There is no point in mentioning Hery at all. If JC wasn’t on the pitch none of this would have happened. Hery would have been dealt with by the referee and gotten a card and then the referee may have added on 30 seconds for timewasting.
Printable View
There's no point mentioning Hery at all? Hery started the violent conduct. This 'no point mentioning gin' is exactly what I was talking about earlier in giving him a pass. As if Caulfield being on the pitch justified his actions. It didn't.
Caulfield shouldn't have been on the pitch, managers shouldn't be on the pitch, no question. But there was no one calling for Bradley's head when he was on the pitch in Turners Cross because none of our lads lost the head at him and it didn't turn into a brawl.
Trying to pin the blame for the entire event on caulfield is nonsense. He shouldn't have been on the pitch. He'll get banned for it. But the idea that it's all his fault completely takes responsibility away from Hery for his actions. Pushing JC, starting the violent conduct led to the brawl.
I agree Caulfield should have left the ref deal with the time wasting, and he deserves his red card for encroaching and the ban he'll get for it. But it doesn't in any way justify of excuse getting violent and scummy about it.
The idea that someone encroaching on the pitch should get a longer ban than the people actually bring violent is ridiculous to me.
The 4 sent off for violent conduct (still not sure what Reynolds went off for) are in for minimum 3 games. I'd have Hery longer than the others, but wouldn't be surprised if they all get the same.
Caulfield was sent off for encroaching. Likely comes under unsporting behaviour. Minimum 1 game. Obviously he'll get more than the minimum.
I'd imagine Caulfield and Hery will get similar bans and will be seen as instigators, with the others getting slightly less.
Hery is a huge loss.
When does the disciplinary committee normally meet
Yet another deflection. Hery was a typical footballer and reacted. Hewould have been dealt with by the ref, most probably a yellow card as per the rules. It was a non incident until JC entered the field. That is the facts. JC caused it. Hery would not have had a chance to react if JC wasn't there. JC should get a lengthly ban for it. He instigated the whole situation. It was entertaining to watch, and even more entertaining is the the defending through deflection of the golden boy by Cork fans.
Yeah, but Hery did push Caulfield over. It's too simplistic to ignore his role.
That said, no harm in a big scuffle every now and again. It should go on the MNS opening credits just after the flares. Ban Hery, ban Caulfield, move on
Utter nonsense. 'Reacted'. Come off the stage. Caulfield was walking away form the situation when he ran to push him.
And people above were claiming no one was minimising Herys role. Good thing you stepped in to prove my point.
I’m no fan of Caulfield and his antics on the sideline but every manager has run onto the pitch at some stage to retrieve a ball back, particularly if it’s late in the game and they are chasing a goal. It’s easy to say he should have let the ref deal with it but emotions are high and it is always very frustrating when players are time wasting with the ball. He’ll get his ban for being sent off which won’t really affect Cork that much.
Hery should’ve just let him get the ball and carry on but once he pushed Caulfield over there was always going to be a melee. Seemed to be the usual handbags stuff and the normal bans for the players who were sent off should be sufficient. Waterford will suffer a lot more than Cork with both Hery and Aborah missing a couple of games at the same time.
Ffs it is plain to see what happened from the SR cameras. Bans looming for all involved.
Although it is slightly comedic how Cork fans are consoling by the notion that Waterford will miss their suspended players more, and developing apoplectic outrage at Hery
I doubt Hery expected his shove to have had such an impact. It makes little difference but I doubt he actually meant to push Caulfield over. When the melee did start Caulfield was a million miles from it. I think he knew himself the catalyst role he had played in the whole thing. Id imagine his pride is as bruised as his backside. McNulty must have some turn of pace to get in to the mix as quickly as he did. Considering where Waterford are in the table if any bans effect them more than Cork so be it.
Yeah reacted. Many footballers aren’t the smartest. Sure you know that by having McNulty on your team. They tend to react in the heat of the moment. Again think about McNulty charging up th pitch to get involved. The push wouldn’t have knocked over my great grand uncle who is in his 90s. Caulfield s just caught off balance and gave us a chuckle.
His performance in Oriel would certainly indicate that!
The cork manager runs onto the field and kicks someone from behind.
And the incident is the fault of the person he kicked??
Those who know my posting history will know I'm not one for tarring whole groups or individuals.
But I think it's fair to say, having read the last few pages, that all cork fans are genuinely disturbed of mind, cultists.
Wait til caulfields hole gets better and they find themselves playing in Guyana. and somehow it'll be someone else's fault.
On caulfield and his behavior I genuinely blame the officials around the league.
john caulfield has zero class or manners.
Now that's not necessarily his fault. He could have had really terrible parents. He could have grown up in some kind of reform school. We just don't know. But the point is he is an absolutely terrible person and widely regarded as such. I know this. You know this. The fai know this. Yet he is constantly humoured.
