This is a big challenge for Foster now. Dundalk is a totally different proposition to Galway. Higher expectations in a proper footballing town with a particularly passionate brand of supporter. Will be interesting to see how he handles it.
Printable View
This is a big challenge for Foster now. Dundalk is a totally different proposition to Galway. Higher expectations in a proper footballing town with a particularly passionate brand of supporter. Will be interesting to see how he handles it.
ok then at the third attempt to make this point :rolleyes: you where 100 % interested in mattthews going to Dundalk and he turned you down .Your ill informed opinion of him has nothing to do with it ! And i presume your have arrived at this view from seeing his team in one season fighting relegation , in which i may add he was sucessful .
Extended interview with Foster up now:
He comes across well and seems to know his stuff.
http://www.dundalkfc.com/news/091204_Conference.asp
I would agree with you on both points there, I wouldn`t personally have gone for Foster, but I`m well prepared to give him a chance. Think Kenny didnt want to uproot his family from Donegal, which was a shame.
Sure we`re both winners in this, you get to keep your manager and we didnt want him.
Even ndrog has to happy with that :D
Since when is 2 years involved in management of a side called experienced?
As for doing pretty well with Galway? Ok he's done ok but as outlined here before, they only avoided a relegation play-off by Derry getting booted out of the League. Would you say Hegarty done a good job at Harps in 2008? If Derry were booted out in 2008 then we would have stayed up. We were also 7 points clear of relegation with a few games left.
Sometimes football fans never cease to amaze. Foster is the latest craze, just like Kenna was last year. Look where that got Pats.
Third attempt and still not much sense!
I'll try the a-b-c approach to explain it to you:
A) Matthews did not turn down the job because it was not offered to him
B) It was not offered to him because he was not availble for a full time managers job
C) It's completely hypothetical and unfathomable, as to what the interest level (percentage??) would have been, if he had been available for consideration for the job.
Hope that clears it up for you.
Best of luck to Ian Foster-I really enjoyed the football served up in Terryland while he was in charge & I don't believe he owed us anything.
For a manager to last longer than a season these days seems to be asking a lot.
As for some of the patronising comments from some of the lads who follow the so-called "proper" clubs.......:rolleyes:
ndrog, will you please stop - you are close to cringo on this one.
He was on the list, but nothing ever happened, he can only manage part time clubs, so DFC never took it any further.
Ps his 'performances' on ireland am on tv3 with his preview on the champions lge games, is always a point of humour in our office, certainly gives me a good laugh before I leave the house for work, the drogheda managers 'opinion' on the likes of ac milan v barcelona. Oh dear.
:o (FOR YOU)
Paul Hegarty and ex Spurs player Paul Allen linked today to be Foster's assistant.
Cringo ? is that something to do with xmas :confused: Ok for the last time then , we seem to be making the same point over and over again ! you wanted AM to be your manager and he didnt want to be .End of FFS ! As for his commentary on tv , why would i give a toss ? And dont get me started on cringe worthy managers behaviour , you had the king :D
Your argument is getting boring to be honest. He was on a list of potential candidates but was never interviewed, end off. Therefore, technically he was never wanted. Anyone can end up on a list of potential candidates, I'm sure every bloody manager in the country would be on a list except for O'Neill and Fenlon as they would never leave their respective jobs.
Did Dundalk want a full time manager - Yes
Did Alan Matthews want to be a full time manager - No
Did Dundalk want Alan Matthews as he was going back to the bank - No
Did Dundalk want Alan Matthews if he wasn't going back to the bank - Probably.
Everybody's right and everybody wins a prize. Well done
Sorry Dillonman but that was a poorly constructed point!
If Drogheda fans really need to think that Dundalk covet their manager well let them. All in all a pointless argument but i'm sure there were many names on a list that were ruled out early and never approached. As Alan Matthews ruled himself out we will never know if he would have been on a shortlist or whether we would have asked Drogheda to speak to him.
The more i think and hear about Fosters appointment the better i feel about it tbh as initially it seemed like a panic appointment, but it seems that Foster was a serious option even before Kenny turned down the job. He is held in high regard in Galway and with greater resources could do very well. Previous 'risky' appointments have not worked out - Hewitt, Anderson, Gannon to a lesser extent, so maybe this time!
this is a totally random point but did dillonman not used to be a longford town fan? or am I thinking of the wrong guy??:confused:
It's time that Dundalk fans fessed up on this one. Alan Matthews was on the list - number 176.
