Old Bridge v Rock Rovers now in in Carrick saturday night at 7.Theres some kind of dog show on in Ferryhouse over the weekend so thats the reason for venue change
Printable View
Old Bridge v Rock Rovers now in in Carrick saturday night at 7.Theres some kind of dog show on in Ferryhouse over the weekend so thats the reason for venue change
I believe Town are quite simply in rag order. Michael Coady, Robbie Costigan, Simon Scully,Rory Kiely and David McGrath have left. Ronan Stanley has come back but apart from that nobody. Training has been poor and I heard they got a hammering from evergreen in Kilkenny last Saturday.
I always felt that it was a mistake getting rid of McKeever and my fears could prove to be correct. I hope I am wrong. Wish Martin Quinlivan all the best but it looks as if he has a hell of a lot of work to do
Was McKeever "gotton rid of" ?? I thought he had just had enough......I see both the Coadys are with Carrick and I believe Costigan has returned to Cahir.... Town will really struggle I think this year if they can't replace these players, Paul Scully is still on crutches so that doesn't look good either.....Best of luck to Blossom......On another note I heard a rumour that Pat Dolan is lending a hand up in St Michaels, anybody know if their is any truth to this?
sorry i havent got back to any of ye about queries about the irish soccer team training in cooke park,been really busy with it.
great fixture for us next week,and always a brilliant game.cashel town.lookin forward to that game.we will see what cashel town are made of now.
as for clonmel town they will be aright.they've always had a good setup good youth structure,big town so i wouldnt worry about town at all.but those players are big losses.
Yes I was happy when Martin Quinlivan took over but it appears that the old saying " never go back" is ringing true. I see in the Nationalist today that Dwayne Burns is in jail awaiting a drugs charge, so thats the end of him. He will be inside for a while and surely cannot be allowed play for the club again. Ian Fraher has decided to join Clonmel Celtic. Town are in a mess and will struggle. Its very sad
Can you post a link to this story please? I believe the Nationalist has a website.
EDIT: Mentioned on the TippFM site here (thanks Schumi), I can only assume there aren't all that many Dwayne Burns around.
while town have lost some fantastic players they can still call on the likes of tony scully, john shanahan, aaron moroney, ian barnes, ronan stanley and raymie condon. its hardly a crisis sometimes clubs go through changes it happens most tipp clubs every 2 years!! this time its clonmel towns turn. st michaels have not won anything for 4 years i think so the "big" clubs are not immune to this. Mybe it will make for a more open league, maybe a different winner, maybe st michaels will take over for a few years now and then again dont be one bit surprised if clonmel town have won the league yet again!!
its just a transition the way it worked out a lot of players have left at the same time not because there is anything fundamentally wrong with the club but just for genuine reasons. costigan back to cahir centenary year and all that and apart from that i've heard that he will be concentrating on gaa anyway this year. Michael coady probably just had enough of travelling up and down 3 nights a week plus the fact there is a very good club on his doorstep. rory kiely to cork city which is fair enough. paul scully to injury. its just unfortunate that they all came at the same time other years it would have been maybe one at a time. as for trainin its hard when you have lost those numbers becuase apart from quality there is not that many players out there moving around. who would you like the club to sign?
carrick united.
yes signed for st michaels.
Im sure Celtic will give Paul a friendly reception Saturday night after his late defection to Saints.
Its going to be interesting to see where he plays if at all. There is a few new boys at Saints its going to be hard to keep them all happy, but i suppose thats a positive thing for the manager rather than putting out a patch work quilt.
So it begins the TSDL 09/10 nice to have something to talk about again. How do we survive without it......!:D:ball::D
i'm sure celtic wont give him any kind of reception. alot of players have left the club over the last few years just one of those things. you just get on with it.
i thought celtic were in position to mount a challenge after their cup win, must not be the case though if kennedys head was turned by saints. sets up a nice clash between the sides at the weekend
he is a very good player to lose alright. celtic will just carry on with what they have there is not much you can do about losing players you just have to get on with it and do as well as you can in each game. it's hard to know how celtic will do. they are not going to win the league that is for sure but hopefully they can win more games than they lose.
any reports on tonight's games?
Peake Villa 1-1 Clonmel Town
Aaron Moroney missed pen.
town drew one one with borris. Saints rock and peake also won
Was anyone at the Town game? I couldn't make it,wondering how they performed? The result was undoubtedly dissapointing..i hope it's not a sign for the rest of the season..we should really be beating Two Mile Borris. Not an ideal start..good result for Saints,,i thought they would struggle more against Celtic. If anyone can post about Town's performance i'd appreciate it:)
tough start for cashel in premier. Peake town and saints in first few games. Will have major bearing on season how many points they get early on
Peake bet Borris 2-1, just about deserved it. Borris will not be a pushover as some people seem to think this season. they have made signed some good players over pre season and will be very tough to beat
decent start so for peake two from two. Who have borris signed
Brian Barrett from Holycross and Gary Byrne is back playing again. big physical players which is what they needed. The Buckley lad is back playing who got a serious injury a few seasons ago which is like another new signing
Clonmel Town 1 - 1 Old Bridge
Clonmel Celtic 4 - 1 Cahir Park
Great result for Bridge tonight away to Town, would have been a nicer result if Bridge had beaten Rock last Sat night. Town don't look up to much definetly in transition period. Eoin Leahy put Bridge 1 up 5mins into 2nd half, Tony Scully replied with great header. Both teams could have won it at the end but Bridge defended real well when pressure was on.
