Personally, I couldn't give a flying feck as to how "great" O'Brien is or otherwise.
The only relevance I find in this donation is that it paved the way for Traps appointment.
Printable View
It really is as simple as that. This thread is about Irish football and this country's appointment of a truly top grade manager for the first time ever. (We got lucky with Jack). The means to do so requires money - lots of money. Money rules football. Where the FAI get it from is inconsequential. This is sport. Not politics.
There are other places to discuss the merits of DOBs entrepreneurial tactics. This isnt it.
This is a good thing for Irish Soccer - It really is simple.
Also pretty ironic that 95% of those who sneer at DOBs donation will support premiership clubs bankrolled by the same kind of people. The only difference is DOBs getting nothing in return.
Yep, it's his money and he can do with it what he wants. It's a pity more of the super rich don't want to contribute to sport in Ireland in their own way. It's only a small donation in terms of his own wealth but it's significant for the FAI.
It's a start, but it'd be nice if O'Brien, Jordan et al got together and financed a national academy for the FAI, or maybe invested directly in their local eLOI club. It's what I'd do if I had the odd hundred million to spare!
Aw didums. Basically 'I can't win the argument so I want the thread closed.' Basically as I said earlier. It's a marriage of convenience. I'm happy to see Trapatonni in there. The FAI were right to take the money. But I do not see any need to need to praise O'Brien. Calling someone anyone who asks a few questions about this guy 'a bitter left winger' is a very lazy argument. If Michael O'Leary or Fergal Quinn or any of the vast majority of hard working Irish entrepreneurs had given the money I wouldn't have batted an eyelid because as far as I know their money doesn't have a smell off it.
Isn’t it great that we live in a society with such high moral standards? And I’m sure away from this forum these same people live by these standards, b*****x they do! Given half a chance any one of yee would try and pay less tax if ye could.
And the whole Denis O’Brien’s an exile and doesn’t pay any tax shame on him argument galls me , its rich for residents of a country like ours to be playing that card. Our Celtic tiger was built on providing tax incentives for large foreign companies i.e. enticing foreign owned companies to set up a base here so they didn’t have to pay a higher rate of tax in their own country! I don’t remember the uproar when these companies set up here and provided us with the lifestyle improvements a vast majority of us enjoy today, so crawl out of your arses-s and just be glad that a very smart business-man put some of his money into something we all can enjoy.
P.S. I hope you all boycotted bono’s music when he decided he didn’t want to pay tax to his native land and set up base abroad?
I haven't read the comments here. I suspect there are a host of begrudgers but we live in Ireland afterall.
Money to pay the manager frees up money to go to other areas of football in Ireland. That's all that matters.
A man is entitled to do with his money what he wills. An entrepreneur who made a fortune. Good luck to him and to the Irish team. The FAI are not rolling in cash so it's great news.
Lads, it is simple. D O'B is a businesman who, like many others, took advantage of the captitalist system and it's inbuilt corrupt politicians to make his fortune and bugger off without paying meanignful tax on it. That, unfortunately is the way of the world much as that sort of behaviour is anthema to some of us.
I'm delighted he gave the money but that doesn't make hima hero in my eyes, as people have said it's a drop in the ocean to him. The FAI would have been fools not to take it and when you look at McManus's donations to the GAA etc it shouldn't be looked upon as a big deal. I do have reservations about the fact that he said last night he was involved before Staunton's sacking, that was a stupid thing to say and lays things open to scrutiny. In reality however everyone knew Stan was a dead man walking.
The other point to make is that had he paid his €80m in taxes it propbably would have been p1ssed away along with the massive budget surpluses enjoyed during the 'boom' years that never managed to find their way into building a decent infrastructure, public transport system, health service etc. If I had that sort of wedge and saw the wastage and incompetence shown at every turn by the government of the last 11 years I'd be loath to pay tax on it myself.....
No, I'd be feckin paying it in taxes. I have zero time for O'Leary, but as has been said he at least lives in this country and pays taxes in this country. Is it okay for me as a PAYE worker to evade tax because the current Government a useless wasters? So why is it morally acceptable for the likes of O'Brien to avoid tax?
To repeat what I said earlier, the FAI were right to take the money, however as has also been pointed out this is extra money - nothing extra will go to the grassroots.
Don't wanna sound like an eejit but what exactly did he do??? (I was away the last week and i'm not reading the first 50 odd pages to find out)