Cause its ok ye can have him,id be interested to know for such a good keeper:rolleyes:how many of the top sides has asked him to sign.
Printable View
Top class we dont have won in junior,Res keeper for limerick collopy and ger barron thats it do in there day colin flemin,colm barrett,
alright lads lets leave it there and agree to disagree its spoiling the thread
FAI Junior Cup 1/4 Final Result
St Peters 1-0 Lisselton
St Peters 1-0 Lisselton ,
Poor game. Lisselton were poor, don't know how thay got this far. Best team so far were Carrick by a mile and for the benifit of most, Peters were lucky that day.
So, semi finals now, Clonmel Town await. Peters were 6/4 yesterday with Boyles and heavily backed too. Pure joy!
you know what, i was going to come on here and congratulate your team and wish you luck in this competition but after this and your teams antics after the game, i change my mind. you can be gracious in defeat but being gracious in victory is one thing that you lot up there should learn. comments like that are uncalled for and the way you celebrated yesterday after the game was very unsporting also.
lisselton were poor? yes we were, we can play far better, only 2 of our players played anyway near our capability, but Peters werent exactly wonderful either. I thought overall we were the better team on the day and played the better football, Peters were intent on humping long ball after long ball into our center halves. now, fair play, thats where the goal originally came from and its obviously a strength that you have, but on the day that it was a poor game, played on a soft pitch in windy conditions with rain for about an hour before kick off, it suited a more physical team which peters are.
still there was very little in it, Lisselton had more chances though, i counted 7 great chances to Peters 4, but again, we only have ourselves to blame as Peters took theirs, a header from a corner in the 67th minute that we didnt defend properly. we missed 2 guilt edge chances in the 44th and 45th minute, both were sitters and at least one should have been scored.
1st half was the best of the action and peters begun brightly. However it was Peters keeper who pulled off 2 stunning saves in the first half from Irish player O driscoll. our keeper also had 2 saves to make, one to avert a kevin kilbane style OG attempt. Lisselton dominated the game from about 30 mins in until Peters scored and had 4 chances in this period. after the goal, we threatened little, Peters closed up shop and defended well. Lisselton had one last chance, with 7 minutes to go, our striker went through in the box and was tackled from behind. To me, it was a penalty, but it wasnt given, had it been outside the box, it defo would have been given as the ref was not allowing tackles like that in the game. Games change on decisions like this.
overall, a disappointing day for us, we left the game behind as Peters were there for the taking. We knew before the game that set pieces was the only way we would concede and that proved to be the case.
Clonmel who were in attendance, fancy their chances now,i know that as i was speaking to them afterwards.
i would like to say unlucky to lisselton, you are a good side maybe yesterday things didn't go right for you. i was there yesterday and to say Peters didn't conduct themselves well, is not right? They won the game and celebrated? From what i hear about lisselton, you lads are the ones who wouldn't tell the club you were coming up the night before? when the club tried to facilitate you? you wouldn't even provide info for the programme? anyway with reference to the game, Peters were not going to lose to be fair, in the first half you were dangerous from set pieces but after that you struggled. Talking to your supporters, there all good people and i wish you all the best in the future..
Best of LuckQuote:
That statement makes no sence.... My comments amounted to about thirty words yet I get this rant that seems to me to be premeditated. What antics are you taliking about after the match? rejoicing a victory?
Unsporting? We looked for the game to kick off at 1pm as Athlone Town were playing waterford at 3pm and a few people would like to see both. You guys were travelling up on Sunday and felt you couldn't mange it as the hour was going forward also. In the end ATFC moved back to a 5pm! So, how was the Shearwater hotel in Ballinasloe on Saturaday night? If fairness were surprised to hear you were driving up Sunday as most teams serious about winning would prepare properly for the game so why bull*hit us?
While I am at it, we sought info from you lads about the team for our programme, nothing came back hence it was devoid of anything from Lisselton.
Our ground is in far better nick than yours from the accounts of our manager who was at the game against city. It has a full head of er.. grass, was rolled with a 3T roller twice last week ffs, cut on Friday, marked on Saturady. Indeed your own lds were surprised/ pleased because they had heard from Carrick that the was heavy (which it was against them).Quote:
lisselton were poor? yes we were, we can play far better, only 2 of our players played anyway near our capability, but Peters werent exactly wonderful either. I thought overall we were the better team on the day and played the better football, Peters were intent on humping long ball after long ball into our center halves. now, fair play, thats where the goal originally came from and its obviously a strength that you have, but on the day that it was a poor game, played on a soft pitch in windy conditions with rain for about an hour before kick off, it suited a more physical team which peters are.
Secondly, The wind didn't favour anybody, thirdly, We played more ball on the ground than you guys imo, Mr McCeever said so to me also!!
[Quote:
quote]still there was very little in it, Lisselton had more chances though, i counted 7 great chances to Peters 4, but again, we only have ourselves to blame as Peters took theirs, a header from a corner in the 67th minute that we didnt defend properly. we missed 2 guilt edge chances in the 44th and 45th minute, both were sitters and at least one should have been scored.
in all fairness, why do your lot care whether we came up or not the night before? and we didnt stay in athlone we stayed half an hour away. i shouldnt have to explain anything, but to my knowledge, we didnt have a definite plan until Wednesday or thursday and then again our plans changed towards the end of the week, as we were supposed to be in dublin for the ireland match and travel from there. our coach is involved with the irish team and missed the game as a result, which was a big loss to us.
as regards the program, it looks to me like our secretary just didnt have the time to put things together for it. he asked me to do it, but it was too late, they were printed at that stage. stop firing nonsense accusations around the place please, that have nothing to do with the game yesterday.
But a bit of background for the listeners that's all. Your the one making nonsence accusations, put some substance to it and back up your comment about "antics after the game". Or else withdraw it. Ballinasloe is hardly half an hour away, 13 miles by my Sat nav.
lissletonrovers & Fr Damo,if you pair want to continue at each other take it to the P M facility,you've both had more than enough space in this thread to say what you want about one game.
Fine with me but where were you last week when this board decended to farce with reference to the Limerick lads who were naming names and all sorts.
Ends.
sounds like lisselton are bad losers:)
We even told your guy about one of our sponcers who runs a very sucessful hotel, Ireland and opposing teams stay there when internationls are held in Dubarry Park (rugby) or ATFC but were told point blankly you were travelling on the morning of the match.
You still have not backed up your statement ref antics after the match, I could list much more about bad manners here including three or four of your lads "relieving" themselves outside your bus and against a church wall before you departed. This was in Athlone town center at about 6pm. I have three independant witness lest anyone sueing me for defamation.