Sorry, but did you have to ask?
Don't worry I'm going......
Printable View
Sorry, but did you have to ask?
Don't worry I'm going......
The difference there is, any Sligo fans that were on the pitch didn't come over looking for trouble. They didn't come over to gloat. They celebrated with their players in front of their own fans, then they left the pitch and went back into their own end to celebrate with themselves. The Sligo players and management were applauded off the pitch by the Bohs fans. Astronomical difference in scenes. Sligo > Shamrock
They beat us last year came on the pitch right down to the 18yard box. Nobody from our end moved,threw anything or tried to batter them.
What's your point caller?
Yes, I was present tonight. At the end of the game the Shams schooligans along with a few older lads came on the pitch. One Pat's fan jumped on the field thinking he had the support of his mates, only to look over his shoulder to discover a lack of support, I've never seen a human jump so high than this soul when he jumped back into the Pat's support. One Pat's fan made it through with the aid of an umbrella, and found himself laid into by about 50 Shams lads. Was probably the funniest thing I've ever seen in my life.
All in all, Shamrock Rovers are the shame of Irish football.
Jim out.
I love bashing Rovers fans for their scumbag actions but tonight there was 3 parties to blame, The Rovers fans the Pats fans and the Guards, The Rovers fans shouldnt have come down to our end and start throwing bottles, The Pats fans shouldn't have been on the pitch in the first place (Rovers had just won a cup semi-final let them celebrate with the players and of course the morons that are the Guards shouldn't have let anything happen, they just stood back like ****ing idiots, god help us all if a club with an ounce of trouble get to the Europa league final in May
For people talking about the last game of lats season, The difference was that when Pats fans got on the pitch last season they didn't throw bottles at Rovers fans and when the fans got on the pitch Rovers fans didn't come running at them looking for trouble
To the best of my knowledge no.I dont remember anyone gloating about it anywhere but will hold judgement until you prove me wrong with a valid link.
Also the bus that the non-person not involved in the non incident you refer to above was supposedly travelling with the most family orientated bus at Rovers,with no alcohol allowed on board.
Iirc the people who run that supporters club took exception to the slander of their clubs good name on this and other sites and posts were removed.In fact your story might have been somewhat believable if you hadn't brought the particular clubs name into the non-story.
That club actually decided against bringing a bus to the showgrounds on the last 2 visits as it had windows put in on at least 2 previous trips and they couldn't guarantee the safety of those on board.
But lets not talk about the friendly showgrounds tonight-lets focus on Rovers animals based on sportsfile and the nobel prize winning adrian kennedy phone-in show all the while brushing aside the one post that most present at the game would deem accurate.
Your points on tonight are spot on.
With regard to last season pats fans didnt make it down far enough to throw bottles and some Rovers did make more than an attempt to get at them but where actually reeled in by Rovers fans who let them know that it wasn't acceptable-A huge sea-change in my time following Rovers when similar incidents in previous years where ignored.
Turns out there's 2 umbrella men. The Pat's one still gets my Umbrella Man Of The Year. Legend.http://www.leedsbuildingsociety.co.u...g_umbrella.jpg
The sanctimonious guff on here has made me log on for the first time in years and remind you geeks of a few salient truths - nothing exercises you lot more than Rovers and, more importantly, it's now half a century since the Junkies won the Cup. Carry on geeks....
He ran on from the SEI end, I'd say he was late 20's. It was well after Shams umbrella man, he just ran for a rake of Shammers and didn't stop. I'd love to meet him and tell him how much I enjoyed his run.
They were lucky they weren't sharing an umbrella. That would have been embarrassing.
Did you see the mad ******* who ran the full length of the pitch to kick a Rovers fan?? he was no more than 15, when the Rovers fans started getting on the pitch he jumped the barrier ran the whole pitch without slowing up and threw himself into a group of Rovers fans, I know we shouldn't laugh about tonights events but I watched him the whole way down, It was hilarious
The first "fan" on the pitch after the whistle was a white Pats hoodie showing more pace and speed than his team did all evening. Pats fans fired most of the bottles, and when most of them headed back to Ballyfermot, another 4 of them made separate runs to the halfway line before meeting stewards and guards.Quote:
Originally Posted by Shedendinvisibl
A post which unsurprisingly has been ignored. Pathetic as it was (by the scum who have no place at LOI football) there was more than a touch of revenge for the goings on in Tallaght on Sunday. I was hoping the Gardaí were going to baton charge the stupid pri@ks tonight but sadly it wasn't to be. A good hiding and the stupid fúcks wouldn't darken the door of a LOI game again. Now enjoy the Rovers bashing for the next few days lads and don't forget the subdued reaction on here when there was actually someone seriously injured by LOI fans . Now doubt this thread will continue on for days as it's so much more serious than other incidents that happen in the world of LOI football.
4% is usually about right for Rovers.
from the Rovers forum
Quote:
Today 22:19 #147
POK
* View Profile
* View Forum Posts
* Private Message
* Add as Contact
Thanks
vCash
I've only been going to Rovers for a couple of seasons and I'm beginning to rethink how much I want to be associated with the club. What kind of fans are we?
