It was an ugly baby so who cares? go to bed!
Printable View
The findings of the report will be made public tomorrow, together with any disciplinary actions.
I think what should happen is: Limerick 37 fined €5000 for refusal to play the fixture. Wexford Youths to be fined €2500 for inadequate lighting to their training pitch and Mick Wallace to be fined €5000 for bringing the game into disrepute. Wexford to be awarded the three points. Matter over.
What I think will happen is: Match to be replayed. Wexford to be warned over their conduct and facilities. No sanctions for Wallace. Limerick 37 to receive token fine.
In other words, FAI fence sitting again.
Did the ref refuse to use the training pitch and/or say it was dangerous. If thats the case and the ref was informed the Limerick team would be leaving and the ref didn't refuse them permission, then Limerick should be awarded the points, what more can you do!!!! And Mick 'f*ckin spoofer' Wallace should be hit with a massive fine and have to shave his stupid head!
Mr Soap, I think you have it exactly, and your should explanation is the most logical, hence the reason the FAI is unlikely to go with it.
I'll have to ask every LOI supporter out there if they are sure that their club is 100% compliant with every licence requirement. If not, anything other than a conclusive decision will result in teams refusing to fulfill fixtures on technical grounds.
FAI, have the balls to make a firm decision (either way) and lets all move on
"It does appear that Limerick did not want to play the game. We had noted that it was strange that two of their better players, Gary Sheehan and John Tierney were not in the starting eleven for some reason. Maybe there was problems that we didn't know about."
Is that comment, and the repeating of something similar on the radio, what warrants a €5000 fine? Or am I missing something?
They both started the game before and after our "fixture". As far as I can make out, since June 20th Sheehan has started in all bar one of your games - he came on at half-time away to Kildare. Since he joined, Tierney has started in 7 games and came on in the other 2.
Not once since they've both been at the club have both of them been left on the bench. Seven games out of 9 they've both started - as far as I can make out. Now I know we're just Wexford but Athlone are just Athlone and they both started down there. Either of them friendly with NOC by any chance? :rolleyes:
Maybe Mick shouldn't have said what he said but he's known for speaking his mind. Don't know if a €5000 fine is warranted.
A question in general, what happens to money raised from fines (flares, disrepute, till rolls etc)?
Limerick didn't refuse to play because of a tecnicality, they refused to play because Mick Wally tried to force them to warm up on what the referee deemed a 'DANGEROUS' surface, also nobodys giving out about Wexfords facilities, ye could have the best facilities in the world but it's no good if its too DARK,:cool:
Blueblood, I'm torn between ignoring you or replying and 'cos I've whiskey taken, I'll have to take the 2nd option. You used the word force which is a little harsh. Just because our stewards pointed AK47s at your players gonads, doesn't mean they had to comply, it was their free decision. The referee said he had 'no objection' to L37 warming up on the main pitch, which is slightly different to your asserstion of the facts. I don't think I will be able to sleep tonight because you put the word dangerous in block capitals as well as inverted commas. I'd best leave the light on, just to be careful in case the bogey man comes to get me
You obviously fancy yourself as a bit of an amateur detective.
Well how come you can't see what's right under your nose??
Wexford are $hite.
Hence we rest some of our more valuable assets to avoid them being kicked around by mucksavages like Pakie (whatever) Malone.
:DQuote:
Either of them friendly with NOC by any chance?
I hear they're both signing for ye.
Monkeyman better get the chequebook out though, I'd say their "expenses" would be at least as hefty as Failure Sinnotts.
He's known for coming across like a doped up gibbon when asked anything but the most basic questions.Quote:
Maybe Mick shouldn't have said what he said but he's known for speaking his mind.
Oh it's one of those ironic nicknames. :D
First of all, this point has been dealt with in the early part of the thread and there's an unwritten rule about reading the entire thread if you're going to post. This is a practical rule in many ways as it saves us having to repeat the cast iron defence that when we play three games in seven days and one of them is against the team they had in mind when they invented the word 'minnows' we are inevitably going to rest a few of our better players and let our kitman and bus-driver get their yearly kickaround out of their system. :rolleyes:
I'm not implying that the poster you're attacking is incapable of defending himself but we attack the post not the poster and if you don't get a warning for that it's an absolute disgrace.
Actually you are missing something. No opposition manager has the right to sh1t stir and speculate about problems within the infrastructure of another side. It's not the done thing. It's none Wexfords business who we play or who we rest just like its none of ours when it comes to your team selection. It was a blatant attempt by Wallace at media manipulation, expertly taught to him over the years by Pat Dolan, thats why he should be fined in order to shut him up.
Nice innuendo about the lads being friendly with NOC. Why don't you just come out and say it-that Gary Sheehan also plays for a team managed by Noel and that is the reason he didn't / wouldn't play. Stop talking shi te will you.
So are Athlone..
To be honest all I knew was that Sheehan was friendly with NOC. One of the Wexford players told me this. Didn't know that he plays for him. Now that I do know that though, not sure if GenerationXI's defence is as cast iron as he says.
