Youths Division 2,
Glin Rovers 2 Carrig Celtic 5
Printable View
Youths Division 2,
Glin Rovers 2 Carrig Celtic 5
Youths Division 1
Newcastle West Rovers 1 Ballingarry 2
does anyone know if d draw for d munster junior was made?
Munster SL/Cork B&S/West Cork AREA
MUNSTER JUNIOR CUP
1st Round Draw
Everton Utd v Passage
Drinagh Rgs v Fermoy
Cobh Wanderers v Durrus FC
Everton v Mayfield United
Ballydehob v Douglas Hall (MSL)
Cash's Export v Rockmount
Avondale United v Clonakilty AFC "B"
Clonakilty AFC "A" v Blarney Utd
College Corinthians v EMC
Tramore Ath v Ringmahon Rangers "B"
Carrigaline Utd "A" v Ringmahon Rangers "A"
Castleack v Glasheen
Mallow Utd v Tile King
Doolans Cow v Brooklodge Utd
Crofton Celtic v Midleton
Skibbereen v Carrigaline Utd "B"
2nd Round Draw
A Skibbereen or Carrigaline Utd "B" v Doolans Cow or Brooklodge Utd
B Drinagh Rgs or Fermoy v Mallow Utd or Tile King
C Cobh Wanderers or Durrus v Carrigaline Utd "A" or Ringmahon Rgs "A"
D Ballydehob or Douglas Hall v Castleack or Glasheen
E Cash's Export or Rockmount v Clonakilty AFC "A" or Blarney Utd
F Crofton Celtic or Midleton v College Corinthians or EMC
G Tramore Ath or Ringmahon Rgs "B" v Avondale United or Clonakilty AFC "B"
H Everton Utd or Passage v Everton or Mayfield Utd
3rd Round Draw
F v A
B v G
H v D
C v E
KERRY D.L.
MUNSTER JUNIOR CUP
Preliminary Round Draw
Castleisland v Dingle Bay Rovers
1st Round Draw
Killarney Celtic v Spa Road Celtic
St Brendan's Park v Listowel Celtic
Lisselton Rovers v Castleisland or Dingle Bay Rvs
Classic FC v Tralee Celtic
2nd Round Draw
A Killarney Celtic or Spa Road Celtic v Lisselton Rvs or Castleisland or Dingle Bay Rvs
B Classic or Tralee Celtic v St Brendan's Park or Listowel Celtic
3rd Round Draw
A v B
LIMERICK DESMOND LEAGUE
MUNSTER JUNIOR CUP
Preliminary Round Draw
Carrig Celtic v Newcastle West AFC
1st Round Draw
Glantine Rvs v Rockhill Rovers
Broadford Utd v Glin Rovers
Ballingarry "B" v St Ita's "B"
Breska Rovers v Kildimo Utd
Pallaskennry "A" v Carrig Celtic or Newcastle West AFC
Killeaney v St Ita's "A"
Old Mill v Kilcolman Rvs
Athea Utd v Granagh Utd
Pallaskennry "B" v Ballingarry "A"
Shannonside v Askeaton
Knockaderry v Abbeyfeale United
Adare Utd v Rathkeale
2nd Round Draw
A Pallaskennry "A" or Carrig Celtic or Newcastle West AFC v Athea Utd or Granagh Utd
B Killeaney or St Ita's "A" v Pallaskennry "B" or Ballingarry "A"
C Shannonside or Askeaton v Breska Rovers or Kildimo Utd
D Knockaderry or Abbeyfeale Utd v Old Mill or Kilcolman Rvs
E Ballingarry "B" or St Ita's "B" v Adare Utd or Rathkeale
F Glantine Rvs or Rockhill Rvs v Broadford Utd or Glin Rvs
3rd Round Draw
C v D
A v E
B v F
thanks gearysfan some good ties there
Munster Junior Cup Preliminary Round
Carrig Celtic v Newcastle West (away)
Munster Junior Cup First Round
Glantine Rvs v Rockhill Rovers (home)
Broadford Utd v Glin Rovers (home)
Ballingarry B v St Itas B (home)
Breska Rovers v Kildimo Utd (away)
Pallaskenry A v Carrig Celtic/Newcastle West (away)
Killeaney v St Itas A (home)
Old Mill v Kilcolman Rvs (home)
Athea Utd v Granagh Utd (home)
Pallaskenry B v Ballingarry A (away)
Shannonside v Askeaton (home)
Knockaderry v Abbeyfeale United (away)
Adare Utd v Rathkeale (away)
Premier Division
Killeaney 1 Shannonside 2
Some shots from Killeaney v Shannonside this morning
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4125/...36694f4f2d.jpg
Rathkeale 2 Glin 1
Askeaton 5 NCW 3
Adare 1 Ncw Rovers 2
Kilaney 1 Shannonside 2
Broadford 0 Abbey 3
Premier Division
Newcastle West Rvs 2 Adare Utd 1
Broadford Utd 0 Abbeyfeale Utd 3
Askeaton 5 Newcastle West 3
Rathkeale 2 Glin Rvs 1
Division 1
Kildimo Utd 1 Ballingarry 1
Carrig Cel 0 Kilcolman Rvs 2
Pallaskenry 2 Athea Utd 1
Division 3
Mountcollins 2 Askeaton B 2
Bally Rvs 3 Broadford Utd B 4
Ballingarry B 2 Shountrade 1
Glin Rvs B 2 Adare Utd B 3
Division 4
St Bens 2 Glantine B 0
St Itas B 0 Carrig Cel B 0
Athea Utd B 2 Newcastle West Rvs B 0
Askeaton 5-3 Paul O Brien
Disgraceful refereeing.
