Great first half hour for him in the Old Firm,goal and looking very lively….
Printable View
Great first half hour for him in the Old Firm,goal and looking very lively….
Yeah he really needs to be called up
Took his goal nicely. Hopefully he keeps going now. Confidence is such a huge factor for strikers in particular and he should bang in a few more if he can ride this wave.
Taken off at half-time with Celtic 3-0 down away to Midtjylland in the Europa League; seems to have been fairly ineffectual, although the same could be said for most of the team. May well still get called up if Ferguson doesn't make it (and he's not in Roma's squad tonight), but I think the SPL seems particularly bad this season, so I don't know how much an option he is for us even if he is getting a couple of starts for Celtic.
The SPL is absolutely terrible these days, the closing of the gap between the two Glasgow teams and the rest isn't because the rest have gotten any better. You only have to look at the Irish players that are performing in the division - Scales, Kenny, O'Hora, McGrath, Ferry, Phillips, McEntee, Molloy etc. Most of them would be down in League 1 and League 2 if they were playing in England - Scales would be the only one that would potentially hold down a starting place with a Championship team.
My recollection is that he wasn't even getting his game with them when they were in League 1.
Yep. No idea what happened there, but started one league game early on, then got one minute over the rest of the season, and was mostly not even in the squad. There's "not doing it" and there's that.
Given the injury situation, I probably would have had McGrath in the squad. A hard worker with a degree of guile and good set-piece ability.
Kenny should be in, but we rarely select players based on form.
Scores again today, against Kilmarnock.
With Ferguson not in the Roma squad, you'd imagine Kenny will be added in the next day or two
The fact that McGrath has never disgraced himself in a green jersey tells me he’s more than good enough for League 1 or Championship.
The manager probably just didn’t fancy him or had another player in his position he preferred.
Or it wasn’t the manager’s decision to bring him on.
It's getting lost in the pure ecstasy but Kenny did well in his debut I thought. He was a muscle fiber away from scoring and his movement was excellent. Houghton commented that he shouldn't have been moving so much but I'm guessing that was what he was instructed to do. Fresh legs to do the running so Parrot didn't have to do it all. He kept them busy and played his part. Defensively too, he was back clearing the ball at one point.
Thought the same. He was unlucky not to score with that effort, I thought. Toss of a coin whether it rolls on into the net after goalie's intervention.
Good job he didn't. The last 10 mins including added time would have been torture!
Could Kenny perform the crucial 'Ogbene role' as a starter if the latter were unavailable for these upcoming games? Seems essential to the way we play with the current system.
He's plenty quick, a hard worker, and seems to know where the back of the net is.
Absolutely he can - he's shown that he's a live option.
I couldn't believe it when I heard that - thought it was a stupid, lazy comment from Ray. In context - why did Troy Parrott get so much space for the equaliser? 1. Idah goes deep and retreats which put Szalai (the big knuckle-dragger looking cb) into confusion mode; and 2, because of our movement up to that point, they don't have that certainty across their back 5 (at that stage). The movement in the last 30 minutes is what gets us the chances - we completely befuddled them.
Yeah I agree. We had them run ragged and they lost their shape because of it.
Also think Kenny is an option to replace Ogbene. They are very different but Kenny can run with the ball. He's obviously not as physical but he can turn a defender with his back to goal and run channels. He showed that for Rovers many times. Delighted for him. Goes to show what a manager who believes in you (even if it's due to a lack of options) at club level can do. Was getting worried about him under Rogers. Fair play to HH for throwing him in as well. I thought he'd only bring on Idah.
Has he fallen out of favour under O’Neill? Unused against Hibs
Got taken off at half time a few games ago and hasn't featured since. Not sure if it's a knock or something more to it as he has been on the bench.
Not been coming off the bench either it seems - only one appearance (taken off at half-time) since his run of four goals in four games and his Ireland debut. Football can be rough like that I guess. And hard to argue with Celtic winning five in a row in that time.
Got about an hour off the bench today in the Scottish League Cup final after Iheanacho went off injured. He was hopeless to be honest. Much as you could probably say that of most of the Celtic team, there was nothing at all in Kenny's game to suggest O'Neill made a mistake by dropping him.
It seems Nancy's stint as Celtic manager could well be a car-crash. Not going to help Kenny (though I wouldn't rate him hugely anyway) or Scales. Could well see Hearts winning the league this year, which would reflect more on Rangers/Celtic than on Hearts
Watching Nancy's interview after the game, he just doesn't get Scottish football at all. It's all good and well coming from a less serious league like the MLS and having a footballing philosophy but, if you can't adapt it to the players you have and the competition they're playing in, then you're wasting your time (obviously we've had a similar problem with a manager in the recent past).