Not that I care if the lads weer going to play or not. My only point is that I don't think Wallaces statements warrant a €5000 fine, especially if "media manipulation" is his crime....
I think he should. And he should count himself lucky that fines aren't means tested...he would be done for half a mill :D
He definitely deserves some sort of reprimand although, to be honest, I think the league should take into account the fact that he's clearly incurred expense in obtaining and installing proper lighting on the second pitch. A slap on the wrist for both clubs and maybe even force them to play the replay at a neutral venue so both sides incur travel costs and neither is ensured of revenue.
I know things are getting heated here, but really it's not a big deal at this point. Although a new wave of bile might be unleashed when we see what steps are actually taken!
Oh so its all the stewards fault now:eek:, and limerick didn't have to comply with them :rolleyes:, oh sorry I didn't realise that was the case. Do leave the lights on, its dangerous running around in the dark even if you do have the best & second best bedrooms in the country:)
Well Mr. Blueblood, if you took time to read the posts to date, you would see there is an allegation of aggression against our stewards and your official club statement mentions 'forced to remain in the dressing rooms'. Sincere apologies if humour is not your thing
Well done on the result against Waterford, should help the goal difference over the weekend
No bile Mr GenerationXI, we don't do that kind of thing. Initial reports are (as I expected) a 3 points award to us and a fine to L37. I don't know how any other outcome could have been expected or you would have had the precedent of teams leaving grounds all over the place for spurious reasons. No word yet on any sanctions against the Youths, though I'll have to admit we didn't cover ourselves in glory over questioning team selection. As I said before, I am a footballing man and I don't think that was a matter for a public airing
Limerick appealing decision to award wexford points and €1000 fine.
Limerick are still looking for a retraction from mick wallace for his comments. they also go on to say that Limerick sent an official letter in July stating their concern about warming up on the back/second pitch in ferrycarraig and the eircom league's response was not very clear. they feel if they had been responded to clearly in july then none of this would have happened. They also mention that in the referees report he was happy about the way limerick conducted themselves on the night and he was not impressed by the wexford stewards so they feel the referees report was not taken into account enough.
Thats the jist of it anyway...
Reaction here
Interesting reaction, so perhaps the matter is not over yet. There is, however, a basic flaw in the defence by arguing that all matters should be based on the referee's report. This is not the case. Incidents such as this are governed by the rule book, taking in to account the reports of the referee, both teams and the FAI observer.
In addition, it now transpires that L37 questioned the standard of lighting some months ago and got an inconclusive response. I'd let that argument drop if I was involved with the club, as it could be considered that perhaps there was a premeditated decision taken to cause a fuss on the night.
everyhing isn't as black and white as that (was mostly pitch black:)) but there is a grey area to, where Wally and his gang wouldn't allow limerick warm up on their precious pitch and expected us to use an area deemed dangerous by the match official, and were then aggressive to our players and officials (allegedly, but true). What else would you expect from the FAI
I still think L37 are harming some of their arguments with exageration and inaccuracies with pitch black, dangerous and aggressive as examples. I don't think the rule book is grey at all on not fulfilling a fixture but the conduct of both teams is a matter for consideration, debate and opinion
As for 'allegedly, but true', I'm lovin' it:)
Oh everyone except Wally and his gang are exagerating (including the referee), Wexford deserve to be punished, even Wally's coments alone deserve a big fine, and possibly more. How is 'dangerous' and 'aggressive' exagerating? Sorry ye werent aggressive ye were, according to the ref ,'abusive' which is probably worse. That 'pitch black' comment followed by a little yellow smiley face is called humor but maybe thats not your thing ;)
I too find this to be rather the fulcrum of the whole affair and that it has only come out now is ludicrous. If Limerick got an 'inconclusive' answer to their query is one thing, that they didn't ensure the issue was sorted between July and October is downright idiotic. If they knew there were issues with the pitch - as this earlier correspondence would seem to indicate - then they should have endeavoured to obtain permission in advance of the fixture to warm up on the main pitch. I can't back the club up if they were seeking to rely on an 'inconclusive' ruling of the FAI when they could have sought assurances from either that body, the match officials (who are chosen in advance) or, indeed, Wexford Youths themselves.
The fine seems fair and the walkover too. Mick Wallace has lost a lot of respect across the board for this, but an official repeal of his comments must be called for. It's downright unprofessional.
What was always a good natured fixture will now become quite nasty between our clubs for the near future.Wallace in particular will get a very hard time(and deserved so).We always took the P$$% in a fun way but i fear it will be of a more aggresive manner next time.I always admired Wexford and Wallace and what he has done however i can only hope and pray that the current financial crises ruins him.
Cannot believe Wexford got no punishment for their part in this debacle.
To wish someone ruin over a football match a few comments is a bit harsh in fairness.
Wexford may be still be punished for this but dont forget Wexford have already lost a good bit of money on this game. cost of printing up programs tickets, food that had to thrown out. Not using this as an excuse to escape a fine as I do believe should get punished for comments and have previoulsy stated Wallace comments where not right
you see its starting already!;)
your right of course and i was only baiting the wexford fans, its only football at the end of the day. Still angry that so far you lot have got off.
