Quote:
Originally Posted by SÓC
thats the one
Printable View
Quote:
Originally Posted by SÓC
thats the one
Are we talking about the same guy who made a show of himself on Setanta Sports after the Shels game?Quote:
Originally Posted by SÓC
Hardly what I'd call professional! :rolleyes:
glad to hear it. there was a nasty atmosphere surrounding some of those fellas IMO, and i wasn't even on the bus.Quote:
Originally Posted by Colm
Gamble and Benno were the best for me, I thought Georgie worked very hard but he wasn't effective enough- conditions played their part in that. Behan also played very well.Quote:
Why did ye all have to go up in the stand- there was a grand atmosphere in the first half, would have been better if we'd all stayed together!! We sang quite a bit towards the end alright.Quote:
At this stage, does it really matter? He is obviously going to go to games, as he is perfectly entitled to do. As far as I'm concerned he should be treated just like every other individual in the stands at Flancare last night- a person who went to watch the game. Why are we even talking about him, Cork City played Longford last night- 1,000 people (approx) were there, he was only one of them. We won, we're top of the league- thats all I'm worried about nowQuote:
Originally Posted by SÓC
As I said, it was nothing to do with the atmosphere. It was just that it was too cold and wet behind the goal, especially when I didn't have a jacket with me!Quote:
Originally Posted by Éanna
at the end of the match last nite behind the goal almost everyone behind the goal was chanting rico which personaly i was glad hear as it shows people are starting to move on and supporting city takes precedent over any one person. im a big dolan fan and its great to see him supporting city but the club comes first not dolan.
TBH... i thought everybody was gonna go overQuote:
Originally Posted by Éanna
Damn, if I knew ye were going over Id have followed you, it was FREEZING!!! :mad: And I didnt bother bringing a jacket either :rolleyes: With the weather, no roof and a cr@p game, and a cr@p view you're hardly going to get a great atmosphere.Quote:
Originally Posted by thecorner
Thought "Cerany", Behan, George and Hoggie were the best, but no one played badly except maybe Billy (lack of interest) & Kev (lack of interest too for a good while). Although Dan doesnt look like a world beater he wasnt too bad in fairness (except his last kick, you know the clearence/cross to the town player but I think that might have been cought by the wind which was cronic last night). Still only one goal conseeded this year remember!
Did anyone read the programme last night? Towns manager and chairman seemed to have little digs at Rico because of his punditory on eL Weekly :rolleyes: . Seemed a bit petty to be honest.
That whinging, moany f*ck who manages Longford is at it again....:rolleyes:
He is quoted as saying "Cork never hurt us".....:rolleyes:
What an assh*le. He says this after every City game, when his team of boggers, rejects and hatchet men have been beaten yet again by us.
If getting 23 points from the last possible 27 against that tosspot is not "hurting" a team, I would hate to see what we will do to him when we really hurt them!
Is Whinger Matthews really Max Power?..:rolleyes:
hes also complaining in the echo
"the tackle on alan murphy was a disgrace and thats not right in the game
hes gone off to hospital with a suspected broken ankle and that annoys me. its what you have come to expect though in the ga,e and why wasnt the offeding player not booked or red carded"
He said the exact same things when we beat them 2-0 up in longford last year.He said O'Brien had no saves to make either.He obviously had at least one save to make anyway!!
Myself and a few others went into the stand at half time but the view was that crap, a couple of us went back behind the goal at the start of the second half.
I'd say about 150-180 City fans were there. Atomsphere wasn't the best but what do you expect on a night like that with the weather as it was?! :rolleyes:
Spot on summary there Colm.Quote:
Just back from the game after a detour through Ennis where the beer is sweet.
Crowd: Covered stand almost three quarters full, mostly local support.
City supporters behind one goal, I would say 190 to 200 shivering souls.
The singing was OK at times, but clapping was useless with numb hands and fingers.
Conditions were miserable, with loads of passes slipping over the side line for both teams.
Team:
Devine
Hoggie Benno Murray Murphy
Woods Gamble Georgie Kearney
Behan Doyler
Subs: Greg, Colin, Fenn, Shane Long, McNulty.
Devine:7. Longford corners looked dangerous but Devine was very effective catching the greasy ball despite jostling. Made one outstanding save tipping a rasping shot over the centre of the goal early in the second half.
Hoggie: 7. Kept really busy until Longford realised there was not much point going down that side. Tackled really well, and supplied some decent balls for midfield.
Benno: 9. Player of the match for me. Rock solid in defence and came forward when he had a chance. Took two half chances well, and forced two saves from headers.
Murray: 4. Dan defended high balls well with his heading ability, but anything that came through on the deck left him flat footed. In the first half, he mysteriously signalled Benno to tackle a player who was driving for the penalty area, even though Dan himself was more than a yard nearer! He is the banana skin of the side. I hope that Rico has the courage to drop him.
Danny: 8. Very strong. At times he came forward so well he was like a fifth midfielder, playing wide, and setting up Kearney and Georgie for some good runs. Whatever ball Longford got in from the right side, they were delivered with little accuracy.
Billy: 5. Looked tired. Little penetration. Took no shot on goal despite having two reasonable chances at sort of long range with the wind behind him. Noticeably slow covering back, leaving others covering for him. Maybe he is not up to playing three matches in seven days.
Gamble: 8. Another Colin O'Brien in style, only better. Battled everywhere, chasing everything, and winning back possession again and again. He is an outstanding asset to the team.
Georgie: 7. Good game, but his nimble footwork looked a bit bogged down at times on the wet turf. Had to cover a lot for Billy. Kept the ball on the deck, which was the only time we created anything, linking with Kearney more than Doyler. Should be named captain, IMO, when Dan Murray is dropped.
Kearney: 8. The usual sparkling runs which yielded four or maybe five free kicks when the frustrated Longford defence could not cope with his trickery.
Behan: 5. Apart from the goal (which was at the other end and hard to see what went on) he did not have a great game, IMO. He was marked tightly, but even when he managed to find space, his first touch was dire. On the plus side, he took a good free kick 25 yards out, mid way in the first half. He beat the wall, forcing a good save from a fully stretched keeper.
Doyler: 7. Never saw a player marked so tightly. Did not get many chances to play, but did manage one header on target (saved), and managed two weak shots (both wide) after skipping around a couple of defenders.
Subs: None used, unless you count Colin O'Brien coming on for Behan in the 92nd minute.
The ref: 6. Fair, but missed a lot of rash challenges including Georgie's chop on a Longford defender from which he was strechered off. He did flash a few yellows when things got a bit tense, including one to Behan when he could easily have seen red for retaliation.
Overall, we needed a second goal to make us safe. In the last quarter Longford looked threatening on the break, and concentrated on runs down the middle where Dan Murray was no great shakes. They wasted a lot of good possession by putting several shots way over the bar or wide.
Right through the game there were a couple of prats blowing whistles. You could never be sure when it was the ref who was blowing. This interference has to stop.
Lastly, whoever had the loudspeaker in the first half, he used it to call for Dan Murray to be taken off. I think this is not acceptable. It is fair enough to pass comment after the final whistle, but the guy does not need to be undermined by his own "supporters" in the middle of a game.