What he's trying to do might work if he'd had a summer to bring in players that suit his style and a full pre-season to work on his ideas with them. But coming in mid-season and trying to play this way with a team that were going well under a Martin O'Neill style of play is a recipe for disaster. He clearly has no interest in changing his approach either.
Missed one very good chance and one absolute sitter last night.
I get that Nancy's under fire, but Celtic should have been 3 or 4 up at the break yesterday, rather than one.
With the best will in the world to him, and taking account of Wilfried Nancy being honestly one of the most comically awful football managers I've ever seen set up a team, but Johnny Kenny can't be anywhere near the Ireland squad come March. The lad is full of energy, but he has absolutely no idea how to use it.
Celtic are a basket case. It's remarkable. Schmeichel's form seems to have dropped off a cliff. They've nobody up front - Idah wasn't great, but even he had to be replaced with someone, but instead there's millions sitting in the bank. The fans (and also Rodgers I think) have been giving out about the attacking shortfall for ages but it's gotten steadily worse. And now Nancy has been plucked from nowhere to make things worse. They've definitely been unlucky in a couple of games under him, there's no arguing with six defeats in eight games (and one of the two wins was against a side with ten men for 45 minutes, who still equalised with 10 to go)
At least Scales should get his place back before the end of the season
You just can't set up a team in Scotland the way he does (or in England for that matter). Only one out and out centre back (who is a poor player anyway - other than in kids games I've literally never seen the last defender run away from an opposition attacker bearing down on goal before!).
Just sit tight, wait for the moments and then counter attack and/or quick ball over the top and you're in one on one with the lone centre back every time. And he seems to have no other strategy at all (I have a strong dislike for managers who are wedded to a particular formation or style of play and are completely unwilling to consider any other way). The man just seems almost impossibly French - I can just picture him on his flight home next week after he's been sacked blaming everyone but himself for what's happening.
As for Johnny Kenny, I'm sorry but he's just nowhere near good enough. Butchered a 3 on 1 with a terrible pass and then butchered a clear sight of goal by slide tackling a straightforward shot.
Yeah, Kenny certainly can't say he's not getting the service or the chances
The first question is, why on earth did they appoint Paul Tisdale as their sporting director. His last three jobs as manager with Bristol Rovers, Colchester and Stevenage were unmitigated disasters.
In his Celtic role, his transfers have been duds and his biggest single job was to replace Brendan Rogers where he took a successful temporary manager (Martin O’Neill, arranged by the chairman) and replaced him with a guy who had never managed in Europe and had only worked in the MLS where the league is basically a cup competition with all kinds of mad influences.
To say it was a gamble is an understatement
This article on the BBC could have been written by elated and Eirambler.
Tactical shambles - check
Johnny Kenny not up to it - check
What is Paul Tisdale doing there? - check
And Nancy and Tisdale both get the sack.
So quid nunc for Celtic? Can they screw things up as badly again?
At least Scales will hopefully get his place back in the team, and relatively untarnished by the mess of the last eight games
O'Neill coming back to Celtic apparently, which I think would be good for Kenny's confidence. When you watch O'Neill's affection for the players in the dressing room after his last game, you'd have to think lads would be running out on to the pitch with their tails up
Absolutely convinced this will be happening on an Air France or Air Canada flight out of the UK today or tomorrow. One of the worst management appointments in the history of Scottish football, and seemingly zero self awareness to go with the lack of ability.
I'd say O'Neill coming back is better news for Scales as they will revert to a more sensible (i.e. not completely insane) defensive setup. O'Neill dropped Kenny fairly swiftly last time around and I imagine he will do so again. Particularly with the transfer window being open, Celtic having millions in the bank and a points deficit to make up on Hearts. They really can't afford to carry a crap striker at the moment.
I'd say the biggest issue with O'Neill now will be ensuring the signings are good. Realistically I don't expect him to know which players in the dutch or portuguese or swedish top flight, or who in Afcon or in the championship is the next Van Dijk or Wanyama or Jota. And their sporting director was so incompetent that you'd be as well dumping whatever plans he had.
Some scout or someone needs to be working overtime this month. You don't want Roy Keane takes over Sunderland and signs Dwight Yorke and David Connolly and Graham Kavanagh on deadline day. See also Kieran Richardson, Paul McShane, Andy Cole, Ian Harte, Danny Higginbotham the following summer and Phil Bardsley and Andy Reid in January.
Cyrus Christie won't cost much will he?
I dunno. I think Mal Donaghy and Gerry Armstrong would be decent additions to Celtic’s squad