was his 250th appeareance for everton at the weekend
Printable View
great interview with Coleman last week: ‘All I want is to bring a cup to this club’: Seamus Coleman talks Everton, Irish kickabouts and football’s wayward youth
Great to see Coleman back on the pitch. Offers Everton alot more going forward too.
Disappointed to see Coleman struggling for his place under the new manager. Time for a move ?
Yeah silva has gotten rid of many of the old guard, but fans had been getting on coleman's back anyway. General feeling seems to be he isn't himself since returning from injury, but these things take some time.
His stock has fallen a bit so not sure where he may end up if he did move. It's all speculation at the moment anyway.
He's lost form lads, it's as simple as that. Whether it's that he's overdone it trying to get back and this is the to-be-expected kickback, or that he's just off-pace, he's off-form and it can't be ignored.
Maybe I'm naïve but I put down him being in and out of lineup this time of year as squad rotation. I still think he's first choice.
Starting at home against Bournemouth today.
Vote for Coleman as Premier League Player of the Month for March here: https://plpotm.easports.com/
He's been excellent against Arsenal today. Good chance of winning Man of the match.
(I've probably jinxed him now.)
In case you missed it, Coleman headed home a rebound in a 2-0 Everton win vs Burnley yesterday while captaining the side. Reports of his career’s death have been greatly exaggerated.
20th goal in the Premier league for Coleman, one more than Stephen Ireland
And what a bleeding contrast.
Everton looking like signing France international right back Djibiril Sidibe on loan from Monaco.
If Ancelotti keeps firing in Coleman and sidibe like today that would be fantastic and an unexpected bonus
It was a strong first match for Coleman under Ancelotti. Kept the armband and played as a right sided centre back in a back three, with the freedom to attack whenever he liked (which he did frequently and to decent effect).
At around the 10 minute mark he executed a full blooded brilliant/crunching sliding tackle. Later in the match, he nearly scored with a long range left footed effort.
Italians like their experienced defenders. If every game was like this for Coleman and he maintains this form, that will suit us nicely for March.
At times he looked to be playing a defensive midfield role and was excellent. Definitely something to consider for Mick / Kenny.
Our very own Philip Lahm
It wasn't obvious to me tbh. Several here suggested Coleman as a right sided centre back in a back 3 over the last couple of years but I just don't see him as having the attributes needed, and have said so. Obviously I'd be very happy to be proven wrong.
Yer man O'Connell at Sheffield United seems to be setting a good example / template of the role though - at times he's like on overlapping full back he gets so far forward in wide positions, which is rare to see in a back 3 player. So, yeah, Coleman can definitely do that part. Will an Irish third centre-back ever be given license to attack at will? Will an Irish midfield ever afford us that luxury?
On a kind of related note McCarthy must have been smoking dope prior to Geneva when he picked Stevens as the left sided third centre back in the starting XI. If you're looking for a stick to beat Mick with it's this rather than not picking Coleman in a similar (right sided) role.
My main concern with the three centreback system is that you need time to drill it in. Not just for the back three, but also for the players further forward who will need to protect those defenders if they push forward.
As we're aware, Martin O'Neill tried to implement this system during the Nations League -- and it failed. It doesn't mean it's not an experiment worth looking at again, I just don't know when Mick would have a chance to fully get players to understand/buy in to that vision.
I do very much like the suggestion of trying Coleman at the defensive midfield position. That would also be an experiment of sorts but in my view less radical than overhauling our whole system. I'm open to any idea that allows us to play both Coleman and Doherty.
Dropped (or hopefully rested) today
Looking great tonight so far against Liverpool
Had a good first half and has had an imperious 10 minutes versus Mane. Hope he keeps it up.
Man of the match, in fact.
Great to see. He was excellent last night.
Great stuff looks like he needed a break from Football.
Egan and Stevens not so much.
Honestly, can’t remember anyone ever handling Sadio Mane so well...
Seamus has a solid game he is having the korean dude in his pocket. Best Everton player by a mile second best James R.
Very good game from Doherty as well, missed a golden chance to scored the bounced tricked him badly,... donkey richardlison is retreating next to him all the time.
I just love your one-eyed enthusiasm for Irish players, Javier.
If Argentina played Ireland who would you support?
Coleman has been excellent. Looked like he was really going to have his hands full with Son early on, but has been more than able for him and everything else.
[QUOTE=Bielsa´s irish;2048210]for Ireland , we already won the wc twice. In a friendly, a draw. we played the last time , 1-0 with a dimaria gol i think Cililan Sheridan had a good game up front and gave the defenders a torrid game. It was a Martin O'Neill team[/QUOTE
Good for you. I know you've good time for Sheridan.
The commentator on my feed described Coleman’s performance as “immaculate,” and I’d have to agree. Regardless of what’s in store internationally for him, I’m delighted he’s been able to come back and perform so well at club level. As I typed out here at half time, I’d have him in at right fullback for Slovakia.
His form has been impressive recently. He looked very good after the restart last term; fit and close to his best again.
I think it's important he start the Slovakia match.
We need as many leaders on the pitch as possible.
I'm inclined to agree. I wish Doherty had been tried on the right of the front three by Kenny during the two friendlies. I think he could offer a lot there.
Aside from the Gibraltar match where we were awful all over the park as we laboured to a 0-1 win, he's never really been given a proper chance to combine with Coleman on the right-hand side.Quote:
Originally Posted by Olé Olé;2048230
He played very high up the park for Wolves - often their most advanced player and sometimes being caught offside as a result. And he got his fair share of goals and assists
I see absolutely no reason why he couldn't play further forward for us. Especially when there's no outstanding candidate for the right wing position.
When Charlton had two very good leftbacks in Phelan and Staunton available, and Kevin Sheedy's career fell into decline, he chose to play both on the left flank. Why can't we do similar?
Sometimes you've got to cut your cloth a little bit and try and get your best players on the pitch. I'm not sure we're good enough to do otherwise.