He was sick and asked not to play but due to some players not turning up and other injuries he had to start.
Printable View
He was sick and asked not to play but due to some players not turning up and other injuries he had to start.
Just picked up from Clareleague.com the player you think was illegal. His name is Adrian Whyte (Nick name Tom). Not illegal by the way, sorry for confusing you Hacker!! We'll include all nicknames on the match card in future.
nice one ... waiting on hacker apology now on both sitesQuote:
Originally Posted by Prem Rep!
hacker don't gloat so much after your good victorys .. after all you won
match no need to even mention so call illegal player
... it is a long hard season & teams u have a go at will be waiting for chance to meet ye again...
even so congrats on another good win... but it counts for nothing unless ye get promoted .. :cool: :cool:
Dont worry old boy, Olympic always go on a bit this time of the year. But wait until it comes to the business side of the year, and they will probably barley miss out on promotion and will have a list of excuses when all the rest of us know the real reason they lack heart.
wheres all the lifford people today?
i presume your from newtown so try beat newmarket..and then you'll see who's got heart..[/QUOTE]
yada,yada yada heard it all before. Win one game against a decent side & now your suddenly a top side, full of heart, unbeatable, in fact favourites to win the MJC outright!! Give us a break...a bridge man just admitted their team was on the **** the night before. If its Newmarket or Newtown it would be a huge result
for Olympic, nearly as big as the promotion play off that ye bottled..peace!!!:p
licking their wounds I'd say,game any good?Quote:
Originally Posted by townie
I can only presume it is because of his size, reference to Tom Thumb I'd expect. Our most noticeable absentee's would have been Noel Collins, Shane Devanney, Shane Murphy, Alan McAuley, Paul Touhy, John Fahy. We still had a strong 11 out but unfortunately many of those were worst for wear from the night before. It certainly didn't go dowm well and I'd expect and hope the Bridge will bounce back from this with a good league run.Quote:
Originally Posted by hacker
Papa-J, Im not sure we said anything about winning the MJC. Our priority is trying to get promoted (again). Once we do, then we can start the banter. And as for SixMileBridge being out on the p*ss, thats a desperate poor excuse, shur isnt every junior player in the country the same.
Not the sides who end up with the silverware. I wouldn't say that it happens for the majority of players in the Premier league. This was a once off from our lads and management knew this in advance but couldn't get the game off. There are a lot of the Bridge guys feeling pretty guilty about it and thats why I expect them to bounce back and to be well up for next game. Again Open goal we are not using this as an excuse. Ye deserved the win.Quote:
Originally Posted by OpenGoal
not great. there was better football played in tage v avenue game week before by both teams. you could see both teams were cagey. lifford only looked dangerous from set pieces, although they had 1 r 2 chances in the first half. avenue didn't play great. lifford stopped them to some degree but even when they had time etc there pass or final ball wasn't great. the goal was quality though. monies turn on a sixpence o'meara's touch bang keeper didn't move. even though avenue didn't play great a wins a win. it was nice to win 2 town games on the trot.Quote:
Originally Posted by papa-j
fair enough. best of luck.Quote:
Originally Posted by Prem Rep!
only a bit of banter in response to hackers slightly gloating post. It was a good result for ye in fairness, but can you make it two premier scalps....now that would be SPECIAL!!!:pQuote:
special??? i dont think we are too bothered about the MJC to be honest.
Thats a great attitude to have!:confused:
watched the Clare oscar traynor team in a friendly last night. They won, but not a great performance. The only outstanding player on the pitch was Davy Wall from Newtown. They will win nothing this year with performances like that.
What was the team Open Goal??
I dont know them all but i'll make a guess
1st half:
1. Bridge celtic keeper
2. Pa Fahy(rinnenna)
4. Paul O'Connor (olympic)
6. davy Wall (Newtown)
7. O'malley(Newmarket)
8. J. Ryan( Olympic)
9. Trevor twoomey(bunratty)
10. Ger O'Connell(Bridge Cel)
2nd half
2. maxwell(sixmilebridge)
3. paul Dinan (lifford)
4. Brian O'Connor(olympic)
5. daniel (bridge cel)
6. davy Wall(newtown)
7 O'Malley(newmarket)
8. Canny(kilkishen)
9 black haired lad(corofin)
10. Carmody(inch ithink)
Feel free to correct me anyone, i think they are correct.
yeah good match... avenue were better team on the day and deserved there victory... hope they go all the way in munster this year ... they definetley have the players to do it.... must say that game was played very sportingly (except for one incident 2nd half) both sides tried to play but pitch was heavy and suprisingly bumpy... hats off to them though!!:ball:Quote:
Originally Posted by papa-j
suprisinly bumby.??????????????????????????????????????????Quote:
Originally Posted by plasticpitch
when the game was over there was a groundsman (i presume) out cutting the grass????? the pitch was cut up from match that was on at 11. was divots replaced before lifford match??????????????????? rolled etc. actually were they replaced or any ground repair after lifford match??? how many games has been played on this pitch since last season?????????
dont be surprised. imagine if it was used every week.
ps what 2nd half incident) thought there was a few late tackles (from both sides) that were let go but didn't see anything major
b rochford started first match and padraig started second halfQuote:
#Quote:
Originally Posted by Clifford
dont know if you agree or disagree clifford with bumpy pitch... and i' not trying to make excuses if you think i am...
incident im refferring to is when ave player got hurt lifford goalie kicked ball out and then after throw in ave player kicked it out deep in lifford half... that was un sporting.... agree/disagree??
