Don't forget Neil, when it comes to things relating to Arsenal, I'm a neutral and objective.
Printable View
Don't forget Neil, when it comes to things relating to Arsenal, I'm a neutral and objective.
Wow Neil....that was insightful but unnecessary. All I am saying is that if you are so apalled by this sort of thing then this should have been the last in a long line of threads in this world cup. Predictably it wasn't. :rolleyes:Quote:
Originally Posted by NeilMcD
haven't commented on this thread to date, but i think it is fair to say that henry has been easily the biggest 'star' to be unmasked as a cheat so far, and accordingly gets a thread. if you look at the 2002 threads, amid all the roy keane threads the only one about a cheat is rivaldo. there was other cheating in that world cup, but rivaldo was the biggest name to be caught on camera deliberately trying to get an opponent sent off. 4 years on, henry is the biggest name that is caught cheating on camera.Quote:
Originally Posted by KarlosIRL
he probably doesn't deserve a reputation for it, because off the top of my head, i cannot remember him ever diving for arsenal, but he will now be always known as an amazing and brilliant footballer, but also a dirty cheater.
Henry cheated once and people want to mark him for life. Mentioning Roy Keane there, is it forgotten that he was the first or one of the first to be booked for a blatant dive in the the penalty area?
Quote:
Originally Posted by KarlosIRL
Not sure what you are getting at here. I cannot post on every player as I simply dont have the time. I have answered this question already. The reason I posted was timing but it was also the fact that Henry has been so outspoken about diving in the game. In addition he still denies he dived. I think Arsenal fans get very touchy when you dare criticise their players. I wish people would take off their Man Utd, Or Spurs or Liverpool or Arsenal hats when commenting on football and try to look at incidents in a fair and balanced manner. oh to Finish Ginola was a diving ****er also.
Henry did not dive - of that there is no doubt I think since there was clearly contact between the players. What he did was feign injury to his face.
Semantics. I would class feigning injury and diving in the same category and feigning injury is possibly worse.
IMO we are to naieve when it comes to "cheating"
As far as im concerned Henry done what benefited his team its his duty to do what ever he can to win.If someone sticks a leg out in the box go down
if someone catches you after missing the ball in a tackle go down like a ton of bricks get him booked sent off even better.Its your responsibility to your team mates and manager the sooner we cop on the better.Managers encourage it believe me in this country and england we just arent as good at it.
Divers and cheaters are the modern day hard men they use cunning and deceit instead of physical intimidation
Its an art in itself if a very black one
Well I dont like it and it should be stamped out of the game, the same way that the hard men were stamped out of the game and ruined the 1990 world cup, are you watching Mick Mc Carthy
Not semantics at all. A dive and feigning injury are two totally different things, albeit both are cheating. It is also important in the context of the game since if it was a dive, a free kick should not have been awarded and France would not have scored.Quote:
I think it was not a free and it should not have been awarded and I am not the only person who thinks that.
You seem to be confusing duty with self-interest.Quote:
Originally Posted by hoops1
Amen to that. Lead by example, I say! :) :DQuote:
Anyway, I'll leave yis to it. :)
The only hat I have is the Ireland ha Fair play to France by the way hope they win the tournament now.
Peeps into forum, sit's and waits for Rooney the Cheat and Ronaldo the cheat threads to be started by outraged football observers....dum de dum.....
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clifford
You'll have a long wait as everyone has taken off their 'hats' at Neil's request! :D :)
:rolleyes:Quote:
Originally Posted by Clifford
both lived up to their stereotypes, and played as expected. henry's mask was dropped and we got to see that he is a cheat like van nistlerooy, gerrard, robben etc. the difference is the hypicrosy of henry leads to this thread.
I dont understand the sensitivity regarding Henry.
I don't understand the vitriol for once holding his face when struck. That's all.
Where is the vitriol.