I believe we should just pay the fine and move on.
So many reasonable comments from L37 fans to date and then this. Why should the fixture be 'nasty' in future, unless that is what you desire. Now you're talking about aggression and hoping for the ruin of a man just because he made comments that he should really have kept to himself. You are not a footballing person and I doubt many genuine L37 supporters are proud of your comments. Look to the likes of Generation XI for clear concise arguement and my friend Jebus on how to direct your thoughts with a bit of passion (and a little humour).
The fact you half retracted it later on is no excuse.
Jeez you are sooooooooo uptight. I,ve been supporting Limerick for longer than most here and if you cant see some of the humour in my comments,sorry .As i said in my last post iTS ONLY FOOTBALL!!!!!! I was only rising you lot.
If you want this to be super serious we can go that route.
Whether meant in jest or not I can promise you there's a sizeable minority (myself included) who wholeheartedly agree with them.
And before you start bleating on about genuine fans, I've spent over two thirds of my life following our loveable losers in their various guises
:p :D :eek:Quote:
Look to the likes of Generation XI for clear concise arguement
The funniest thing I have read on any forum, ever.
And I'm a regular over at football365.
Oldyouth,I think i need to explain to you my comments as you seem to have difficulty reading between the lines. As you you've never been to a Lim v shels game at Jackman(i presume) you'll not know how heated our supporters get and some of the chants and songs can be very "nasty and aggresive" and it is in this context i was giving a personal opinion.I meant it in no way to mean in a physical manner.
I would appreciate if you keep your personal attacks on me to a minimum.
In relation to "you are not a football person" thats rich coming from a place where you could'nt mention the word football outside a GAA context till the late 90's without incurring the PPs wrath from the pulpit on a sunday morning.
You've been very selective of my posts which seems to be a wexford thing at the minute.
Even if you said them in jest, it has had the effect of LTID to declare that he (and a majority) wholeheartedly agree with your comments. Effectively. you have stirred up a situation that has no place in football or a discussion about football. If you want Wexford Youths to be the new Shels for your 'nasty and aggressive' songs, look elsewhere, we are here to play football.
I am not having a personal attack on you but I am criticising your comments. I have a right to do so. By the way, I do consider myself a 'footballing man' and to clarify, I was not born and reared in Wexford, but have spent the last 23 years here. From the age of around 12, I have always tried to take in a couple of live games a week. Not stadium stuff but any old game be it schoolboy, parish sides or pub teams. My Saturday is spent with my son's team at U16 and I head out on Sunday morning to get the papers and then find a game on a local pitch. If there is none, I go up and watch the Youth's training session.
I agree that this is a Gaaah stronghold but Mick Wallace is doing his best to promote the game down here and should not be called (by other Limerick posters) Hitler, Monkeyman, Doped up Gibbon etc. All through this debate, I have never put any abuse towards your players, management or club.
I have not been selective in picking out your posts for particular attention, it's just that they stood out
Again your missing the point.I'm not stirring up anything! I'm reading the situation as i see it.I'm personnaly a bit old in the tooth for all the chanting malarky and only wish to support my team in apositive manner.But i do think you'll need to face reality when you travel up here next time. On some of my earlier posts here i declared my admiration for Wexford and wallace and what you.ve done there.and wished that this situtation would end. Fair play to you on supporting local football as i do.My daughter made the Limerick ladies team this season and its a lot of my time travelling around to match's and training which i'm delighted to do.but i took offence to your "not a fooball person" comment when all i was doing is relating facts however unfortunate they are as i see them unfolding.
I have no wish to fall out with anyone on this forum and i hope you accept my apology if i offended you.
LK37 oldskool, that's the trouble with e-mail and posting on forums, you only see what is put in front of you and not the person behind it. I accept that you must indeed be a footballing man for supporting your daughter to play the game in the first place and then to travel with her to games.Fair play to you.
My biggest flaw is that I get overly defensive when unfounded criticism is pointed at my club, which I believe is unique in what it is trying to achieve, i.e top level football for lads who work and live in the area. I had abandoned LOI football for over 25 years until the Youths were formed and if the likes of Sporting Fingal landed next door to me, I don't think I would have bothered going to games.
We let all kids under 12 in to our games for free, to encourage an ongoing cycle of fans for generations to come and my sons travel to all the away games with the supporters club. It angers me to think they might have to stop doing this if it became possible for trouble to greet them at some grounds. (and there are some already that I won't let them go to) I hope this is not the case, so perhaps it is up to the likes of you and me to diffuse the situation.
I reserve the right to disagree with any comments posted here but your apology is not necessary if they were made in the context you suggest. It was good of you to offer though
Ok,point taken and we'll agree to disagree on certain points but i accept your argument on makin things better .Most of the lads are very passionate about their club too and at the moment the apparent escape of wexford from some form of punishment in this debacle angers them and i can only say in my defence that i shot from the hip without too much thought.
Next time your in Limerock for a game the pot noodles and tea are on me!