I will be putting a lot of money on Shams on Tuesday
Printable View
Strange to be feeling ambivalent about a Rovers-Shams game. But it's only the League Cup, and with the current junta providing so much entertainment, regime change in Tallaght would be a shame. Not to mention that if we're to maintain our outside hope of retaining the title, distractions need to be kept to a minimum - we simply don't have the resources for these kind of multi-pronged assaults.
Great crowd and atmosphere from both sets of fans. Although there were a few Athlone 'fans' behind the goal that were giving some stewards dogs abuse and mad to get a row going. I'd say real Athlone fans didn't recognise any of them. There's a pic doing the rounds of these 5 or 6 fine young individuals! I was in town afterwards and happened to bump into these fine decent chaps and lets just say they got the row they were looking for!! They won't be coming back to Longford in a hurry!!
Fackin claret everywhere mate
Great crowd in Longford but it does seem like Athlone will take the title at this stage.Roddy has been there before and he should have what it takes to bring them up....I wonder will he be linked with Bohs come seasons end though
Yeah they definitely weren't there for the football anyways! Great crowd all the same apart from the few that were there for trouble.
Pat Fenlon to Shamrock Rovers !!
Can someone email picture to info@athlonetownfc.ie and I will pass onto management and matchday committee
I was just told there was no fight involving the lads in question. They got back to Athlone well before our bus so in no way could they have went into the Town and caused trouble. They were abit rowdy towards stewards and guards though.
Well the boys that I seen giving lip in the ground, there was 3 of them involved in a skirmish in town after the game and were left in a heap on the ground. Well deserved what they got and no I wasn't involved in the beating that was handed out to them!! :D
Fair play to the genuine Athlone town fans who won't stand for that element in their club. Everything is there for Athlone to be a great addition to the premier division so it's great to see the genuine fans won't let a few idiots ruin it for the rest. That's exactly what all LOI clubs need to do.
Terrible result for Trevor Croly in the Edinburgh derby.
Who bet them, come on man, everyone knows everyone around here, I don't wanna miss the gossip :)
I know a few of the Athlone town lads and a few supported us in our top flight days.. so if we dont go up and athlone go up and they are playing in Dublin I will be happy to give my support for the lads.. its midland football after all!
Name and shame them!
Nice of Colin Hawkins to get on his feet twice last night when 'Stand up for the champions' was sang in the main stand.