They can, Ive seen Dundalk fans get refused entrance to Tolka and Dalymount before.
The fact is the Gardai caught a lad fighting on the street in a brawl, and let him go without even a warning and into the ground. They could start doing their jobs!
Printable View
No idea, to be honest, I never heard any follow-up. Presumably the club and the individual would be responsible - the club would be liable for damages and the individual for criminal and civil charges. Seemingly one of the earlier incidents at Dundalk this year resulting in two people being hit, one requiring hospital treatment. Again, there's no information on what happened after: http://talkofthetown.ie/2014/05/19/d...ares-at-games/
That's what I was thinking, so if what we assume is correct and the FAI can't or won't be held liable for damages caused by flare use, what motivates them to come down so hard on their use? Do they think their use is bad for public relations maybe? Easy money from fines? Am I correct in thinking smoking cigarettes inside stadiums is illegal in Ireland? Perhaps not - are stadiums deemed to be enclosed workplaces? - but that also has obvious health implications. To the best of my knowledge though, the FAI don't dish out fines when clubs' supporters are caught smoking inside stadiums.
Smoking is not allowed in Covered Areas, I know its enforced in the Stand in Oriel but not the Shed.
They use to announce no smoking throughout the ground in any covered areas, but now they just state no smoking in the Stand.
Tallaght dont let you smoke, Stewards were asking Dundalk fans to put them out at the Setanta Final and the League game a few weeks back
Yeah, covered stands count under the smoking legislation. It's ignored in the East Stand in Tallaght, assume the away end is a lot more tightly policed, especially when Dundalk hooligans are in town.
He probably did get a warning.The Guards likely thought that that was all his actions warranted and the best solution was to get him into the match were he could sober up(or if not drunk then to cop on to himself) & then get his bus home without him being a further drain on resources.
Haha, the question remains though, why the FAI concern themselves so specifically with flares (they're given explicit mention in the participation agreement) but not, say, supporters illegally smoking or drinking within grounds... They leave dealing with the latter matters to the clubs concerned.
Maybe because flares have a higher risk of causing an injury directly? That is to say, a can of beer or a cigarette don't have the same instant ability to hurt someone like a lit flare does. Of course, we all know that beer and fags have dangers attached to them in that kind of situation - alcohol especially with the effect it can have on a person - but I understand why the FAI might consider flares a higher priority.
There might also just be a feeling that flares are something the FAI can do a bit about. You can smoke and drink and have a good chance of getting away with it at matches because it might be hard to spot. You can't avoid the possible repercussions of lighting a flare though, the act itself is designed to draw attention.
And yet the background to the official league site is a smoke bomb crowd/ floodlight shot...
Flairs etc to add to atmosphere at game but I agree with Mr A in previous page flairs etc on their own or in a small crowd do very little its fans chants and songs that create the atmosphere at games.
Re the incidents at Drogs vs Dundalk, it was childish of people to break in a graffiti United Park, no decent fan would do this to any club regardless of rivalries.
Its no where near as bad in Ireland as in other countries, but the Gardai have to step up. From what I've seen they seem more interetsted in getting a few whack at some one with the truncheon than arresting and if they are arrested they are out in a few hours. Name taken and one warning given then if they do it again they get a season ban for attending any FAI/LOI games. Bans increased if they continue. Until such measure are in place it will continue.
Watching a program there a few night ago on BBC3 about English hooligans, one of them a Man City fan came over for the Bohs Vs Shams derby with some of the Shams boys he knows and said despite he got a bit of a beating from the Gardai it was one of his best away trips as no arrest
Apparently he is big into the BNP/EDL which is a bit strange him having the craic with shamrock rovers fans in Ireland......
Never seen any of those bellends at Rovers matches so can only assume they're day trippers who only show up for Bohs away. I do remember the lad in the blue jacket with the hole in his head stumbling in halfway through the match alright, he thought he was mad. Haven't seen him since, unsurprisingly.
There was a bit where that so called man city fan was kinda giving out that most of his crew went to watch the match leaving him with only 4 lads to face the opposition. Also had a bit saying that he recruited young lads form the lower leagues to come fight with them.Just show how much they actually care about the football clubs
I met a very interesting, obviously-intelligent and well-educated Preston North End-supporting chap at an after-gathering to a night out a few months back; a friend of a friend of a friend. We discussed football, supporter culture, politics and Irish history (he had Irish roots so was plenty knowledgable) amongst other things. He was an avowed and active anti-fascist with communist leanings/Irish republican sympathies and, to my surprise, went on to make an eloquent case for hooliganism. I'm not saying he necessarily convinced me of its merits, but he did try to make a compelling argument - I was certainly engaged - and it was fascinating to hear such a perspective from someone who looked and sounded like the complete anthithesis of what you might expect a northern English hooligan to look and sound like. He gave me his blog's web address where you can have a read of his written defence of hooliganism if interested: http://northernladsclub.wordpress.co...f-hooligansim/
Edit: How did we end up talking about hooliganism on a thread about flares and smokebombs, by the way? The two are not necessary partners! :pQuote:
Originally Posted by DR