Lads log off for the weekend and get some fresh air and sun 👍
Printable View
Lads log off for the weekend and get some fresh air and sun 👍
Stephen Kenny lets rip at both Caulfield and Bradley
Quote:
“John Caulfield put a statement out that we paid a massive fee for Georgie Kelly which is being completely dishonest and untrue,” he said. “We didn’t pay any fee for Georgie.
He admits that he thinks Bradley makes no senseQuote:
They’ve signed a ‘Premiership player’ and we’ve signed a player from the first division,” he added.
Quote:
“His (Bradley’s) criticism didn’t make sense to me at all. It’s just a bit of bravado and playing to the gallery. I felt he wanted to criticise Dundalk to keep people happy.”
He points out that Dundalk have come from nothing and have earned their way to being able to spend as they see fit.
Quote:
Kenny pointed out that Dundalk won the league title in 2014 with a squad that was assembled with a minimal budget.
“Don’t talk to me about resources,” he said. “If Tommy Barrett or Martin Russell want to explain about the disparity in resources, absolutely. They have tough jobs but the manager of Shamrock Rovers and Cork? They are big clubs with very good resources.“We won the league with a back four of Sean Gannon, who was on the fringes at St Pat’s, Brian Gartland, who finished at Portadown, Dane Massey, who was at Bray, and Andy Boyle, who was at Shelbourne in the first division.
“We had Darren Meehan, who we signed off a PFAI course after a shoulder operation, we signed Pat Hoban from Mervue while John Mountney, Chris Shields and Peter Cherrie were in a relegation play-off the year before. Don’t talk to me about resources.”
That's hard to argue with
https://dundalksport.ie/dfc-bravado-...d-7c6efe53f5cf
Vinny Perth’s response when asked about recent articles quoting comments from John Caulfield and Stephen Bradley about Dundalk (from 3:45 onwards)
I’d be telling you lies if I said I did not see both articles. Both of them have factually incorrect pieces in them. But whether you have people commenting or not on us is their own business
We haven’t overspend in any way shape or form, but let’s just clear up – the manager here in this club has probably earned somewhere in the region of €7.5 or €8.5 Million so if he does happen to spend money on a player, well we have earned the right to do that. No one else has done that.
I’ve got a lot of footage to watch on our European opponents. All our focus is always one game a week, so we’ve got a busy weekend – I really don’t care what other people are saying, we just focus on ourselves
I really only care about the team in Estonia at the moment, and that’s where the focus will be
https://audioboom.com/posts/6923502-vinny-perth
It would be hard to argue with if Bradley and Caulfield were saying they could never compete in the past with Dfc. They are saying they can't compete financially TODAY. Kenny would be better off instead of rising to it using vinny perths line.....we've earned it and are entitled to spend it. That is dfc"s right . It doesn't need justifying or defending imo.
If Kenny could win the league on such meagre resources, then he should have no problems from now on!
Don't talk to me about resources! Clubs now fighting about how poor they were!
"We haven’t overspend in any way shape or form, but let’s just clear up – the manager here in this club has probably earned somewhere in the region of €7.5 or €8.5 Million so if he does happen to spend money on a player, well we have earned the right to do that. No one else has done that."
This is a fair point. That said, I don't think anyone is denying that though. Dundalk have earned the money, and the investment, that they're now spending.
Its more than that though.
Kenny is saying to Bradley that he won a league with a collection of players he pulled together from Shels, Bray, Mervue, PFAI courses, and the remains of Dundalk side that were saved from relegation only because Monaghan United did the decent think and left the league when they ran into financial trouble.
This happened a couple of years after Rovers huge success in getting to the Europa League stage.
Kenny is showing him that he could compete, and WIN at title in those circumstances, while Bradley can only whinge about how he can't. A whinge that becomes self fulfilling.
Kenny can say stupid things at times, but this time he has hit the nail on the head, and real supporters of Shamrock Rovers would do well to listen.
Agreed that they are both saying they can't compete financially today - and that's precisely because of what Stephen Kenny and Dundalk have done in the recent past, building from next-to-nothing from 2013. it is up to Cork or Rovers to try to emulate that rather than be defeatist about it or use it as an excuse.
But I'm sure you realise that they have said much more than that - in Caulfields case it appears that he said things that aren't true about the Georigie Kelly signing, while Bradley is simply talking nonsense with his "foolish" commentary
Generally I would prefer if Stephen Kenny did not engage with what other manager say, but he is perfectly entitled to set the record straight when other managers are maliciously commenting on his transfers
Caulfield and Bradley should concentrate on trying to close the gap, although I think neither of them are capable of doing so
I don't understand the dundalk claim that they paid nothing for Kelly. Surely at a minimum they would owe UCD compensation. Also, why would UCD let him go in the middle of a season while they're top of the league, with no financial incentive?
Who knows what the deal was that Dundalk did with UCD for Kelly or how much they paid Oldham and who cares anyway ?
I'm sure none of us on here know the details.
I don't know about Rovers but I do know that City can't compete with Dundalk financially so we'll just have to do it some other way.
That's just the way things are.
I'd much prefer if managers didn't comment at all & just concentrate of their own squads.
You and John Caulfield it would appear.
The difference is that Caulfield made this statement earlier in the week:
“The financial packages were huge. UCD got a serious transfer fee because Georgie Kelly was a professional."
At least you simply admit to not understanding
Stephen Kenny obviously knows, John Caulfield obviously doesn't.
John Caulfield obviously cares enough to make false claims
For anyone who wants to actually understand the details the link was already posted, but here it is again
https://dundalksport.ie/dfc-bravado-...d-7c6efe53f5cf
It's the same at all levels Keith long said in response to a journalist that he couldn't compete with rovers financially I didn't take that as whinging just an honest answer to a question. I've the height of respect for the job long is doing (obviously while hating him and all things bohs:) )
Of more note from a football perspective Gavin Bazuna is literally an amazing talent. I hope we can hang o to him for a couple of years but suspect he might be off sooner
No agreement exempts ye from the fee for training compensation at the least, which can be a decent sum. But no idea how much in this particular case, obviously.
As for being upset that Caulfield commented despite not knowing the facts, nothing new there or surprising. Im more surprised Kenny felt the need to reply. The 3 managers having a go off each other is good craic though, livens stuff up.
Unlike others, I think it would be far more boring if they all kept their opinions to themselves and stopped trying to wind each other up.
Can someone point me to Kenny's comments when Cork signed a player from the "Premiership"?
I can't seem to find them.
I doubt that Keith Long has ever petulantly commented on a Rovers signing and spoke nonsense about it "making the league look foolish", or looking "very, very *foolish from the outside, to English clubs or about "respect and demanding fees" and "strange scenarios".
Don't whinge about a disparity in resources - do something about it.
Keith Long seems to embrace this attitude with 2 wins and a draw from 3 league matches with Shams this season
Did he comment at the time? Was he asked at the time?
He mentions it in the link above, but in response to Caulfields comments.