Division 2
Granagh Utd 1 Breska Rvs 0
Creeves Cel 2 Rathkeale B 3
Newcastle West B 1 Knockaderry 0
Premier Division
Newcastle West Rvs 2 Adare Utd 1
Broadford Utd 0 Abbeyfeale Utd 3
Askeaton 5 Newcastle West 3
Rathkeale 2 Glin Rvs 1
Division 1
Kildimo Utd 1 Ballingarry 1
Carrig Cel 0 Kilcolman Rvs 2
Pallaskenry 2 Athea Utd 1
Abbeyfeale Utd B 0 St Itas 4
Division 2
Granagh Utd 1 Breska Rvs 0
Feenagh v Ballysteen (not played, visitors only six players)
Creeves Cel 2 Rathkeale B 3
Kilcornan 1 Rockhill Rvs 4
Newcastle West B 1 Knockaderry 0
Division 3
Mountcollins 2 Askeaton B 2
Bally Rvs 3 Broadford Utd B 4
Ballingarry B 2 Shountrade 1
Glin Rvs B 2 Adare Utd B 3
Division 4
St Bens 2 Glantine B 0
St Itas B 0 Carrig Cel B 0
Athea Utd B 2 Newcastle West Rvs B 0
Shannonside B 6 Killeaney B 1
Askeaton went 2-0 up after 25 mins Through 2 great strikes from Sean Whelan and Willie Griffin, Paula O Brien gave a penalty to NCW for"handball" even though the player kept his hand by his side and in no way went to play the ball with his arm, 2-1. Willie griffin was pulled back in the Ncw box by Anthony O Donell when caught for pace, no penalty, yellow card for Griffin for protesting, from the resulting free a NCW forward got on the end of the long ball and scored 2-2. A lapse in the Askeaton defence let NCW in for a third just befoore HT. 3-2 NCW. NCW were well on top for the first 10 mins of the second half and prob should have scored, Askeaton brought fresh legs on around the 55min mark(Anthony Ryan, Mike Fitzgibbon and sean o mahony) and they made a huge difference, Askeaton levelled with 20 remaining, with 15 left Anthony Ryan Skipped around the defender and was bearing straight down on goal when the defender went straight through the back of him and didn't get near the ball, A straight red card and a penalty for all to see, except Paul O Brien who waved play on.Askeaton went on to get 2 good late goals from Mossie Kenrick and Willie Griffin and win deservedly. Daniel Power has still got it anyway he looked very sharp today (scoring 2),
As for that man in the middle today he should be embarrassed collecting money for that performance.
Cracking result for Askeaton today, especially coming from behind like that, it certainly makes for an interesting start to the season. Hopefully the league will continue to be as competitive as it has begun.
great win for askeaton today they played very well.....ncw got back into it and played well .ref was a joke giving all 50/50 to ncw.askeaton look like they will be hard to beat fare play for geting the 3points
Sunday 19th September
FAI Junior Cup 1st Round (extra time & penalties)
Adare Utd V Ballingarry 1030 (P. O’Brien)
Kilmarley-Ferns Celtic V Broadford Utd 130pm
Munster Junior Cup 1st Round (extra time & penalties)
Killeaney V St. Itas 1030 (G. O’Connor)
Reidy Joinery Cup 1st Round (extra time & penalties)
Athea Utd V Abbeyfeale Utd B 130pm (M. Houlihan)
Weekly Observer Premier Division
Glin Rovers V Abbeyfeale Utd 1030 (P. Manning)
Shannonside FC V Askeaton 1030 in Shanagolden (T. Fitzmaurice)
Rathkeale V Newcastle West 1030 (D. O’Gorman)
Weekly Observer Division 1
Kilcolman Rovers V Glantine 1030 (L. O’Connor)
Old Mill V Kildimo Utd 1030 (J. Roche)
Weekly Observer Division 2
Knockaderry V Ballysteen 1030 (N. Allen)
Feenagh V Kilcornan 1030 (S. Hartnett)
Breska Rovers V Newcastle West B 130 (T. Fitzmaurice)
Rockhill Rovers V Creeves Celtic 130 (P. O’Connor)
Rathkeale B V Granagh Utd 130 (B. Barry)
Weekly Observer Division 3
Bally Rovers V Glin Rovers B 130pm (P. Manning)
Adare Utd B V Ballingarry B 130pm (P. O’Brien)
Shountrade V Mountcollins 130pm (D. O’Gorman)
Askeaton B V Ferry Rangers 130pm (C. Dalton)
Weekly Observer Division 4
Pallaskenry B V Carrig Celtic B 130 in Salesian College (N. Allen)
St. Itas B V Shannonside FC B 130 (S. Hartnett)
Killeaney B V Athea Utd B 130 (P. O’Donnell)
Newcastle West Rovers B V St. Bens 130 (G. O’Connor)
Who would you say are the "bigger clubs"?? This argument is often repeated, be it in the Premiership or in local leagues.