Example: when he brought his eye wateringly expensive cork team up to draw with billy dennehys ghost and whatever else we had thrown together that evening caulfield spent more or less the entire game outside his technical area. Now as we have already established this wasn't johns fault. john is a terrible human being. But what was the fourth official doing?? If it was a child or an animal you would try and correct it.
You can't blame john caulfield for being john caulfield anymore than you can blame a dog for being a dog. But the officials??
Maybe if he was corrected every now and again he wouldn't act out.
No one in the cult is going to correct him. We've established that.
As an organisation the FAI has let john caulfield and his followers down basically.
The key part in all of this and the reason the match ended like it did with 4 red cards and both managers sent off, is that Caulfield started the whole thing.
That point has to be acknowledged.
You are spot on, in everything other than the length of bans in my opinion.
Caulfield will probably get just a 1 game ban along with Reynolds, although that depends on whether they see Caulfield's actions as contributing to what then happened afterwards, then he will get a 3 game ban in my opinion. Hery & Aborah from Waterford & Beatty & Buckley from CCFC will get the book slung at them, they completely and utterly lost it and will in all probability get between 3-6 game bans a piece.
Are people blind on here on just wearing those rose tinted glasses again, Caulfield is an idiot on the sidelines, I totally agree with that, but saying he kicked Hery is complete rubbish. He was trying to recover the ball with his leg and caught Hery, theres a massive difference, Hery should never have been running off onto the pitch with the ball in the first place. He must have run all of 30 Yards just to get involved in the first place!
Well they will, its a fact!
Handbags if the managers weren't involved it would be a standard pushing and shoving contest. Can't see long bans but it will be sorted in next few days.
McNulty looks like he landed a good one on Hery.
https://www.irishexaminer.com/remote...48&s=ie-836245
How were all the other games? Lol
I enjoyed the under 15s beating longfords 9 nil last night :) kind of brought me from 100% depressed to about 50 % ....I'm never much better then that :)
I hope Dave Barry is one of the pundits on Soccer Republic tomorrow! We are all going to defend what our own club, players, and managers do as much as possible. There are times when ye cringe, like Stephen Kenny isnt really the master of mind games so shouldnt bother. the won it in talla poster while nothing to do with Dundalk FC had every Dundalk fan groan. Drogheda fans were mixed on the billboards taken out in Dundalk in 2007 in the belief that they should be focusing on their own clubs (first) title rather than thinking of Dundalk. Mark McNulty the same no matter how much it was claimed it was all a laugh...Kenny talking about insulting former Dundalk greats in response was another groan moment as saying nothing would have been best and let the antics of McNulty speak for themself. This time round, while its is laudible how players ran to the defence of their manager, there should be less of the defence of Caulfield among Cork fans. He didnt dart out on the pitch to catch a ball to get the game going again, he went out on to the pitch and effectively tackled a player to get the ball. Whether it ended up being a kick or not meh, he didnt go out to kick Hery (though I can see him thinking if he gets the ball and connects with the player too then that ok). He didnt give Hery a major shove but he did have his hands on him when trying to get the ball and Hery responded with a push. Caulfield was off balance so what should have been a 'back off' shove ened up knocking the manager over. Not seeing the prelude to how JC ended on his ass the Cork players reaction of charging to his defence was kind of ok imo. It is petty though to start claiming bans for one side will have a greater impact than another even if that might actually be the case. To also then claim that the (Cork) players banned will suit as it forces preferred team selection is also verging on the ridiculous. The amount of video evidence and pictures means there is unlikely to be any grey areas, even the photo above of McNulty landing a nice one on Hery could be used as evidence of violent conduct. I think Cork fans shouldnt really be dismissing this as a to do about nothing. If even Caulfield is saying he shouldnt have done what he did then maybe some appropriate reaction would be 'he lost the head and he was idiotic, he shouldnt have been pushed by Hery either but Hery will be called out on that. The rest of the handbags stuff that developed after that is understandable bar what continued toward the tunnel.
In fear of being accused of being obsessed by Mark McNulty - how fast is the chap??
I noticed Aaron Bolger was on the bench in Oriel and also last week against Sligo - there is hardly much difference in study time being on the subs bench as opposed to playing - unless he take his school books into the dugout
Does he also play for the under19's or has he been excused this to allow for Leaving Cert study?
Yawn yawn
Is the penny dropping with you that any under-age success that might occur at Rovers will not be of any help to Bradley keeping his job if he finishes outside the European places?
If the team is out of league contention by the middle of June, he might not even get the chance to finish out the season
Oh yes I always thought if the under 15s won the league it wouldn't matter about the first team..
Yawn yawn yawn lol