Damien Richardson talks through his hole
Oh well...didn't disgrace themselves anyhow....really fancy Sligo, though...any tickets still available?
Printable View
Damien Richardson talks through his hole
Oh well...didn't disgrace themselves anyhow....really fancy Sligo, though...any tickets still available?
Yep, my mistake. More info here from 2010 but I think it hasn't changed
Hard luck to Rovers. Definitely didn't deserve to lose by three overall. Hopefully a soft draw for the Europa League play-off now :)
My reaction might have been coloured by immense disappointment in the aftermath of the goal. He does, however, have what you could only call a very unorthodox goalkeeping style, to be polite. :p
Ah well, very good performance from Rovers over the two ties. Certainly no shame in defeat and the scoreline would give the impression there might have been more of a gulf between the sides than there was in reality. Copenhagen and teams at that level are just that bit more clinical in both touch and mind. It's only natural they'll get the "rub of the green" and pluck goals out of casual half chances whilst the likes of Rovers are bursting their lungs and having to make do with desperately clipping cross-bars and such.
It's disappointing to see Shamrock Rovers lose but sure they faced a step up in class. In this the third year of the champions path they have set a mini benchmark for champions from our league to match. There will be seasons with set-backs but all going well more often than not going forward, champions from the League of Ireland will at least make this third qualifying round. Rovers were right to keep their shape for the 90, with the Europa League play-offs to come, this experience will stand to them. When TNS of Wales bowed out at this stage last year they drew CSKA Sofia in the Europa League group stages. If Shamrock Rovers draw a team like that, I think they can give them a good game but there are other possible tougher ties.
Yeah, Thompson doesn't completely fill me with confidence, especially from corners.
Agree with the rest as well. Copenhagen do have weaknesses, and I don't think they'll make the last 16 this year. But they do certain things very well and just had a bit too much about them.
Brady just said another thing i mentioned on here before, that he reckoned n'doye was class but you can only ssee so much against the likes of rovers. Again if rovers or any other LOI side were playing in Group stages then their players could be assessed and judged more fairly. Its still a gamble/risk buying irish players and hence the crap transfer fees. This is another thing that would benefit the league as a whole, as fees would increase.
Why was Brady doing analysis on the game? The greedy ******.
He probably has a contract to do Champions' League games with RTÉ so got the call.
Thompson is a good keeper.. a bit flappy, but a superb stopper... and you could hardly blame him for the second considering he had to untangle himself from the net before he got back up
Shams capitulated after the first goal, FCK just went through the motions after that, but Shams were still knackered at the 90. The concentration and fitness demands of two leg European ties may be too big an ask of the LOI.
First of all, gutted.
Second, huge performance again after last week and proud to see the team outplaying superior opposition for long periods. Like the panelists said, the level of fitness and killer instinct that comes with playing at a higher level guided the Danes through. The two games have been really heavy in terms of injury with Oman and (hopefully not) Sullivan injured. I think Sullivan's been our most consistent player this season so he'll arguably be the bigger loss.
Third, provided the lads can regroup themselves quickly, we can look forward to the Europa playoff with confidence. The past week has proven Shamrock Rovers can compete at this level, which even I wasn't sure of at the beginning of the season.
The real difference over the two legs was in the final third taking chances. Rovers had what, at least 6 clear chances over the two legs and failed to score one? That's why great goal scorers cost so much I suppose. I think you could actually hear 5,000 odd hearts break when the first Copenhagen goal went in, it was almost impossible for everyone to lift it again after that, to be honest I was impressed that the players recovered as well as they did. Hopefully the Europa draw will be kind and Sligo will be there too alongside Pat's who pull off a minor miracle.
Sligo should learn from Shamrock Rovers. Sligo failed to take their chances last week, if they fail to take their chances on Thursday they could be paying the price for it.
Rovers if they get a good draw on Friday have a good chance of getting into the Europa league group stages.
If Turners header went in then we could have seen a totally different game, but Rovers had the chances over both legs to score but did'nt take them.
No shame in going out to a side like Copenhagen, who you would think given the right draw have every chance of getting to the Champions league group stages.
dont forget Rovers are not a goal down going in like shams were, and poltova failed to take there chances too. Perhaps you mean they should learn from shams mistakes.lets be positive although they are way underdogs they are in a much better position than shams were. cmon the B'O'R
Thought Rovers very unlucky first half, certainly didnt deserve to go in at HT 0-1 down. Stevens was class, gave them brilliant options on the left, maybe O'neill should have gone 4-4-2 when rovers were getting on top mid way through the first half. Sloppy first goal to give away, just ended the whole contest. Pity really
3-0 agg is probably a fair reflection if a little harsh. No room for what ifs, with a bit of luck Rovers have more of that competition to come. Rovers had their chances and didn't take them. Glad they didn't add to the total in the end which they could've done.
