I don't know what's that strange about that tbh - some fans are obviously closer to what's going than others, never mind in terms of location. I'm not sure of the relevance really, bar a diversionary tactic.
Printable View
I don't know what's that strange about that tbh - some fans are obviously closer to what's going than others, never mind in terms of location. I'm not sure of the relevance really, bar a diversionary tactic.
A diversionary tactic - from what? Have the revenue issued a winding up order? The money had to be paid by last Friday according to the Daily Mail, even though it was cleared a few weeks before then:rolleyes:
It was a bull**** article, the lack of a revenue winding up order proves that. Several Drogs were on here immediately confirming it was false. Everyone else seems to be of the opinion that there was no substance in the story, yet me pointing out that you claim to know more about our club finances (after a bull**** story appears in the paper) than what goes on at your own club is a tactic to divert away from the fact that the revenue are winding us up.
Sweet God, I don't care what you believe, say it as often as you want, it still won't make it true.
But Sean's confirmed that you need €100,000 in extra fundraising to break even this season. And no one actually answered Mr A's question whether you were behind with the tax (accepting it is settled). I don't see what the big deal is about asking questions in those circumstances.
Who the hell cares? Mr A and pineapple have far too much time on their hands imo. You're asking about a not for profit/companies tax details on an internet forum! Lets get Peter Halpin or Vincent Hoey on here to confirm it for the fans of small insignificant clubs like Finn Harps, Longford Town and UCD!:rolleyes:
Get a life lads!
Football fans discuss football related matters on football forum shocker!
It's the same when such small insignificant clubs are playing Bohs, especially in Dalyer. Their fans go into apoplexy if the opposition have the temerity not to roll over for the Big Club. "Come on Bohs deal with these f*ckin minnows!" was one cry that I remember particularly. It wasn't amazing wit either, yer man was genuinely angry.
Longford were the particular irritant at the time but I'm sure much the same sentiments apply to the others!.
Lads, if ye don't want to discuss the topic, don't bother posting on it; simple. Some want to discuss it, and stuff like "Who cares; your all stupid and bitter" is just trolling in that regard. Stay on topic or go to another thread, FFS.
I think the point is, this 'no smoke without fire' discussion is pointless and does no one any favours. Both the club and its fans have said that the article was rubbish yet some persist. For years everyone has been calling for more transparency. Our club announce that part of the annual budget will be made up by fund-raising and people are questioning it ????
I agree with Sean
I think the current facts are -
> It was reported that Drogheda were threatened with a winding up order if tax wasn't paid.
> No winding up order has issued, so either the report was wrong or the tax was paid.
> This was discussed at a public meeting which had been arranged a week beforehand for the purposes of fundraising for the coming season.
> Drogheda's budget contains an income item of E100k from fundraising. This seems reasonable, in fairness, although there's not much of a safety net if the target isn't met.
The only real issue people are now querying is citizen smith's post on the Drogheda forum where he accepted that a balance of E50k was due, but that it had recently been paid. The questions then are - is he correct in what he says (and he puts himself about as one with the inside track, but that doesn't necessarily mean he's correct) and if he is correct, is it a concern that Drogheda built up a tax arrears of E50k less than a year after coming out of examinership? In addition, if citizen smith's post is correct, then it means that the newspaper article has some basis.
This is the post (which Mr A also alluded to) -
Quote:
Originally Posted by citizen smith
Citizen Smith is full of it at the best of times! From the same thread, this is the post you should be reading:
Revenue have not mentioned any winding up order. They have a strict (and rightly so) agreement with the club which is being settled.
Ba dum tish!