No one likes them
Printable View
No one likes them
Have Shels always been considered the smallest supported team of the four Dublin clubs? Rovers top, Bohs and Pats close second? I know Bohs historically would be closer to Rovers but over the past 20 odd years? Hopefully with upcoming ground redevelopment could we see both those clubs possibly settle at an average if 5k?
I'd say Pats were smaller than Shels in the last century. Up until the Kerr and Pat Dolan eras they hadn't had much success, and from memory their crowds weren't great at all. Being exiled in Harolds Cross for a few years didn't help either. That said, I also recall Bohs strugging on the fans and success front in the 1980s and 90s as well.
I seem to remember them being outnumbered at home to Linfield in the first Setanta Cup. I think so too when Bohs won the title in Tolka in 2002/2003 but was living abroad so can’t actually remember for sure. They never really had a huge support in the hay days of the 90s/00s.
They certainly have done well post COVID on the attendances as have Bohs and Pats. You would imagine though if either of those two were in Shels current league position all games would be certain full houses. Still though fair play to them for fighting to hold onto Tolka and building a presence off the field. I thought the possible move to ground share at the time would have killed the club or put it to the Leinster senior league.
3017 at Tallaght
Many Galway there?
https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soc...paign=sharebar
Bohs / Rovers game is being considered to be played behind closed doors.
(Other options being considered.... but to even bring this up, my god...)
You honestly have to wonder what state AGS are in if they can't police an LOI fixture with less than 5,000 at it on the same day as a Coldplay concert.
They may as well advertise to every hood and skanger in town that it'll be a free for all on that day as their resource is tied-up baby-sitting 30+ year old middle class moms at Croke Park :D
I think it's not just the Coldplay gig and Bohs v Rovers match though. It's been a summer of unrest & protest. The few Gardai I do know are severely overworked. They could already be struggling to get enough bodies for the Coldplay gig then add onto that a derby match that kicks off so early it could easily be a 12-13 hour day for anyone who signs up for it. The government parties have a lot to answer for letting so many things get so bad in this country.
Wasn't there all Ireland semi finals on with Taylor Swift, Marley Park and Gay Pride last month ?
Why is a LOI game special?
Not to be so conspiracy based... but there has been an onslaught of negativity around the league in the last 2 weeks from Politicans and journalists/ media.
It is so very unlikely I don't even want to let myself believe it could happen, but Pat's causing an upset on Wednesday would be very fun to see how the wider footballing media would handle that narrative.
As for the Bohs/Rovers game, is there really a major risk of trouble? I know we've had random incidents of eejits being eejits lately, maybe more so post covid, but how bad are we talking here? I've never been to a Bohs/Rovers game so I don't know what kind of issues we're talking about.
PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 4,249 (4,243 {2023}; 3,209 {2022};2,878{19}; 2,148; 2,006; 1,627; 1,724; 1,395; 1,597; 1,496; 1,488)
Derry - 2,776 (3,336; 3,184; 2,049; 2,297; 1,517; 1,563; 1,124; 1,106; 1,446; 1,460; 2,135)
Drogheda - 2,033 (1,916; 1,941; 721 FD; ; 377 FD; 850; 583 FD; 813; 1,064; 817; 977; 811)
Dundalk - 2,414 (2,636; 2,689; 2,775; 2,738; 2,674; 2,738; 3,158; 2,534; 1,997; 949; 1,355)
Galway - 2,832 (2,018 FD; 2,081 FD; 780 FD; 746 FD; 1,376; 1,169; 1,290; 975 FD)
Pat's - 4,438 (4,232; 3,489; 1,919; 1,621; 1,504; 1,088; 1,321; 1,386; 1,687; 1,474; 1,346)
Rovers - 5,720 (6,109; 5,379; 3,384; 2,749; 2,809; 2,041; 2,890; 2,269; 2,763; 3,127; 3,779)
Shels - 4,189 (3,393; 2,913; 1,071 FD; 654 FD; 496 FD; 554 FD; 596 FD; 713 FD; 1,114; 1,187; 781 FD)
Sligo - 2,800 (2,555; 2,166; 1,995; 1,853; 1,717; 1,750; 1,750; 1,959; 2,342; 3,007; 2,103)
Waterford - 2,866 (1,833 FD; 1,705 FD; 1,496; 2,329; 1,550 FD; 314 FD; 460 FD; 470 FD; 478 FD; 453 FD; 466 FD)
FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 702 (872; 307; 382; 130; 154; 156; 314; 653 PD; 754; 271; 200)
Bray - 608 (663; 482; 773; 643 PD; 966 PD; 957 PD; 769 PD; 718 PD; 891 PD; 965 PD; 1,121 PD)
Cobh - 804 (1,020; 872; 268; 236; 358; 403; 366; 223; 439; 2008 - 1,122 PD; 681)
Cork - 2,900 (3,666 PD; 3,517; 2,505 PD; 4,245 PD; 4,559 PD; 2,533 PD; 3,263 PD; 3,777 PD; 1,965 PD; 2,786 PD; 2,128)
Harps - 1,052 (1,154; 1,293 PD; 1,154 PD; 708; 1,202 PD; 1,216 PD; 784; 449; 479; 429; 433; 644)
Kerry - 609 (784)
Longford - 457 (679; 500; 610; 449; 342; 488 PD; 803 PD; 567; 379; 365; 315)
Treaty - 1,204 (642; 695)
UCD - 303 (809 PD; 953 PD; 739 PD; 365; 236; 297; 216; 397 PD; 487 PD; 506 PD; 558 PD; 610 PD)
Wexford - 549 (689; 445; 235; 181; 338; 585 PD; 553; 331; 227; 302; 216)
PREMIER AVERAGE: 3,421 (3,289; 2,687; 2,185; 2,170; 1,902; 1,476; 1,681; 1,502; 1,566; 1,630; 1,547)
FIRST DIVISION AVERAGE: 919 (1,035; 1,193; 586; 413; 477; 476; 486; 495; 391; 372; 578)
OVERALL AVERAGE: 2,152 (2,162; 2,051; 1,500; 1,249; 1,387; 1,117; 1,249; 1,160; 1,140; 1,125; 1,110)
OVERALL PREMIER ATTENDANCE: 465,226 (592,093; 486,365; 393,238; 316,515; 376,627; 292,204; 332,805; 297,334)
OVERALL FIRST ATTENDANCE: 128,621 (186,369; 178,000; 79,115; 55,756; 53,461; 52,807; 54,474; 55,408)
OVERALL COMBINED ATTENDANCE: 593,847 (778,462; 664,365; 472,353; 372,271; 430,088; 345,011; 387,279; 352,742)
985 at Finn Park