Ndoye is some player, a tank like Amauri last year for Juve but with skill and arrogance too. The Champions League this season is a silly competition anyways, the Europa League is where the cool kids are :cool2:
Are Shamrock Rovers seeded for Fridays draw?
Is anyone seeded in the fourth round draw? I thought anyone can play anyone in the playoffs but maybe I dreamt it
It's a UEFA draw, it is seeded. And we can't play anyone from the LOI.Quote:
Originally Posted by Acornvilla
Damn reality corrupting my dreamt up theories
Was disappointed with MON's attitude last night which sums up his managerial style overall. He does the basics right but he is not the man to bring Rovers to the next level. It will be interesting to see what will happen if Rovers fall at the first hurdle in the EL and if he'll still be around come Autumn. As Mick McCarthy said, those were his players, his tactics and they never looked like coming off. Sure the Turner chance (s) in the first half gave a lift, but the coaching left alot to be desired. (I'm saying this as someone who personally has time for MON and also for his strength in getting a team to be competitive).
Insightful stuff
Would've been interesting if Turner's header had've gone on, but Rovers can be added to the great list of LOI "what ifs" in Europe. Looking at the seeds, thre aren't too many winnable ties. Fair few cash cows though.
If you want to know the value of being seeded, Rovers are prime example. Having scored only one goal so far, they're in the EL play offs. That goal against an Estonian side (and every Estonian side lost first time out this year).
Sligo have a genuine chance on Thursday. Pats don't really
Disappointing second half really after a very good first half. Looked like Rovers were more focussed on the Bohs game on Friday for most of the second period, particularly when taking off Finn and Twigg. Copenhagen fairly cruised through the last 45. Didn't see the first leg - so can only comment on the 2-0 game rather than the 3-0 tie - but can't agree with those who reckon the result didn't reflect the game.
The 42 week contracts that LOI players are contracted to, when do they end? IS it the last day of the season?
An incentive which wouldn't financially bankrupt a club, but could potentially guarantee "better" player recruitment/keep those at home longer would be a bonus type system if they were to ever reach the group stages of any competition. For every win again they get a certain amount more....Its not something that really matters now but in a couple of years and with a bit of luck its something I'm sure will need to be thought about.
Think with most clubs, the contracts are up the day after the last game of the season unless there's an FAI Cup Final. Last year, we had to extend our players contracts to Nov 15th to cater for the final.
Assume if a club was to qualify for group stages of a Euro comp then players would have to be paid throughout Winter. Good craic that'd be!
I know the Rovers players already have performance related bonuses in their contracts, including for the European games. There would be an obvious issue for Rovers with the need to immediately extend the 42 week contacts and the opinion seems to be that they would have to go full time, or at least offer 52 week contracts in future should they make the group stages. The financial rewards of making the group stages once would probably make it feasible to run full time for 2-3 years without even making the groups again, assuming it's done in a sensible manner (which I know is a huge assumption give LOI history).
It's hard to believe Pat's didn't have some sort of agreement with the players about Euro bonuses before the start of the season. I'd imagine a lot of the issue is due to the fact that all of the games have been so far away meaning far more time off from work than would have been normally anticipated.
Think thats a little harsh to be fair. Thought shams did well in the first half and could (maybe should ?) have scored first, resulting in a very different game. Once Copenhagen scored the game as a contest was over and they ran out very comfortable winners. Personally thought that the tie swung on first goal last night and that shams played well against very decent opposition until the tie was well beyond them
But the thing is, those 42 week contracts would cover the LOI season. They wouldn't need to be changed/extended, I'd need to see the proper financials and the breakdown of games, but changing to full time could just see rovers go the way of previous clubs who tried to work this way. If its completely bonus related after the 42 week contracts, then the club is completely covered for the eventuality of not getting into the Group stages or missing out on Europe. The players are covered and incentivised to do better. Thats the point I'm trying make.
A completely other far-fetched scenario would be if they were to ever make knock out stages of Europa(either throw finishing 3rd in CL or just getting 2nd in Europa league)....but thats for another year(day).
You'd have to seriously have it in for MON if you tried to blame him for anything last night. We gave it as good a shot as we could, with a lot of thanks to his tactics/formation and for as long as the tie was alive (half time yesterday) we made things difficult for FCK. Turner's header goes in and you never know, thats about all you can ask for when you're up against one of Europe's top teams. Next year you just have to hope you get lucky and that ball bounces in for a change, or even better we don't get the hardest possible team in the draw for a third year running.
You got Tallinn and the Israelis, don't get greedy :)