... heat of the moment action it was an assault ,, clare league are a disgrace with 3 game ban...
Printable View
Heat of the moment my arse the game was well over the player went over to shake his hand and in return got a headbutt..and the reason I hear that he didnt bring it any further because he just wanted the clare league to deal with it..a fine job they did as well # corrupt
AGM for 2013-14 season; Complete shambles. part 1 and 2, one speaker from each club allocated to talk so that league inadequencies kept hush hush and not questioned.
League cup 2013-14; allowed to be voted in by poorly run clubs so as not to upset the GAA boys.
All Ireland Final; no league games
All Ireland Final Replay; no league games
Irish Football Qualifiers/Friendlies; full league fixtures (this is breaking FAI rules, but sure who cares?)
FAI 3rd RD; Newmarket v Rinneanna KO 3.30pm, we all know what happened here with penos in the dark etc. League ignored FAI rule Book and fixed game for evening time anyway.
November 1st; Some premier teams yet to fulfill league fixture.
Rinneanna Rovers open league campaign with home and away games v Ennistymon B.
Oscar Traynor v Limerick, our domestic frailties spared as Limerick brought out their B team.
Xmas Time; Avenue still with no league game played
Fixture rule ignored for the 100th time by Mr. Lydon choosing to fix games that suit himself and his club.
Lees Rd 3g super duper astro pitch is unveiled by Clare league, (turns out a few lines were painted on) .. League has to back track on forcing fixtures to be played on surface as its not FAi approved nor never will be in its current state. Highly embarressing to the league when clubs had to quote rules to them.
Premier teams allowed to give walkovers, Corofin Harps, 3 points failed to be deducted from league total.
Avenue manager headbutts opposing player, gets 3 match ban.(personal favourite of mine)
Oscar Traynors get to final and the League virtually stops (by the way, do we know we are the only league that actually takes this seriously? Yet not even a tracksuit given to the squad)
U17 league dropped in mid season, still managed to be finished before u19 season, who had less teams and started many months before. Again fixtures were a lottery and often lead to teams playing eachother home and away before playing other teams at all.
Season due to finish on June 20th, for the elite that is, Clubs being forced to play mid week games under strenght, when infact there is 5 weeks at end of season with no fixture (Tage A)
Mountshannon Celtic, Corofin Harps and Bridge Celtic all break local rules regarding their pitch but go without questioning. There is no place for those pitches in a premier division.
Grade 3 referees being allowed to do premier games and it being widely accepted (James Fearns, not even related to an offical. Flann Sheedy also cost Avenue a place in the Cup final.)
Sure no wonder we lose so many players every year.
These are some of my season highlights, anybody wish to elaborate on theirs??
Alot of valid points there onenightonly but all these lads that run the clare league do it voluntarily and do try make it work. In the next AGM lads that arent happy with how its run should put their names forward for positions on the committee and see how they get on. Theres always room for improvement ao be interesting to see new lads put their names forward. All i ll say is I know Oliver fitzpatrick puts in huge time and effort and that should be acknowledged
Very harsh there on a few things.. as mastermind said its a voluntary committee who do alot of stuff at there own expense . also as mastermind said why dont you go to agm and vent your fury there.. ill be there but I doubt ill see you as id say your just a keyboard warrior. As for slating the refs get a life or go do the course and see how hard it is.. ive done a small bit of reffing and no money is worth the abuse you get off clowns who think they can do no wrong.. I personally thing james ferns is a very good ref. . Haven't seen enough of flan sheedy
I am a qualified referee, have been for last 4 years, as for AGM I will be there (as usual I may add), It's the grading of the referees I have an issue with, certain games ie; premier games, must be officiated by a grade 1 referee, neither of the aforementioned referees are classed as grade 1s,doesn't seem to apply in the Clare league though. Also what points do you think I may have been harsh with? I have no issues explaining my stance on any of them if you'd like the debate??
I agree with alot of your points too. But as I said the committee member are all there voluntarily ..
you were very harsh on oscar traynor team and managment they reached the final as they beat the teams who they played.. they cant make certain counties play certain players.. I'll also add they had alot of away fixtures which mean it was an even better achievment getting to final..
nobody could have forecast the weather we got this year and also with avenue and newmarket going far in cup competition they were always going to be late finishing the league.. harsh on other teams I agree
Also harsh on teams like whos pitches are not up to standard as you call it.. these teams are all isolated teams who are gaa orientated and personally I think credit goes to them for having teams in communities where they get no financial support or council pitches
The excuse of clubs advancing in national cup competitions is over used, what would happen if two Clare league teams were to meet in the final? Would the league even be finished?? teams in other leagues who continuesly reach the latter stage of these competitions don't have the backlog of fixtures that exist in this county.
