3 good matches there in fairest
Printable View
Congratulations to Ballinasloe Town AFC representing 'Connacht Junior Soccer' in yesterday evenings FAI Quarter Final draw on RTE 2 MNS. Best of luck, do us proud...
Good showing in cup and shield for Mayo teams. I would say Swinford for the shield and maybe Erris as outside bet for cup.
Erris for the cup? Are you on drugs?
Sorry to upset the Westport faithful, of course I meant Westport. Read it "outside bet", they seem to be playing well.
Connacht Junior Cup Quarter Finals Down for 6/7 April
(1) Mervue Utd V Iorrathas Aonthaithe
(2) Loughrea V Ballinasloe Town
(3) Westport United V City United
(4) Corrib Rangers V West united or Castlebar Celtic (24 March)
Is west united playin celtic this weekend, ?????
West Utd v Castlebar Celtic 2 pm kick off Sunday in South Park,West will be big underdogs but you never know in cup football!
If there is anyone going to the west/celtic game for updates later.??
West United 3-2 Castlebar Celtic FT
Any match report joe
Didn't hear anything. Celtic were 2-1 up at one stage.
I hear west scored in the 97th min to win it...???
Connacht Junior Cup Quarter Finals Down for 6/7 April
(1) Mervue Utd V Iorrathas Aonthaithe
(2) Loughrea V Ballinasloe Town
(3) Westport United V City United
(4) Corrib Rangers V West United
I assume it's 1 plays 2 and 3 plays 4 in semi finals?
No its 3v1and 2v4 in the semi,s
I was at the game,Castlebar were the better football side but they were not direct enough in my opinion,they had a big breeze at their backs in the 1st half yet never once used the long ball,West were very disciplined and solid and held there shape well,Castlebar took the lead in the 35th minute with a top class finish from their striker,their only shot on target in the 1st half despite having 70+% possession,2nd half West had the breeze and knew how to use it better,they were alot more direct and put the Castlebar defence under pressure from the start,West equalised from a corner after about an hour,last touch off Castlebar defender,Castlebar went back in front from the spot after 75min,terrible decision never a peno but the fact it was given the west defender should of walked,he was last man back,West equalised from another corner with 2 minutes remaining and struck for a matchwinner 7 min into injury time,don't know where ref got all the injury time from?West are nowhere near the level they were a few years back but they will still put it up to most teams if they have a full side!
How does this west team compare with the team that nearly won connacht a few years ago
Quarter Finals on 6/7th April
Semi Finals on 20/21st April
Final on 18/19th May
Any idea where the final is being held?
5 players from that squad now play with Mervue,6 gone to Australia,i would say of that good team that won the Galway League and 2 local cups and lost the Connacht Final only 4 remain from a 20 man squad,its a real transition period for the club and they look like been relegated in the Galway Prem,different team out every week but they have really improved the last few weeks with the return of the remaining 4 players from that good side who hadn't played all season,with their best side out they would probably be as good as every team in Galway bar Mervue!
Do you think they will beat corrib?
Corrib will be favourites but they only beat a very weakened West team on penos in the local cup,West are actually playing them in the league on Sunday,with Nuig supposedly going to the new proposed Connacht Senior League it will mean only 1 team goes down and West should be safe with been a point ahead of Salthill with 4 games in hand,so West may well not show their full hand this wk,my own feeling is West will turn them over in Connacht Cup but its a local Derby so its always close!Neither team will win it out IMO
It is not definite that the Connacht senior league is going ahead. who from galway are entering? What are corrib like. they have 2 ex galway lads up front. Westport are still the team to beat in Connacht. They have the experience from last years win and are a decent side
Ballinasloe are the team to beat in Connacht..westport were lucky last year..refereeing decisions went their way in the semi finals..they will be hammered if they meet ballinasloe.trust me.
Corrib are very average but have 2 lads up front Barry Moran and Dave Goldbey who score for fun,Mervue are best side in Galway but they are lacking a top class striker,Ballinasloe v Mervue final for me,Westport best of the rest but anything can happen in cup football!
