One what? Sky News? Sky Sports News?
If like to see the clip if it is available online.
Printable View
Totally agree. McCarthys development has been consistent with pretty much each year of his career and there is every chance a few top clubs will be sniffing around during the summer. I personally hope the Wigan team around him can improve and he stays there for another year or two. No need for him to be rushing off to a bigger club like so many have and regretted.
I doubt very much it matters to him that a few team mates are Scottish.
The Scots gave him a hard time at Hamilton, he's since publicly on several occasions committed to Ireland, so I don't see him going back on that. It's not like choosing a club to play for, it means a lot more to just casually change due to others around you(Clark didn't receive abuse from English fans and anyway he's stated it was always his first choice but they never approached him, I doubt Dunne convinced him to turn, I'd say it was more ''I'll ring the FAI and tell them your interested)
The only way he'll switch allegiance is if he has the personality of a S.Ireland, and that would be a 1 in a million
At this point while I admit he shouldn't have to address this every week, James could end all this with a 2 second statement reiterating his commitment to Ireland.
My biggest question is even if he wants to stay will he even get picked for the March game or are we going to have to deal with this for another seemingly endless amount of time.
'Extended' Trap interview coming up on the Nations Cup highlights show on RTE2.
this argument raged long before he went to england. He was playing for Hamilton with a team full of Scots, including McArthur while representing us.
Ray Houghton also about to discuss James McCarthy "in more detail" in a few minutes on RTE Two.
Tony O'Donoghue really is a slithering sh*t when it comes to after match interviews. Don't try to be coy, or smarmy, Tony, if you've a fu*king question to ask of a professional footballer, ask the bloody question. The question he put to MacArthur was cringeworthy.
Edit, I mean that in relation to TOD being a professional journalist.
Well if people run en masse down a blind alley, so be it. Which personally think is a little silly hence my comment.
But it's not intended to be overly personal!
As for McCarthy, like I say wish him well, but be amazed if he turns out anything like as good as you imply. Just don't see that level of potential myself.
Appreciate Gibson is nothing overly special, but even average players don't forge out a career for Fergie, for nothing. And much as I detest the man, he might just be a better judge of a player than most on here....
Kenny Cunningham the voice of reason as per usual.
Jaysus, that interview with Trapattoni has me worried now. He said that it's up to McCarthy who he wants to play for and he didn't say anything to encourage James. He said its the same situation as Stephen Ireland which isn't likely to make James McCarthy too happy.
Runaway train..............runaway train..............runaway train................
The lack of tact on display from some quarters in the last few days does beggar belief.
I don't believe Trapatonni rates McCarthy and does not believe he can do the job that Whelan, Green and less so(in Traps eyes) Gibson and Fahey. He is manufacturing a situation whereby the player himself makes the decision not to be involved. Same applies to his new view of Keane (especially after the Slovakian game). Annoy(bordering on ridicule) the player publicly and force him to make the decision. Hence the comments today about McCarthy and the Vancouver Whitecap stuff in reference to Keane. Trapatonni is a very, very clever man. I don't buy his bumbling Englitalian craic one bit. The bottom line is IMO Trapatonni does not believe McCarthy is good/disciplined enough to stick to Trap's strategy and Keane is past it. I strongly disagree on both counts but Trapatonni feels he can do without both.
Trap said it was the same as the SI thing, then when asked to clarify, he emphasised that it was exactly the same.
I suppose that would explain a lot.
Personally I would crave to have James in the team, but this is international football, if he does not have that desire then I have no qualms about another player who would be honoured to play, in there instead.
And if James walks away, then good luck to him, no hard feelings.
I would rather Trapattoni walk away than McCarthy.
Trap lobbing the ball into McCarthy's court with those comments. Can't see him naming the guy in his next squad if he equates him to Stephen Ireland! Sh*tstorm set to continue.
He doesn't equate James to SI, he equates the situation as exactly the same i.e. the player has to state his choice.
I think Trap understands quite well the honour it is to play for your country. If James understands that honour, then there is no problem with choosing Ireland. Maybe it will all become clearer soon enough.
Wooooooooooooooh. No full moon but Trapatonni is doing nothing unusual in his football manager land. He got rid of both Reid's and made some very damaging public comments about Stephen Reid's injury. And I guarantee you that his comments today about Gibson leaving United mean Gibson will not start against Macedonia if Whelan and Green are fit. Its his way of doing things. And I don't believe he wants to go down as the Irish manager who dropped Keane.
I missed the highlights and interviews, but judging about what has been said it's not sounding like a good situation. He can't axe Robbie Keane sure we will score no goals up front anyway with Doyle and Walters. McCarthy either plays for us or he doesn't i'd prefer the situation to be made clear to us by the time the next qualifier in March comes about.
I'd say the worst thing that could happen would be for James to Google his own name and end up reading
some of the bull**** and conjecture in this thread.
Please no Green he is terrible, and every time he plays I know he is going to give the ball to our opponents at least 20 times. I agree about the Stephen Reid injury I said this before here and got the Trap fan club saying I was way off the mark. McCarthy is about 10 times the player Green ever can be. We will not qualify with Green in midfield Russia ran through him like he wasn't there.
One puzzle though are the comments that Noel King made after he spoke with James recently.
"Him not being in the senior squad wasn't even mentioned, he is keen to play for Ireland and that's not in doubt "
Well he didn't FANCY Pirlo when he was the Italian boss cos he didn't suit his system. Gattusso was asked about this and said half the time the players didn't know what they were doing and the results showed that. There is no system really otherwise we wouldn't be getting murdered by Russia at home. Big Jack did have a system and Brady paid for not following it(And getting old). The Trap gang will come back and tell me we were unbeaten in the last campaign although we only won 4 games. If Trap thinks he's getting a new contract by discarding any talented player in midfield and playing utterly useless ones he's another thing coming
Given suggested that perhaps modern players don't treat playing for the national team as seriously as they did when he was younger. I'm inclined to agree with that sentiment.
Trap is quite clearly an evil genius in the charge of the Presbyterian Church of Scotland who's been sent on a mission to impoverish the FAI (and Denis O'Brien), recapture the prized McCarthy, drive Robbie Keane into retirement (and the Olympic Stadium) and to neutralise our most lethal assets, Andy Reid's guitar solos. He got half way there, but by god we're on to him now...
Some of you people need to shut the laptop for a few hours. If James goes to play for Scotland it's because he wants to play for Scotland, not because some journalist who wanted to stir the pot induced Trapattoni to put his foot in his mouth and then forwarded the comments eagerly to McCarthy's agent.
Levein is on the BBC as saying all options to be pursued or some such phrase, the piece is in relation to Gary Hooper and James McCarthy.
Here : http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/scotland/9391709.stm
I get the feeling more and more there is something in this and that Trap is the wrong wrong wrong man to have dealing with it, we will need McCarthy a lot longer than we need Trap.
any links to the McArthur interview and Trap press conference today?
I don't see how McCarthy wouldn't fit into Trap's system. He has all the attributes required to do the job and I was half-expecting him to start before he pulled out of the squad.
His PR could use serious work. But Andy Reid's tearing it up for Blackpool and Steven Reid retired, not because he got his feelings hurt by some geriatric Italian, but because he decided to concentrate on club football. It's simply hair-pullingly disingenuous to suggest otherwise. So I don't see how you can go from 'he's poor with media' to 'Trap shot JR!' or whatever tin-hatted conspiracy theory you posted earlier.
Full moon indeed.