Only sour point of the night was as usual TSDL refereeing decisions. John Teehan played nearly 10mins injury time , he was just waiting for Town to score, game didn't fin till 9pm it was practically dark and he kept playing and playing and giving Town frees and corners in quick succession.
Once again it shows that the refs want the big teams to win and will do anytin and give them enough chances to do so but at least tonight Town didn't get the goal and Bridge deserved the draw.
Few Town players got niggly and ratty as usual at the end when they couldn't get that 2nd goal, few little kicks out here and there but what's new....!!!! Come on the Bridge
so what do ye think now cashel??? league contenders?? try learning to walk before ye run ;)
Ron I wouldn't think a 2 1 defeat to saints is a bad result after all saints beat both town and villa last season and both them went on to play in a play off for the league.They are probably favourites to win the league this season with town being so weak. Our aim isn't to win the league this year but hopefull in the next 2 or 3. Needless to say Ron you weren't at the game last night as we done very well and on another day we could have got a draw out of it.
Lads what is going on with town their title challenge is pretty much gone after 2 games. I know they have lost players but i don't think anyone could have predicted this much of a fall.
I just think that saints started to show form at the end of last season when villa slipped up on a few occassions They went through last season unbeaten only for one or two stupid draws they would have won the league. Im not rulling villa out to win the league that would be madness as they have a good side.
A little unfair ron
Firstly, overall Michaels were better and deserved their victory. But (there's always a but isn't there!!!), had Fitzelle scored with a close in header early on, the whole game may have been different.
But yes, if my aunt had testicles and all that. Fair enough. The goals given away were sloppy, as was the penalty, which thankfully from our point of view was missed.
As always, finally.. refereeing decisions... some were ridiculous. Cashel were denied a cast iron penalty about 20 minutes before the end, and considering Michaels were a man down at that stage, could have caused a lot of jitters.
They won every 50/50 decision, and lets be honest and fair. But does anyone think it acceptable, that the father of St. Michaels most important player, spends time alone with the referee, in the referees dressing room, before the game starts?
Overall though, St Michaels did very well. They aren't unbeatable, but it'll take a very good team, who's on their game all night
ah i was only havin a laugh tryin to get a reaction, i do wish cashel all the best this year. and your spot on with michaels and the refs. we already heard about the injury time that was played in the complex. its a disgrace. then the refs wonder why they are not respected? who was sent off for michaels?? what are their new players like???????
i was at cooke park last sat night for the game against st michaels and celtic were denied two clear cut pen decisions. apparently after the game the referee told the celtic management that he may have made a mistake in not awarding them. would he have made the same mistake if it was the other way around i doubt it very much.
a little unfair is right,but he is right at the same time.cashel were very good last night and showed that they will be very hard to beat.going forward they are excellent,the likes of flynn,slattery and bargary showed they are top class players.in defence they were a little shaky and maybe thats what bet them last night.sloppy defending.
i think what really bet cashel last night was experience and lack of top flight football which i think they will pick up very quick with a few games under their belt.
as for decisions last night it is always the losing team that think they were treated badly.we had alot of decisions that went against us but i will admit the ref was not the best.the sending off of Pa Quinn was a definite sending off.but the penelty decision was never a penelty,just before that the cashel man handle it but nothing was givin.so you can say that it was 50/50 decisions.?
overall it was a good game.great result for us,2 from 2 and im hopin we continue this form and go on to win the league.i feel we are due one.clonmel town have an uphill battle.peake will be there or there abouts and thats it.
You're right about the losing sides always having the bigger issues and I didn't want to sound bitter (which I'm not because overall the better team on the night did win), but bias being bias, we'll always crib
Michaels were probably a little more tactically aware last night, actually going 4-2-4 at times, which takes confidence (or balls!!!) when playing away. It worked for them though
There's a nice mix of youth and experience in the team, but at the same time they could have been got at a little more in certain areas. I won't say where, let other teams figure that out.
Another huge factor, is Chalky. Plain and simple. He's not teh quickest anymore (but by no means slow), but positionally, he's top class, defending and attacking. But, more importantly, he's a leader. No-one questions him. If he says stand on your head, the Michaels player he says it to, stands on their head. Organisation like that, is hard to beat.
What they could cut out... Paul Kennedy's nonsense up front. Playacting, mouthing and generally acting the eejit. No need or place for it.
And last but not least, Cashels new pitch looked and by all accounts played, excellent. A credit to the club and all involved in it.