As for my comments regarding the Oscar Traynors achievements, it's not a major tournament despite what people in this county believe, and although the standard does vary it's generally poor.
The weather is also not as big a factor as it's portrayed, it's the poor facilities that cannot handle a rain shower on a Saturday evening that's the essence of the problem.
Fair play to you oneNightOnly, when it’s put down in black and white like that only then does it show how bad the Clare league really is. I have played soccer in Clare for 25 years and represented Clare at all levels and I can tell you it was horrendous playing in a league like this year after year.
I lived in Ennis and would not have had the means to go inand out to limerick. It always baffles me how players with any ambition livingin Shannon, Newmarket, Bunratty and the likes are not playing in the limerickleague where you have much better facilities and better standard of soccer.
People keep saying the work the committee is voluntary and I accept that and all the work they put in but surely as they are at it yearsthey would learn each year from their mistakes and maybe say “ok that didn’twork last season so we will change that “but no it’s the same ding dong every year absolutely nothing improves!!!!
Spot on about the OT the Clare League jump on the band wagonwith this one each year professing how the league is making great strides as weseem to do so well in this competition. In reality if you went into limerick and asked the players where they rate the OT Id safely say it would be about4/5 on the priority list of trophies to win.
The measure of a good league is in club success and Limerick year in year out have teams in regional and national semi finals and finals that’s why I keep referring to that league. As for the pitches you mention they are nothing short of a disgrace and its sad to say it but it will take one big serious claim from a player before anything is done to stop these pitches been used. I remember one year arriving for a game and there was a lad brushing cow**** off the field so the game could go ahead!!!!
Referees all I say is that they get paid for what they do so try and do at least the basics of the game right. You go into work every day and you constantly make mistakes you will be brought aside and spoken to, the same needs to be done with referees. What the lines man did against Avenue inthe Semi Final once again shows that the Clare league will always stay the sub standard that it is.
What's all this talk of linesman in Avenue game. He made the correct decision for equaliser as I was in line with it. The only people who think he got it wrong are Avenue and we all know they see a game with blindfolds on. Ask the left back did he keep him on cause he did
Talisman, your story has more holes than Swiss cheese my friend.
The leftback was Paddy o Malley, he certainly didn't keep anybody onside.
You were not inline with it as you say you were either. I'm certain of that.
I'm not involved with Avenue in any way, shape or form, but the goal should not have been given. Simple as that.
That linesman on two occasions this season asked management teams not to be roaring at him for offsides because, he "wasnt 100% on the rule", and lads were confusing him.
More holes than Swiss cheese lol, your not involved with Avenue??? Your as red and yellow as the jersey. I know the left back was young O'Malley. For that matter I also know what team avenue had out and substitutes that were used. I was in line with the decision and it wasn't off-side seriously the record sounds broke. Ennis town deservedly won that semi-final. Other teams are allowed beat avenue every now and then just take it on the chin. By the way on your previous post having a go a decent players not playing in limerick- maybe they have a thing called loyalty to the clubs that have nurtured them since schoolboys and for that reason don't jump ship the first opportunity they get. Best of luck in your three remaining games by the way.
That goal was as clear an offside as your likely to see. But sometimes decisions go for and against teams, thats the nature of football.
Sorry my bad, wrong poster
Now that's cleared up, apology accepted by the way, I can only repeat what I've said before I'm not involved, nor never have been, not never will be involved with Avenue. I do admire the structure they have as a club and from the outside looking in they appear to be a well run club.
Back to topic
Stephen Hickeys equalising goal was offside, you must either be lying or your Flann Sheedy, either way you don't understand the offside rule... Don't go googling it now Talisman :)
It was a clear offside. Simple as.
Were u in line with it?? Football friend you were on your arse so you can't comment. No need to google it I know the rule and linesman Sheedy obviously gave the benefit of doubt to the attacker. IMO and I'm entitled to it, good goal, get over it.