€360K a year can do that for you alright.
My first thought is "Do I really care ?"
Printable View
Part 2 of the main yoke: http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...-30565166.html
So JD pretty much lifted the country out of recession. Sweet good Jebus this is awful, awful stuff.Quote:
Inspired, certainly, because the nation’s recession-darkened mood seemed to lift almost magically with the arrival of Martin ‘n Roy. “I notice, even now, when you walk down the street in Ireland, that there’s a positive vibe. That’s got to be good for the country. People are excited about Martin and Roy.
I don't have much time for Keane, but if he were to burst into the studio after the Gibraltar game, throwing O'Donoghue's broken body on the floor before administering a prolonged, violent beating to Giles and Dunphy in front of an incredulous and horrified Brady I could forgive a lot.
Edit: May have got a bit carried away and gone off topic a bit there, sorry.
Anyone else reckon she looks like a younger, slightly plastic, version of Anne Doyle?
Not to knock Trappatoni's CV but I found it comical that Delany listed the fact that he marked Pele before as one of the factors for giving him the Ireland job.
If you haven't listened to Monday's Second Captains on the man himself it's a good laugh.
https://soundcloud.com/secondcaptain...ia-waynes-wane
No reaction to his interview on RTE tonight?
http://www.rte.ie/sport/player/813/649089/
I didnt think he came across too badly - which annoyed me in itself.
A few things did manage to annoy me...... when questioned on the leagues facilities
"Look at Athlones ground, look at Deasy park, The RSC, and Tallaght.... they're the main ones"
He's a smarmy pr1111ck and was able to dance around everything
"John today i researched the salary of other football association bosses and your salary is higher than a lot of them "
"ah look, we dont know what other people are being paid.....i've been offered higher salaries"........
Lissywollen has a lovely stand. But the rest of the ground looks awful. I'd love to see someone put some money into that and improve the all round look of the place. While I don't expect three more stands to be built, it could look a lot better.
Deacy Park in my view, as I have not been to Turners Cross, is the nicest ground in the league. The old stand could do with a bit of TLC, but aside from that, it's one of the few grounds that can be called top class.
The RSC is annoying as feck. Two nice stands, great pitch, but jesus feck, that running track is an annoyance and a hindrance. A better perimeter wall and turnstile facilities would make that ground a lot nicer too.
Tallaght, is lifeless and soulless without the two ends. At least one end on it, similar to that of Deacy Park would make a big difference. Feels too open. Fantastic facilities though.
Showgrounds in Sligo is better than Galway. As are Tallaght and Turners Cross
He doesn't mention that half the grounds he mentioned aren't owned/run by football too
Ha yeah agree. Pity it took so long to ask a half decent question from the interviewer. Would have liked to know who the hell in the media he was on about?
He takes a lot of credit for the natural order of things. LOI sounds like a great league in Johns eyes.
He played the interviewer (Hugh Cahill) lovely through out. he may look ike an absolute gobsh11te, but he is a shrewd operator. He had complete control the entire time and Hugh ended up being the flustered party while John boy sat back and played the hero
Attachment 2159
JD's inspiration.
Agree with Dodge that some of the good grounds are not owned by the clubs or FAI. The ground in Drogheda is FAI owned however. Terryland has had a lot of public money (including gaeltacht funds) in its development, the GUST guys would know better than me on this, same with Sligo, and Tallaght has been built completely from the public purse. Same with the new Markets Field in Limerick.This btw is the best way to have it for soccer in my opinion.
In relation to Turners Cross I am reminded of Flower Lodge, now known as Pairc Uí Rinn. Sadly when compared to the GAA and the Rugby Union, JD's organisation are the men of no property. Tony Inzenco reckons Terryland is the nicest LoI ground he has been too.
The Phoenix Magazine had a bit on the Lansdowne R loan a while back; the fantastic deal for Irish soccer, fans should have a lot at it.
'Why John Delaney has a fraught relationship with League of Ireland': http://www.theguardian.com/football/...gue-of-ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan Smith
I thought it was a pretty shallow article with some over-simplifications that are probably misleading/wrong, but I suppose it is written for outsiders.
Excellent article. I do feel however, following the result against germany and with a huge game away to scotland next on the cards, the interest in the national team is set to surge again although the USA game may still struggle to sell
Some points good, some points bad. Overall, not a great article. It doesn't really describe in any way why Delaney has a 'fraught relationship' with the league.
I thought it was a good read but was most likely written for an audience who wouldn't have a great deal of knowledge on Irish Football. Hence, the lack of a detailed analysis on why the LOI and Delaney aren't BFFs.
That's one of the problems with journalism today.
No in depth analysis & no proper research.
Looks good on paper but to anyone with a good knowledge of football in Ireland it looks like what it is superficial.
Touches on a lot of things but doesn't really examine any of them.
Anybody doing any real analysis can kiss their media access to anything FAI related goodbye.
I suppose that`s a choice people have to make.
Do you want to be a real journalist or a copy & paste merchant.
The difference is anyone can copy & paste.
You just use Google.
Delaney was on Today FM this morning. He was asked about the league he described as a problem child. He stands over the comment regards when the FAI took over the league. He said the clubs collectively were losing €7m a year. He said after the hard steps of implementing regulation that the clubs collectively broke even last year. He made a point that if he was running a club in the league he would look to build up connections with the schoolboy teams in the area.