Talk about foolish optimism
Printable View
Talk about foolish optimism
Its not optimism, its so when when pats are beat some fans of other clubs can say "That was abad result, they should've done better"
Anyone who thinks a LOI side is anywhere near a Bundesliga team needs their head examined. Upsets can happen, and I won't stop dreaming about it, but lazy bold predictions help nobody
I was just watching Football Focus there and they were looking at the UEFA Cup draw. Mark Lawrenson made sure to get a special mention in for St. Pats. He was really talking them up and said they did brilliantly to get that far.
So their efforts are getting some notice abroad which is good to see.
If Pats do go through to the group stages how would that effect their seedings for next years UEFA qualifiers and first round?
There's 2 points for a win now that we're into the 1st Round proper. So catching Lithuania is not impossible.
However, even a draw in one of the games would be more than Pats can hope for at this stage I think.
Why???
5+ years ago were we foolish to hope any eL team could progress past their 1st round? - now we get that each year (& regularly get past their second round too)
Dodge - I wont be slagging off Pat's result whatever way it goes - they have been brilliant so far & I'm still hoarse from cheering them Thursday. (but you are right - there are begrudgers who would find some reason to slag off our domestic teams even if they were to win the CL!)
All i'm saying is that this is all part of an upward curve for the league & someday SOON we WILL have a team in the group stages :ball:
Its not worked on how far you get, but on the wins & draws you get - so progressing with 2 wins gets more points than progressing with 2 draws & away goals.
But, from this round the ranking points available are higher than in the preliminary rounds - so a draw for Pats against Hertha would be worth as much as the win against Elfsborg. Also, these (higher) points are added to the country coefficiant but ALSO added to the Team's individual ranking (not easy to explain but the details are all here: http://www.xs4all.nl/~kassiesa/bert/uefa/calc.html )
This means that ANY draw or win from here on for Pats will almost guarantee them being seeded for their first game next year.
Was thinking exactly that after the game. Would have loved the public at large to see that performance. This was no smash and grab result. Pats comprehensively outplayed them for the majority of the game and the result was fully merited. I'd love to have seen Roddy Collins trying to downgrade that display. Now RTE will probably show the Hertha Berlin game and we'll probably get beaten(Don't get me wrong, I think we'll give a good account of ourselves, but I'm not expecting to go through) and they'll wheel Roddy out again to tell us all that Irish teams haven't progressed, he did it all with Bohs years ago, etc,etc, etc.
Oh yeah. ;):D
I reckon Hertha will win by 2/3 goals on aggregate but hopefully Pats can get at least a draw in one of the ties. I'd love to be proved wrong and see them go through.
I would too but the difference in the Bundesliga and our Premier division is huge. There are english championship sides that would struggle against a team like Hertha. Pats need to have the game of their lives out there and hope lady luck is on their side. I'm all for optimism and positive thinking but don't get carried away lads.
all i hope is that we somehow keep the tie alive for the 2nd leg.
Nobody's saying a LOI team is near a Bundesliga team, but we remember when Cork, (and indeed Rovers) had tight games with Bayern Munich over the years in Europe, and Hertha are not Bayern Munich quality. They're still favourites, but I wouldn't rule out a shock.Quote:
Originally Posted by Dodge
Great night in Richmond Park. One of the best atmospheres I've experienced. Fair play to Pats, they never gave up and dug deep. Pity the Hertha game is not in Inchicore. Hopefully the RDS will be full. Nice lift for the league at during such a tumultuous period.