent off..???
Just back lads,OH MANA,OH MANA you should wait till after an event to go mouthing off ,you think you would have learnt from the Bosses mistakes,ye still have a chance but it is no longer in your own hands,Avenue will prob win the league only because they do most of their talking on the pitch unlike a few who represent the name of Lifford,Manalishi/BossQuote:
Not sure if there was a report on the match further down the thread but Newtown coasted home minus Noel Donnellan and the other half who had a function.Mike Heath sent off but Newtown at that stage were well on Top,Don't really care who wins it as long as Lifford don't mainly from his comments above,can Liffors AFC not ask Foot.ie for this fella to be banned as he is doing them serious damage?????;) :D :D
Remind me what ye have actually won last year,i will give you a hint NOTHING,Newtown won 3 cups,Quote:
This year i think ye will equal last year NOTHING, well at least ye are consistant...............Anton will not be happy with muppets spoutingcrao on this thread..........:p :p :p
Quote:
Originally Posted by the boss
I thought we did,maybe i dreamt Newtown beat sorry Stuffed Lifford 3-1,i keep saying fellas like you and Manalishi are doing lifford no good.:ball: :ball:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spudd
Whats happening at Newmarket? Can anyone update on what happened?? what is the relegation situation like now?
This is a cracker!!!
Newtown asked if they could enter the U17s cup despite not having a team in the under 17 three team league and were corrrectly openly encouraged.The team would be made up of under 16s and 17s from the youths along with some under 15s.The cup was to be played last week and what happens?The League puts a fixture in the morning for their Youths and the cup in the afternoon for the 17s.On enquiry they are told the games MUST go ahead(WHY?).Even so Newtown decide they will play both matches,with 9 players playing in both games!!Luckilly the 17s match was postponed due the pitch being unplayable, but they loose home advantage.
Now wait for this one!!!!!This week the youths and the to-be-played-again 17s match are both on at the same time!!
Result: Newtown will have to pull out of the under 17 cup because despite Turnpike agreeing to switch to Paddys day the 17s are not available.
Is the FAI now running our League.This sounds like something they would do.
Who was the drunken Corkman falling around the Lodge on Sunday shouting Hacket !!!Hacket!!!Hacket!! and looking for fight from everyone.He was dressed in all black ??Is he a priest or a Christian Brother or or a muslim Mullah??
Who is he??Is he the full Shilling??Did he manage to get Gavin Meehan to fight him???
As he was dressed in all black, could he possibly have been a referee looking for revenge?:eek:Quote:
This definately sounds like a major **** up on the Leagues behalf. Surely their prime aim should be to promote football and as their are only 3 teams ( if I read the passage correctly) in the U-17 League allowing Newtown to enter the cup to make up 2 semi-finals instead of one team gaining a bye directly into the final seemed like a positive step.Quote:
I would presume on contact with the League in regard to both fixtures going ahead at the same time that some sort of compromise would develop.
Why did Newtown lose home advantage due to their pitch not being playable? Most pitches in Clare were unplayable last Saturday and the Council closed Lee's Road due to weather conditions. I thought that you normally got 2 chances to stage a home game in the cup and why is not home advantage lost in similar cases for League games? (Just a thought).
cant understand y any lifford clubman would make comments like this. so manalishi and boss shut it!! ye cannot be lifford players because ye don't know what is going on at the club.Quote:
Originally Posted by BallBreaker
as for ballbreaker he is exactly right do your talking on the pitch, i'm sick to the death of the 2 of ye. in fact y dont ye identify yourselves to me via private text??? i am waiting to c who ye are
Thanks Plastic,Newtown and Lifford on the Pitch have always got on well,if the criticism is fair and justified then no problem but the other 2 have only spoken crap,the idea of this site is to give points of view on how clubs are doing and also a bit of banter but lads with one track minds should not be on it,in fact they would prob do better in politics:ball: :ball:Quote:
Correct,the league would switch the 17's match to the morning in Ennis,Half the team would rush back to Newtown to play youths at 2.00,was never going to work,Newtown thought that by putting in a 17's cup team to make 4 and with the youths league getting smaller they would be able to play alternate weekends.as for losing home advantage another joke,as you rightly said all games were pulled last weekend but the clare league are in a league of their own:ball: :ball:Quote:
Manager resigned after the game but I think it was a knee jerk reaction as he was so disappointed to concede another late goal conceding more valuable points. He also felt that he was not getting 100% from all the squad. He has however taken back his resignation following a meeting and training last night in which 17 players turned up and proved to him that we all have the same goals as he does. There is always pressure at this stage of the season and with the exception of Avenue every team has shown cracks in the armour. There will be lots of twists and turns in this saga yet but Avenue have to be favourites at this stage.Quote:
This definately sounds like a major **** up on the Leagues behalf. Surely their prime aim should be to promote football and as their are only 3 teams ( if I read the passage correctly) in the U-17 League allowing Newtown to enter the cup to make up 2 semi-finals instead of one team gaining a bye directly into the final seemed like a positive step.
I would presume on contact with the League in regard to both fixtures going ahead at the same time that some sort of compromise would develop.
Why did Newtown lose home advantage due to their pitch not being playable? Most pitches in Clare were unplayable last Saturday and the Council closed Lee's Road due to weather conditions. I thought that you normally got 2 chances to stage a home game in the cup and why is not home advantage lost in similar cases for League games? (Just a thought).
Your comments are right on!!It appears because Newtown asked to go into the cup the fixture secretary thought it was a 16s team .That was ok for last week but why not change it last week anyway??This week is a joke as it was explained that there were 9 youths under 17!!!(and look at their position in the Youths League,although you wont see it on A2z cos it hasnt been updated since last year!!!) and this week the 2 matches are on at the same time.the decision to loose home advantage has me baffled altogether.Even Turnpike ,who the 17s are supposed to play ,dont agree with that.
Why is common sense not applied
[QUOTE=Why is common sense not applied[/QUOTE]
Because common sense & the clare league cannot be mentioned in the same sentence:D
Have you raised this with Clare league or only raised on this forum.Quote:
Quote:
Yes raised last week and this week,its being dealt with at the moment.....I think!
Weekend Predictions
Avenue V Bunratty (Home win but hoping Bunratty can get something)
Cratloe V Newmarket (Draw, depending on how Newmarket react to last weeks game)
Mountshannon V Newtown (Home win, pitch may not suit Newtown)
Rineanna V Lifford (Another draw, Rineanna difficult to beat at home)