I haven't spoken about the ladies but Willie's Fillies are off to a great start, two wins from three and are looking good. Maria Harrington is with the Republic of Ireland U.16 squad at the moment.
Printable View
I haven't spoken about the ladies but Willie's Fillies are off to a great start, two wins from three and are looking good. Maria Harrington is with the Republic of Ireland U.16 squad at the moment.
The junior season kicks off for us on Sunday with the galacticos away to Snugboro and the B team away to Manulla B. The C team are chomping at the bit and they explode into action the following week away to Ballina United.
The kiddies will kick off on Saturday with the U.14 A team away to Ballina Town, the U.14 B team away to Ballinrobe Town and the U.14 C team away to Ballina Town B. Really looking forward to the action on the potential new ground openers in a few years.
Forget about Liverpool V M*******er Utd, forget about Celtic and Rangers, forget about Real Madrid and Barcelona, forget about AC Milan and Inter Milan, this is the world's greatest derby; Westport United V Castlebar Celtic and six derby games at that. With the galacticos, the game set for April 13th is off in Celtic Park but the return in the Sports Park will take place on July 5th. The B team will take on their B counterparts on the 8th June in Westport and will play again on the 6th September in Castlebar. The C team are home on the 7th June, while there will be a double header as the two sides compete again on the 6th September. Looking forward to clocking up 18 points on the board!!!:D:p:D
Whats the B team looking like lineup wise this year? Heard a few of them are gone up to make numbers in A team!
Not a good day in the office with a pretty stale display on the pitch. Okay, got two goals, an OG from Spiderman's shot and from Kipper and had chances but the third goal we conceded would appear on a football blooper DVD. We need to start enjoying our football again and we need to get back to basics. After the couple of bad results lately, the players really owe it to the Red and Black Army and I think that they will get their act together.
As some might be aware, Mark McNally has been given the opportunity to play for the first team this season. Do you think he can make a positive impact?
Fair play to the lad. He's a nice footballer who deserves the chance. It's not gonna be easy to break into that set-up and establish himself.
Some quality players already there, but competition is important within a squad as is rewarding guys who are working hard and showing some promise. Whither or not he can make an impact is as much down to himself as anything else, he has obviously shown he has enough to deserve a run, with a little luck and a lot of hard work he might make an impression. It's not impossible as Austin O'Malley proved a couple of seasons ago.
It also reflects well on the club, that they are willing to give oppertunities to guys doing well on the B team. If lads see there is a genuine oppertunity of earning a call up, they will be more motivated and work harder. This sort of policy will reward the club.
As the Theatre of Dreams is currently closed, the match againt Ballina Town will take place in the beautiful, scenic setting of Glenhest Rovers FC!!:D May the Red and Black Army invade the lakeside pitch for 6:00 on Saturday evening as we shall chalk up our first win!!:D:D
Where is everyone. Thunder where are you?
The B team have drawn one and lost two so far. JM is looking to blood players in for the future. Some positives can be taken from the S&F game on Saturday evening.
The C team lost their first game but a Johnny Walsh strike helped them to beat the Blue Bombers on Saturday.
B team have an ex-Watford academy player with them now, but the first team has a Spanish guy training at the moment, and with the reviews coming out at the minute, the talk is that he is El Matador!!!:D