Bridge Celtic Keeper is Adrian DhuaigQuote:
Daniel Aherne is Bridge Celtic player in midfield.
i know your not using it as an excuse and i agree with state of pitch. shocking condition for so little games on it. there was a guy cutting it after the game honest. no repairs done etc i am not a landscaper but surely you cut the grass before a game and repair it after??????????Quote:
Originally Posted by plasticpitch
i saw that and asked what the story was, was actually not impressed myself, until told why they did it.
the reason for that happening was lifford did it to avenue in the first half. (i missed that incident, but some of the players were annoyed by it but will investigate further, r did u see it plasticpitch)
avenue had a throw back just before half time and he gave it back to the keeper and the thrower was giving out to for not throwing it over the endline or out for another throw.
so when your keeper kicked it out instead of throwing it back into the corner avenue player kicked it out for a throw?
congrtas to colm ryan olympic A for their strong start but i think they have a lot more in the locker than they are currently showing. lets hope they will be promoted to he premier this year and not fall away like they always seem to do. no excuses this time lads you have a talented squad there and shud get out of the devision.
anyway best of luck for the season
good to see davy wall back playing in clare. easily the best player in the county. newtown should vastly improve after a morale boosting win over st. brendans in terrible conditions. if davy had been there im sure newtown would have been there or there abouts this season as they have a talented young squad and shud now kick on to finish mid-table again
Kick on to finish mid table i can see them all now busting a gut down training..........Quote:
Originally Posted by el_nino84
rochford is the only avenue player on squad !! were are the restQuote:
or is a case of everybody else trying their best in training & friendlys
and then hughie kelly picks 4-5 avenue lads for competive match
nothing personal here but i still think only players in preimer
league should be picked for oscar traynor ... anybody else agree
I completely disagree. The oscar traynor squad should be a collection of the BEST players in the entire league, whatever the division. some of the lower teams in the premier are weaker than the top of the first so i dont understand your comments.
I share your bewliderment at the lack of Avenue(& Lifford) players on the squad. Arent they the top two in the premier???
WOULD DISAGREE WITH YOU ON BEST PLAYERS IN ENTIRE LEAGUEQuote:
IF PLAYERS ARE SO GOOD IN LOWER LEAGUES WHY ARE THEY STILL THERE.. ALSO A GOOD PLAYER IN 1ST / 2ND LEAGUE MAY NOT BE SUCH A GOOD PLAYER WHEN HE COMES UP AGAINST BETTER PLAYERS WHO ARE PLAYING AT A HIGHER LEVEL .... I STILL THINK
THAT YOU SHOULD BE ABLE TO PICK 20 PLAYERS OUT OF THE PREIMER LEAGUE NO PROBLEM ... I COULD NEARLY PICK 20 FROM AVENUE/ LIFFORD / NEWTOWN / NEWMARKET / BRIDGE UTD ALONE .... AS FOR AVENUE / LIFFORD
LETS SEE HOW MANY MAKE STARTING 11 ON FIRST OSCAR TRAYNOR MATCH WITHOUT EVEN HAVING TO ATTEND TRAINING SESSIONS !!:eek: :eek:
I have to agree with the Robust open goal here, of course the Clare team should be picked from the best players in the county regardless of what division they are in. Your theory is nonsense, actually its insulting.
"you are only as strong as your weakest link"
The reason teams are in a lower division is because they do not have quality throughout their sides. The top players at most clubs are quality(whatever division), and in the top clubs that quality permeates throughout the squad. This does not mean that ALL premier division players are neccessarliy better than ALL first(or lower) division players. I think you are overestimating the gap in quality between the divisions old boy. In practice, most county players would probably come from the premier, but to say that they should ONLY be from the premier is a bit stupid.
Case in point, that guy Carmody scored a nice goal the other night (I think) and he's playing for Inch Crusaders in the 3rd Division. Some people want to play football for their home town or with their mates. It doesn't make them any less of a player.
i think there is three avenue players. eamonn o 'reilly, brendan rochford and padraig vaughan on the oscar panel. thats all that was asked as far as i am aware. i know there is 4 or 5 more good enough to get on that panel from avenue A team. there is also 2 or 3 from avenue B team that i think would make panel if not the team. (cossie, ritchie fitz and horse davitt {if he was bit fitter})Quote:
Originally Posted by leftie
also this thing about team been picked from premier is a load of ********. if you r good enough it shouldn't matter who you play for. you can have a crap team but one player might be quality. should he not be given a chance?
is that avenue players fault if that happens. that would be up to hugh, but if you don't train u shouldn't be played, no matter who it is. he has picked 3 avenue players and all were preasent on night in question. they had just done 2 hours training with avenue in lees road and then stayed on for oscar match.Quote:
Originally Posted by old boy
Suprising that Monnie wasnt picked. Are both Devitts playing for Avenue now i thought it was only Deccie.
Are they the devitt brothers from newmarket?
so you are honestly telling me some of the lower division playersQuote:
picked are better than the preimer players who were not picked
going on ure reply above avenue should have at least 8 on panel..
i will agree that there is some good players out there in lower leagues.... but still cannot understand how some preimer players are not even considerd for oscar traynor :eek: :eek:
so you would agree that nobody in preimer leagueQuote:
Originally Posted by loose cannon
is a better player than carmody of inch crusaders in 3rd division
p.s. this is not a dig a carmody either ... just trying to get a point across ..:eek: :eek:
there is a few i know that won't play. (past and present) bit like wales saga.Quote:
Originally Posted by tommy
in fairness to hugh he cant make them give commitment all he can do is ask. i'd prefer to see someone playing that is 100% committed to the cause.
(breaking news lads keane has left man utd mutual consent)