The manager is First Class - in the sense that a child from first class would do a better job.
Printable View
whoever voted no in that poll needs to have a serious look at themselves.
coward
Delaney's on Today FM sometime after the news, along with Bobby Robson. Should be interesting.
Delaney is a fcuking clown
"The positives of last nights game is that we secured another three points and moved up to 3rd in EURO 2008 Group D table but i can understand the frustration of the fans. Stephen Staunton and his management team have a job to do through to the World Cup Qualifying campaign in 2010 and have got the full support of the association as they do so. We now have to focus on the two important home games against Wales and Slovakia next month and I hope that everyone will get behind Stephen and the squad for these matches."
What planet does he live on ?
Small point, but on drivetime last night JD blamed the banner on Dundalk fans, like it was a little local issue and not related to his overall vanity and incompetence - just to set the record straight, it originated in Phibsboro' and a man with a fair track record of getting rid of incompetent managers was involved..
The NBB in the corner of the banner should be a clue
Its a sad state of affairs that you can only exercise your right to free speech by displaying such banners outside Ireland.
A similar banner from was pulled down within 10 seconds of being put up by FAI heavies in Lansdowne at the San Marino home game, which was the latest in a long line of attempts to suppress and intimidate fans.
hats off to the bohs fans - that banner undid a few hundred thousand euro worth of PR damage limitation by The Laney and his henchmen
a bed sheet and a lick o' black paint is mightier than the PR guru
picked up by both broadsheets
Pats are the undisputed kings of irish football banners and even we doff our collective caps to such a direct hit on the forces of darkness
I agree with almost all of this (except about Kerr going - he was and is a fine manager). I think the Shels debacle and the loss of Dublin City is a symptom of the way the league has been badly run for too long. The new structure has potential but there will be problems putting in place. The developments in the eL IMO are the most positive ones in a long long time. Some clubs will not be able for it (as mine wasn't) but the league is stronger for taking these hard pills now. Stan should definitely go - Delaney is suffering IMO not from appointing him (which is a an FAI decision) but from denying that there is an ongoing problem. He was not behind the door in showing Kerr had lost his support - the same should be the case for Stan.
I’d like to refresh people’s memories on brian kerr. Kerr is without doubt a consummate pro, however his over the top methods regarding training (videos and player comparisons in particular did not go down well with the squad) and his ultra conservatism in refusing to blood new players resulted in vital matches being lost as well as public confidence.
I know that this was my main concern with kerr (giving aidan mcgeady 1 minute at the end of friendlies and playing first choice teams for friendlies) and I do feel that to get a full campaign is a fair crack at the whip. He made a fatal error at home to Israel which effectively cost us a play off spot.
San Marino was an appaling performance but our performances against Switzerland away 0-2 in a game we had to win, in my mind, was equally appaling, given that he sent a team out that HAD to win, to play a brand of conservative and holding football where we didn’t create a single decent chance in 90 minutes. It happened again against Israel and again against the swiss in landsdowne for the 0-0.
We had to win that game to get a qualification spot. Again the performance was abysmal. Some people have short memories. Kerr was terrific with the media and a gent, and his statistical knowledge cannot be questioned, however he too failed to get the most out of the players and I for one had seen enough but wished him well.
If he is such a great manager though why has he not found another job? Maybe he’s not looking?
Not very artistic but I done it on MS Paint
http://img266.imageshack.us/img266/7414/sky0fo7.jpg
You left out the ubiquitous Leprechaun costumes.
The wearing of which, if I were in charge of the country, would lead to an automatic and permanent surrendering of the offenders passport and a life of penal servitude in an Irish gulag (such as Leitrim), all the while dressed in said offending garment.
Send an email to delaney with all the quotes from this tread maybe then he will get the message
Who is above Delaney in the FAI?
At Celtic the Chief Exec is Peter Lawwell. The manager is Gordon Strachan. They're in daily contact and are probably good mates by now. There's no way Lawwell has a say in who's appointed. Delaney would be friends with Robson and Stan now. They probably chatted on the flight home. There's no way Delaney will sack Stan.
Surely a Chief Executive shouldn't have the power that Delaney does? Who has the power to sack him?
Boo-hoo. Maybe if the players (and Stan) had been forced to sit down and watch San Marino vs. Germany, instead of heading out for a few scoops with Mick Byrne or jacking off in their hotel room, it might have given them a few ideas about how to play them.
Your other point about conservatism and not blooding players (especially players based here) is a valid one but you have to look at the bigger picture of Kerr's (lack of) job security. He had to work with a Chief Executive who clearly did not want him in the job and was looking for any excuse to undermine him. From Day One he had been marked by some as an inexperienced :rolleyes: coach who had only worked with kids and gombeen paddies in the Irish League of Domestic.
There were also commercial pressures on Kerr to put out his strongest available team in friendlies, particularly the number of high-profile ones we had during his time in charge. Abandoning this policy and putting a joke manager in charge at a time when we have a 75,000-seater stadium to fill only underlines the incompetence of Delaney's decision.
My attempt in Photoshop.....
http://img244.imageshack.us/img244/2...icalalivu7.jpg
[QUOTE=Jerry The Saint;620648]
Your other point about conservatism and not blooding players (especially players based here) is a valid one but you have to look at the bigger picture of Kerr's (lack of) job security. He had to work with a Chief Executive who clearly did not want him in the job and was looking for any excuse to undermine him. From Day One he had been marked by some as an inexperienced :rolleyes: coach who had only worked with kids and gombeen paddies in the Irish League of Domestic.