The wish list top ten can now be exclusively revealed on foot.ie
1) Fabio Cappello............he also wanted to stay with his part time job
2) Sven-Goran Erikson.....insisted on a 25 year contract
3) Diego Maradona..........Told us to *'@# off
4) Jose Mouriniho............Said he couldn't understand us
5) Kenny Daglish.............We couldn't understand him
6) Bill Shankley...............Didn't answer
7) Colm Meaney..............Would do afternoon matinees only
8) Stephen McGuinness....He knew we would sack him after a week
9) Kilfenora Ceile Band.....Demanded a bigger dug-out
10) Gary Glitter..............was only interested in the youth team job
We were working our way through the list (we got as far as number 172) when a fella rang for the job - we thought he was Steve Foster, but sure he sounded keen. Sorry we didn't get as far as Alan Matthews. But theres always next year.
and he's not joking.Quote:
But theres always next year.
I duno where you got that from, Im from Dundalk and have always supported Dundalk FC, if this is in relation to me asking you about Stuart Byrne playing for ye the seaosn ye got promoted in 1999 or so then that was just a general question. Iv always paid had a good interest in the Eircom League/LOI the past 12 years or so.
Soooooo the club that took such a "principled" stance over the Dave Rogers incident think it OK to encourage a manager to break his contract and sign for them ? Double standards or Dundalk hypocracy ?
My, my the "high moral ground" at Oriel is really slipping :rolleyes:
[QUOTE=Ezeikial;1289185]It's time that Dundalk fans fessed up on this one. Alan Matthews was on the list - number 176.
The wish list top ten can now be exclusively revealed on foot.ie
1) Fabio Cappello............he also wanted to stay with his part time job
2) Sven-Goran Erikson.....insisted on a 25 year contract
3) Diego Maradona..........Told us to *'@# off
4) Jose Mouriniho............Said he couldn't understand us
5) Kenny Daglish.............We couldn't understand him
6) Bill Shankley...............Didn't answer
7) Colm Meaney..............Would do afternoon matinees only
8) Stephen McGuinness....He knew we would sack him after a week
9) Kilfenora Ceile Band.....Demanded a bigger dug-out
10) Gary Glitter..............was only interested in the youth team job
We were working our way through the list (we got as far as number 172) when a fella rang for the job - we thought he was Steve Foster, but sure he sounded keen. Sorry we didn't get as far as Alan Matthews. But theres always next year.[/QUOT
Way to much effort there mate ! i like the gary glitter line though :D
Bohs paid compensation to Sean Connors and similarly Dundalk should pay compensation to Galway (so your comparison confirms my point).
The issue of Galways (alledged) breach of contract is irrelevant, during the Dave Rogers case we heard a lot of rubbish about Dundalk "doing the right thing" "principles" etc, this incident shows what a load of old guff that was.
Why do you think they (the board) have acted wrongly in this case?
Foster says himself he was free to leave.
I get what you are saying Marino but as far as I know and I heard this off a very reliable source that Foster got proper legal advice in respect of this and he was advised accordingly. I think though, Dundalk would of requested that foster get that advice. If Ian wasn't being paid then I can't see where the problem is. I think the Dave Rogers thing regardless of my opinion unfortuneately was done without due process and the club was punished accordingly rightfully or wrongly.
I am pretty certain we will find out in due course whether we have acted inappropriately or not. All depends on who can hire the best lawyer though.
Marino I thought your hate Dundalk stance ended the day Seanie left. :D
Alleged breach of Fosters contract by Galway is certainly highly relevant here. If it was breached (several times according to Foster) there is no onus, either legal or moral, on Dundalk to pay any compensation. If a valid contract was in place, Dundalk are likely to end up paying compensation.
Knowledgably Galway fans are well aware of the reality, as of course is Nick Leeson. His private words recognise this reality, while his public words are for the appeasement of the general Galway public and provide amusement to the gullible and internet WUMS.
I don't "hate" Dundalk and was glad to see them come back up to where they belong last season. What I do hate (bit strong but however) is the hypocracy shown by some (not including yourself) Dundalk fans that are happy to preach about rules and/or principles as long as it is not Dundalk that is the transgressor.
I am happy to let "due process" clarify the outcome on Ian Foster even though morally Dundalk are in the wrong on the issue (again more than some were prepared to do on the 65% rule for example).
Morally in the wrong?
Foster feels he is within his rights to leave galway
Dundalk offer him a job
He takes it
I dont see where any moral qualms come into it.
If someone offered me a new job, say for more money, and I am free to leave my current employer, and do so - is my new employer morally wrong to offer me a position?
Do dundalk owe it to galway to leave them their manager, even though he wants to leave?
Sorry man - not nitpicking for the sake of it - I dont understand your angle.