Thought Joxer and his legs (still unbroken as they are, in spite of aspirations otherwise here) did a great job for that first goal.
Printable View
Thought Joxer and his legs (still unbroken as they are, in spite of aspirations otherwise here) did a great job for that first goal.
When was the last game played on that pitch and were there any training sessions on it this week? how many times has your games been postponed or cancelled this season and when we played ye the last time (2 2 draw) it wasnt so hot either. For a brand new facility (the pitch)it seems to be having a lot of problems IMO
There were under 19 international games on the pitch during the week but Flancare had the same amount and I've rarely seen the pitch looking as well as it was on Thursday. Fair enough there's been a bit of rain around here since but not that much I wouldn't have thought!
20 Euro to stand on a death trap of a terrace is a disgrace and they wonder why they cant get people through the gates
Pitch was playable at 2pm but we had heavy persistant rain since 10 am that morning. It rained up in Athlone virtually every day for the past two weeks. League were contacted at 3pm and asked did they want to get the pitch inspected as water was starting to lay on it round the centre circle. They sent out a ref who decided that unless there was a guarantee that the rain would stop for an hour so the pitch could drain then it wasnt definite that the match could be finished.
So he called it off. It was the right decision as it was still pouring rain at 7.30pm and it would have become dangerous.
Your team were contacted in advance of the pitch inspection and as soon as I knew that it was off I contacted Joe to let you all know.
As for matches played on the pitch this week, you know how many there were but that has no bearing on it.
As for training on the pitch. We dont even allow teams warm up on the pitch never mind train that is what our second pitch is for.
To be honest I don't think that the pitch was any worse with water laying on it than what we played Galway on the previous Friday in the Cup but each referee can look at things in a different way.
Any links for St Pats against Sligo online?
Cheers
Was down in the stadium this morning and the pitch was fine.
Safety reasons would be the pitch becoming dangerous for players if anymore water fell on it.
just watched that pats sligo rovers match just now... pats committed the biggest daylight robbery since shergar.. sligo rovers were by far the better team and they should have won.. they would have won if kudozovic was still playin with them..
we were robbed:mad:
Pats had the luck of a top team. Teams like Rovers never get a 92nd minute winner.
Fair play to them, though. That late goal is as valid as one scored in the first minute. Can't fault any of our players for effort. You could see that Boco and Almeida were really crushed by losing so late on.
Sligo were the better team by some distance, they just got a little unlucky with Brush fumbling straight to 'D Lynch' as Jefferies called him.
Pats were disappointing, maybe one eye on the UEFA Cup game, like not getting an injury etc. They were sloppy most of time when entering the final third.
Sligo were by far the better team alright, Cretaro and Boco were outstanding. Their work-rate and quality on the ball was top notch.
Sligos final ball was the only downside for them throughout the 90 minutes, they didn't really threaten the Pats goal enough.
Fair played to Pats though, they kept going to the final whistle and kept the title race open, a loss or draw would have been disastrous for them.
yeah fair play to Pats
absolutely gutted to lose the game
our lads gave it their all,
just missing someone to tap the ball home for us.
i watched the game in a local pub and was really proud to call myself a SRFC supporter,
the attitude our lads approached the game was first classs.
Paul Cook is A Rovers legend
Cook is more of a man than most of the other managers in the league. Never makes excuses, tells it straight, and always gets the best from whatever players he has.Quote:
:eek:doesn't take much to become a legend in Sligo
Very much doubt that Fenlon would be doing better in Cook's shoes.
If JMC left pats would like Cook as next manager. Sligo play nice football regardless of players and considering the issues there hes done very well.
We robbed them tonight but they had noone who could nick a goal and we have loads of them.
ref was awful stupid amount of yellows shown.
not gonna fault players or manager for having an eye on thursday biggest Euro game in clubs history and we should be beating Sligo with whatever 11 we send out.
kdjac