Quote:
Today 23:20 #177
Celtic Charm
* View Profile
* View Forum Posts
* Private Message
* Add as Contact
Thanks
vCash
Quote Originally Posted by TheOtto View Post
A percentage of idiots ? There was ****ing 200 of them scumbags on the pitch throwing bottles and one mongo about 35 swingin an umbrella at the pats fans , scum the lot of them !
Just back now. ****ing embaressing to see grown men do it. Whatever about a couple f Pats kids knackers. Grown ****ing men ruined a cup semi final win.
Cnts
Seriously. We've jsut won a cup semi and off to the new Lansdowne and I felt rotten coming out of that place. having to listen to more crap in work about scum etc etc
We can pass the buck all we want, but we all know that plenty of Rovers fans involved
Quote:
Today 23:22 #180
Leno
* View Profile
* View Forum Posts
* Private Message
* Add as Contact
Thanks
vCash
same ****, it'll blow over in a couple of days, Adrian Kennedy is one idiot, WUM, knows exactly what hes doing... wonder why they dont comment on the widespread hoolagism that happens in their beloved English Premiership, which accours every week in nearly every city.
This is becoming a bit of a joke at this stage.
Either all Rovers fans are troublemakers, or it's a small minority.
If it's all Rovers fans, maybe they should be banned from away games.
If it is as they suggest and only a handful of trouble makers, then how on earth have they not been identified and banned from games?
Blaming the Gardai is a cop out, they didn't cause this trouble. It's ridiculous that any loi club needs any police presence at a game.
If we had more Gardai, we'd have the same people complaining that there are two many, the Gardai are to heavy handed and that they are inviting trouble.
To be fair, apart from the one bloke who seems to think the Pats fans are entirely to blame for coming on the pitch second (don't quite follow the logic), nobody's really denied that there's a scumbag element to the Rovers support that's manifested itself a few times in the past few months.
It's been there as long as I've been going to games (about 7 years) and was presumably there long before, but it has improved in recent years, and the demographic profile of the thug element has thankfully shifted from mainly grown men to teenagers, which I think has to be factored in. But what's really irritating is the holier-than-thou attitudes of some other clubs' fans, as if Rovers are the only club in Ireland to have brushes with hooliganism (and a very mild brush at it). Hell, we're a club based in working class Dublin - of course there are going to be undesirable types, just like there are at Pats, Bohs and Shels.
And of course the rest of us well behaved plebs are from Dundalk,Sligo,Cork,Galway Etc......Quote:
Hell, we're a club based in working class Dublin - of course there are going to be undesirable types, just like there are at Pats, Bohs and Shels.
Whoever is choosing the match day stewards needs to start choosing those that are willing to do a bit of work instead of doing it just to watch the game for free. Look at those 2 in the last pic on here, they are just strolling along looking at the pats fans. I know its not their fault for the trouble but if you had dedicated stewards then it would go a long way to stop the trouble spreading.
Do any of the Rovers or Pats fans on here know any of the clowns shown in the pics and if so are they requlars at home games? Hopefully the clubs will deal with those involved and stop them from bringing more shame onto the clubs in future. Ive found in general that Rovers and Pats fans are sound and are passionate about their teams.
What impressed me about Rovers fans was when they went on the pitch in Tolka after Dublin city beat them to send them to the first division and they went up to their players to console them. Of course there was over reaction afterwards with people saying they invaded the pitch to get at the bohs fans that was cheering for Dublin city and giving rovers fans abuse but they didnt, they just went on to console their players.
Its a pity that people call Rovers fans scum when in fact its only the hangers on that cause the trouble and the main body of fans are just passionate about their club and are sound. Bohs and shels are the same as well as a few other clubs, they all have decent supporters but get let down by a few hangers on who dont give a dam about their team.
All i say is, look back at the actions of a section of your own fans over the years before calling the fans of another team scum.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R7vjcw43wVQ
Before anymore Pats fans winge about Rovers fans invading the pitch, have a look at the pats fans in this from last year going onto the pitch to goad the rovers fans.
MON blaming everyone but Shams fans for their carry on last night, there's a surprise
Well done, you've found one incident of about 20/30 fans. Now, how many incidents can you find involving Shams fans? (to give you a head start, there are already 3 or 4 major incidents for this season alone)
Its not a case of who is the worst etc but the fact that some pats fans on here are quick to give out about rovers fans when their own fans have a history of doing the same. Did history repeat itself last night?
Why was so many bottles allowed in the ground and if they were plastic bottles then why wasnt the lids taken off them when sold or when searched coming into the ground. The stewards messed up big time last night.
haha roche this morning saying it was 25-30 that lad is off his head, like it was 10-20 in Dundalk.
when we shouting over to the rovers fans (grown men) asking are you looking at this, we got replies with "junkie *******s".
This is the fooking eejits ya have to deal with.
I'm not condoning the pats who were involved, but rovers need to get these scumbags out of there club, too many incidents in one season.
Post 223Quote:
Originally Posted by danthesaint
It takes two to tango.Quote:
The first "fan" on the pitch after the whistle was a white Pats hoodie showing more pace and speed than his team did all evening.