But I think locally it often depends whether the refereee likes the team or not... it's usual more personal, especially if the ref has had bad experiences with certain teams!!
Who could you classify as a bigger team in the Desmond league?? Is there "bigger" teams in divisions 1/2/3/4, where I'm sure bad ref decisions also happen....
The bigger clubs are the clubs from the bigger towns with history of winning trophies. Good refs dont get swayed, bad refs do. But unfortunately we have more bad ones than good ones. If refs make decisions based on whether they "like" a team or not then they are not refereeing impartially or fairly are they. We do have some very good refs but in my opinion bigger clubs do get the big decisions in their favour especially when things are going against them.
The "Bigger" clubs tend to have better teams and better players. In general better players commit less fouls, because of their greater ability, and they are less likely to dissent and whinge when things are not going well for their team. That gives the "Lesser" teams the impression that the refs are favouring the opposition, when in fact the free count is directly in relation to their own lack of ability and the amount of grief that they give the refs.
I was at the Askeaton game yesterday and I didn't think that O'Donnell fouled A. Ryan for a penalty and red card. The ref did give Ncw a pen. for handball by Carrig which looked a good call to me. As regards the Griffin incident, perhaps Askeaton have a case, but the foul would have been nearer the corner flag than the penalty area. A lot of whingeing throughout by Askeaton players. Poor performance in general by NCW but well done to Askeaton on their win. If Askeaton think that the ref gave everything 50/50 to NCW then they should pay regard to my opening statement, and remember that the referees also read their posts.
i was at the askeaton v ncw match also and thought it was a very good entertaining game..i dont think that the ref favoured ncw either.but he must have been blind to see the foul on ryan for a clear penalty and red card for the ncw player..i think ncw penalty was a penalty in my opinion..worst performance in the second half iv seen ncw play and if they continue like that then they won be in with a shout to win the league..askeaton scored two crackers in the first half..best goals iv seen in a long time in the desmond league..gotta give credit to askeaton for their win which gives them 9pts outta 9
Sunday 19th September
Adare Utd V Ballingarry 1030 AWAY
Kilmarley-Ferns Celtic V Broadford Utd 130pm HOME
Killeaney V St. Itas 1030 HOME
Athea Utd V Abbeyfeale Utd B 130pm AWAY
Glin Rovers V Abbeyfeale Utd 1030 AWAY
Shannonside FC V Askeaton 1030 in Shanagolden DRAW
Rathkeale V Newcastle West 1030 DRAW
Kilcolman Rovers V Glantine 1030 HOME
Old Mill V Kildimo Utd 1030 DRAW
Knockaderry V Ballysteen 1030 HOME
Feenagh V Kilcornan 1030 AWAY
Breska Rovers V Newcastle West B 130 HOME
Rockhill Rovers V Creeves Celtic 130 HOME
Rathkeale B V Granagh Utd 130 HOME
Bally Rovers V Glin Rovers B 130pm HOME
Adare Utd B V Ballingarry B 130pm AWAY
Shountrade V Mountcollins 130pm AWAY
Askeaton B V Ferry Rangers 130pm HOME
Pallaskenry B V Carrig Celtic B 130 in Salesian College AWAY
St. Itas B V Shannonside FC B 130 HOME
Killeaney B V Athea Utd B 130 HOME
Newcastle West Rovers B V St. Bens 130 AWAY
Does anyone think that a DL side can make serious inroads in the Munster or FAI Junior Cups this season ? Are Askeaton the only DL side who got as far as the MJC semi's in 1991?
It depends alot on who the referee is, some give into teams who winge alot, and others tend to get sick of the winging and might let a big decision slide!!
There are some refs that are very good, who always remain impartial, Donie O'Gorman for one I think! But in general in the Desmond league I don't think there are many cases of "Bigger" clubs getting the 50/50s their way...