Write off Westport at your peril. They won it last year without there best defender/player. They wil be hard beaten, but as ye say that is the beauty of cup football. Corrib rangers must be solid enough, Moran and goldbey are two quality players, do they still have the pace they used to when at Galway united?
Corrib Rangers have a top manager/coach Brendan O Connor ex Galway Utd player and I think managed Westport for a season,their 2 strikers are still fast and they don't need much of a sniff to punish you!Galway Socccer is not as strong as a few years ago!
Corrib Rangers 3-2 West Utd in the Galway League this morning,Rangers won it with an injury time winner from Simon Walsh who is suspended for next weeks game,West were the better team and threw it away in my opinion,Rangers took their chances and the Rangers keeper took off some brilliant saves,that said I thought Rangers should of had a clear cut peno!Next week will be close again,West's best player Eric Holland was missing today and will be back next week,both teams were virtually full strenght!
What are you on about Kane, Westport have played ye three times in last few years and beaten ye twice :) and the other time ye only beat us after extra time..To be honest i dont think there's much between the teams, I take it your one of these bar stool experts becauce id be surprised if your a player becauce i no from are players they'd have a bit more respect for your team than going around saying they'd hammer ye.
Well said Huggie bear, that is definitely not the opinion of bsloe players, sounds like a delusional supporter. Westport have definitly had the upper hand over the past 3 ties between both sides. (Can't believe Westport are not favourites to win it) I'm sure they have had a few quid on the big price available!!! How is there squad compared with last years winning team, they had a few very experienced lads, some fai junior cup winners!!!
From last years squad we've lost 2 players but having Joe Lawless back this year is a big boost and added Phil Keegan to who's came back to play after a year playing in galway.Taking one game at a time and see were we end up,Expecting a very hard game next weekend which we will have to be at are best to advance.how are ye squad wise,ye seem to be flying on all fronts..have ye added any players since last year.
Fair play fatboyslim... Westport have lost about 3 of the team that played in the final last year between injurys and one lad gone to spain..but have brought one very good lad that plays on the wing.(he had been playin gaa for the last year or so he also played with mervue for a while).. Still have a strong squad all the same.. One thing that i have to say and i think this does be missed some times when we talk about mayo teams playin in the connaught cup is mayo teams are playin out of season so its very hard from them to compete against teams that are playin in season i.e roscommon, sligo and galway.so for this reason i can see why maybe westport are not favourites...also it makes an even a bigger achievment when a mayo team does win it...
Westport are not favourites because they were beaten this year below in Carlow early on in the fai cup where they had all these big name players back..ballinasloe reached the last eight and were unlucky not to win...that's why ballinasloe are favourites and Westport not..also IMO castlebar are a better team than Westport..play a nicer brand of football..Westport are solid at the back fair enough.
Kane westport lost to crettyard because on the day they didnt play well enough .. Also since you think you know a lot about westport you would know they were missing 4 of there top players( dave hoban.pat fitz.danny scahill.dave horkan ).. Not that we use this as an excuse...and yes if you ask me ballinasloe are favourites this year and rightly so ..but i seriously think you should stop writing about a club you obviously know nothing about..i.e westport
You or one of your buddies couldn't understand how Westport weren't favourites...I was trying to help ye out a bit with the confusion...clarify things a small bit for ya..no need to be so soft.
Castlebar are poor defensively. They try to play total football, but are found wanting in the final 3rd. They are not direct enough. They have 1 good striker but thats about it. They seem to have a young enough side (bar 1 or 2) so maybe its a transition period.
For a team that don't play that good of football kane we fairly tore your defence to piece's with are winning goal in last years semi final :)
Ha one chance and fair play ye took it....one chance in 90 mins..ballinasloe were all over ye and had the ability to pass and keep the ball..and two clear cut penos not given..heard the final was very dry..I'd believe it