QUOTE]
bringing back mick byrne was laughable alright but as regards kerr, he wasnt exactly experienced at the highest level now either was he. Theres nothing wrong with feeling very disappointed after Kerr’s campaign-a lot of people were of the opinion that he had been given enough time (a campaign and a half) and it clearly wasn’t working at the end of it.
The point is that the FAI should have brought someone decent in and not the hapless Staunton. If kerr had remained in charge we would have beaten san marino easily the other night but big deal-kerr would still have sent out teams to play negative football in ALL the away games except san marino in a group where we have to take risks away from home to have any hope of finishing second.
And lets not forget that had it not been for shay given we would have only drawn 1-1 in Cyprus that time in a game we did NOT deserve to win.
Not renewing kerr’s contract was the right thing to do-appointing stan was insanity.
The FAI´s constitution is not on their website.
The 10 person board of the FAI elected to hire JD as CEO and decided to extend his contract by umpteen years. Presumably the 10 man board have the right to terminate JD's contract in compliance with the terms of the contract.
This is where the Delaney spin seems to have worked with a lot of people. Despite all the grand talk about world-class, Alex Ferguson, Martin O'Neill, Guus Hiddink, etc. it came down to Staunton as a better option (according to Delaney/FAI) than retaining Kerr.
I can see 3 trains of thought that would lead to this conclusion:
1. Delaney thought he could attract an internationally-renowned manager of the calibre named above to take the job at the money they were willing to pay.
2. Delaney actually believed at the time that Staunton was exactly that type of manager.
3. Delaney wanted rid of Kerr at all costs and would replace him with the worst manager in the world if necessary. :)
None of these scenarios reflect well on the man in charge. :eek:
The other realistic candidates to replace Kerr turned out to be the 3 guys on the TV3 studio panel the other night. Frankly, I'd be more confident giving the job to Trevor Welch (was going to say Oso but he has already proved himself a more successful coach than Stan ;) )
im not trying to defend delaney in any way-im simply making an opinion from a fan's (my) point of view. i was very unhappy with the way kerr was making our teams play in vital games and i'll repeat that those 3 performances against the swiss and cyprus were equally as bad considering what was at stake as what we have seen from staunton so far.
you are obviously of the opinion that kerr should have either been allowed to stay on (which i would disagree strongly with) or that having let him go, a decent manager should have been lined up way sooner-and of course the vast majority of fans would agree with that.
Kerr's negativity cost us games and he scraped very fortunate wins from games with albania and georgia and a dire 0-0 with albania away. so in that context you could argue that stan should be given at least one campaign but its his unbelievable ineptitude and word slurring with the media that induces such a cringe factor amongst fans.
I actually was more mad with the players on wednesday night until the fool "talked" to the media afterwards. the rest is history.
seriously though there wasnt much to cheer about from kerrs time in charge...a 0-0 against france in paris would definitely be the highlight
In todays edition of the soaraway red top Delaney is given carte blanche to spin his way out of present predicament, I wonder what price must be paid down the line in order to get this guff printed.
I posted this on the New Manager thread but has it every been indicated that at the time Delaney said he had a world-class manager lined up that he was actually talking about someone other than Staunton? Then a deal with this person never materalised after the said person realised that it would be a bad move. In the now infamous statement i think Delaney gave a specific time-frame, so to save face he rushed Staunton into the job? I mean he couldn't have seriously mentioned world-class in relation to Stan?:eek:
No. 3 gets my vote. If you read Brendan Mentons book you will see that Delaney was trying to get at Kerr even back when he was the youth manager. The players turned against Kerr mid way through the last campaign as far as I can see, that's why it limped to the conclusion it did. His greatest sin seems to be that he tried to get them to prepare for games properly and he took cuddly uncle Mick Byrne away from them(what a difference it's made having him bac btw:p )Whatever peoples opinions on Kerr are the fact is that John Delaney thought Steve (Sorry, STEPHEN,) Staunton was a better man to manage the Irish football team. Any other takers for this choice ?
I hope Wales and Slovakia come to Croker and pish all over John Delaneys Ireland team. He's welcome to it.
I haven't read this thread fully so I apologise if I'm going over old ground but keeping in mind Delaney's super duper extraordinary long contract do we have any hope in the slightest of seeing the back of him? One hell of a golden handshake would be required to get rid of him. Could the man ever voluntarily relinquish his position? It's amazing that even with the Minister for Sport's semi-interference against Delaney's appointment has still resulted in him being made Dictator Perpetuus. He's Julius Caesar without the charm, leadership, skill, vision and success.:o
This man is a cancer on Irish football. he has presided over the two biggest **** ups in irish football for years, the licensing fiasco and appointing Staunton. The man has no balls blaming the flags on Maxi against San Marino. Had he had to shell out several hundred euros to be there instead of on another FAI funded junket then maybe he might understand why people are frustrated by this farce. Games in this group have cost me in the region of €2000 already and I for one am not gonna stand by and let this bullsh!t continue. keep the banners coming at Croker
ehh... In fairness, there was an open letter in the issue the previous day in which Delaney was slated, it wouldn't have been right not to allow him to respond. Delaney's pathetic bull****ting response only served to reinforce the points made in Neil's open letter.
For those of you who haven't read either:
Quote:
Originally Posted by "Neil O'Riordan
& Delaney's Response:
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Delaney
for gods sake man just go!