On another note, Shannonside vs Askeaton and Newcastle vs Rathkeale next weekend should be 2 great games... the latter game getting the best ref available so hopefully no impartial decisions :)
Sunday 19th September
Adare Utd V Ballingarry 1030 AWAY
Kilmarley-Ferns Celtic V Broadford Utd 130pm HOME
Killeaney V St. Itas 1030 HOME
Athea Utd V Abbeyfeale Utd B 130pm HOME
Glin Rovers V Abbeyfeale Utd 1030 DRAW
Shannonside FC V Askeaton 1030 in Shanagolden HOME
Rathkeale V Newcastle West 1030 HOME
Kilcolman Rovers V Glantine 1030 HOME
Old Mill V Kildimo Utd 1030 DRAW
Knockaderry V Ballysteen 1030 HOME
Feenagh V Kilcornan 1030 HOME
Breska Rovers V Newcastle West B 130 DRAW
Rockhill Rovers V Creeves Celtic 130 HOME
Rathkeale B V Granagh Utd 130 HOME
Bally Rovers V Glin Rovers B 130pm HOME
Adare Utd B V Ballingarry B 130pm DRAW
Shountrade V Mountcollins 130pm AWAY
Askeaton B V Ferry Rangers 130pm AWAY
Pallaskenry B V Carrig Celtic B 130 in Salesian College DRAW
St. Itas B V Shannonside FC B 130 AWAY
Killeaney B V Athea Utd B 130 AWAY
Newcastle West Rovers B V St. Bens 130 AWAY
In a word, No. Desmond league sides are a million miles behind the city league. Its hard to put a finger on why. Some of our best players do leave our league for the city and I dont think any Desmond league clubs pay players to play for them. Having said that, we did win an Oscar Traynor Cup not too long ago. Anyone got any ideas why we find it hard to compete with other leagues ?
I would tend to disagree with you there. I think that the "better" players are by far the worst offenders when it comes to moaning and abusing referees because they know they can get away with it. And not just in the Desmond league, in every league in the world. (Eg. Terry, Rooney,)
Not a Clue, the one good thing about your alias is that your telling everyone you have no clue b4 they even read your post. How the Foul on Anthony Ryan was not a straight red and a penaltyis beyond me, the NCW players even admitted it themselves. They congratulated the Askeaton players at Full time and admitted Askeaton deserved to win, and fair play to NCW, they will be up there come the final games of the season. As for Paula O Brain, he has had it in for Askeaton now for quite a while, I think a dubious penalty was awarded to Carrig Celtic in last years desmond cup early rounds against Askeaton if im not forgetting by the same man..... anyway maybe we should all take up reffing and get the handy money also
Nice to see that the inmates of 5b are well. Just to let you know that the Notaclue comes from the name of a little Jack Russel dog that my kids had when they were very young. Happy? As regards taking up refereeing look back at a previous post by me and you will see that I think no sane person would consider it.It now seems that the internet is a cheap way of having a pot at the referees. I hope that Paul O'Brien doesn't take all this to heart and keeps going. All I can offer on posts is my honest opinion, but it obviously gets to some people. Askeaton deserved their win on Sunday, and good luck to them for the rest of the season.
For me the majority of referees in the Desmond League are poor I don't like knocking them because its not an easy job and its easier said than done.....its tough to take poor decisions going against you but you just have to get on with it...by the sounds of it Paul O'Brien was terrible last week but there is'nt much you can do about it.... look at the ireland v France game
It's going to be a long season of knocking referees we'll just have to get on with it....
As for the standard in the Desmond League-I think we are going to continue loosing players to the Limerick League as the standard is very good in there and any decent players in the Desmond League look to test themselves and play at a higher standard head in to the city. Pitches are improving which is a major plus we just need to stop loosing players to the city
One small thing which grabbed my attention I noticed that City League keeps track of all the goalscorers throughout the season I know Frank Nelligan does a great job but it would keep things more interesting
Lads i spoke to shay lyons yesterday and he told me that he commited the foul on ryan. He said it was definetly a penalty and a sending off but he could see where the ref may have got it wrong. He told me ryan kicked the ball forward just as he tackled him. He did admit though that he made no contact with the ball.
He said that askeaton were outstanding on sunday, they went two up with two crackers and really played out of their skin in the second half to come back from 3-2 down. According to him they deserved every bit of the victory and will be a very hard team to beat. He was also talking alot about a young griffin lad up front. Said he has great movement and for his size is able to mix it up with the lads alot bigger than himself. One to watch, i have never seen him play can anyone agree with this.
In my opinion though its very easy to be blaming refs. its a hard enough job to do lads and i think we should ease off on them. We might think they are the best but then again they are not officiating football from the premiership in england. Just my opinion