I just hope that their time in prison is tough enough so they don't come out and look at it as a badge of honour. Fair play to the pub owner, PSNI and the justice system in the north.
Printable View
I just hope that their time in prison is tough enough so they don't come out and look at it as a badge of honour. Fair play to the pub owner, PSNI and the justice system in the north.
Will they not be in Magilligan, rather than Maghaberry?
The reason these guys were crying in court was almost certainly through relief- because the magistrate had just explained to them what would have happened if Pineapple Stu had happened to witness their shenanigans, and compared to that 3 months inside seemed like a holiday.
As a life long Bohs fan I'm absolutely disgusted at what these lads have done in Derry. I would however like to point out one thing,
One of the lads who has been jailed attended the games with myself and a few friends up until he moved away from us and into the "casual" crowd. Up until this point he was a grand young lad and used to love coming to the games purely to watch a match. This young lad was very easily led so was obviously taken in by all of this absolute casual b*llix which seems to be what these younger kids look up to at Bohs games.
Now I do nothing but condemn what happened in Derry but I think it's time for the older lads who have obviously filled the three youngest lads heads full of crap to take a long hard look at themselves and realise that it's a game of football and nothing else.
Any casuals who read this and wish to comment etc .... please do.
Aidan
Gerry Conways comments seem to jar with what the Bohs fans are saying on here. I can understand that he's trying to do a PR spin job but it just makes him look like an apologist on behalf of these scumbags by trying to brush it under the carpet.
He'd be better acknowledging there is an ongoing problem with a small minority of "fans" (can't think of a more appropriate word) and asking why the Gardai can't deal with it in a similar way to the PSNI.
Interesting point that the incident has been branded football related on the news while it was anti sectarian laws/criminal damage laws that were used to convict.
Stoopid Republicanism??
Fellas acting the Maggot??
It's become obvious to me that this was infact the work of renegade Shamrock Rovers fans and has nothing to do with Bohs.
I know this for a FACT. Some fella told me and the fella that told him knows one of the convicts brothers cousins.......
Besides Bohs are the Loyalist club
Took a few pages for this to make it into the mix..... the one club with a supposed protestant heritage in the Republic has so-called supporters sent down for wrecking a pub in a predominantly protestant location.
The swift action of the PSNI & the judicial system "up north" has so much to recommend itself. Unfortunately, we are all too slow "down here" to learn the lesssons.
Well Gerry Conway did mention Rovers quite a few times in the interview I heard, obviously trying to deflect attention away from his club.
I don't know what Gc was up to. At two away games this season where there's been bother between BSC and other Bohs fans, i was sitting within a few seats of the two Gerrys (Cuffe and Conway) so if i saw it, he saw it.
He'd have been better off acknowledging we have a problem, explaining the limits of what we can do - police Dalymount - and what we can't do - police the BSC miles from any football ground - commend the PSNI, offer the sympathy of the club to the bar owner, and ask that the gardai and the dept. of Justice consider the situation carefully and work with football clubs to eradicate this in the republic.
I just want to echo what Aido has said above.While not knowing this guy he speaks of too well I have met him in the past at a number of games and know him to say hello to.When he started supporting Bohs he was just like anyother young fella who enjoyed watching the matches much as I did.But soon he fell into the trap of following the casual element within the club.i think the tears in the dock may show that this guy really is not as much of a scumbag as his actions suggest.The only thing I regret from this incident is that they didnt get the root of the problem and that is a number of individuals who need to be weeded out NOW!!
The only thing I hope is that the other younger guys who idolise these older morons now see exactly what trouble their actions can get them into and desist from following them like sheep.
Maybe some good can come out of this situation.
My question now falls to the Gardai as to why it has taken the PSNI to begin to solve this problem which has been growing for the last 5 years or so.The first signs of it appeared in Cobh in our playoff a number of years ago.Since then numbers in this group have continued to grow.
RT They were outside the pub down from the Oakgrove for a long time and then at round seven o'clock they started walking towards the town in the direction of the Bishop Street gate, the Fountain area is right beside this gate and there is a dedicated walkway into the area as part of the gate. They just walked in and the first pub you come across is the Tavern Bar.
So I would suggest that as there were more Derry Fans around the oakgrove they decided not to cause trouble there so took advantage of being so close to the fountain and went in there looking for a fight.
So the pub was unfortunatly the first one they came across and decided to attack that
And the Fountain area is not hard to miss so local collusion is also out.
This incident has quite probably the most reported incident relating to the EL I have ever seen. "Chunky" media slots on the irish channels have been devoted to it. Pity they didnt put the same amount of emphasis on the match itself.
Less use of the word "Proddy" please.
It's in a very recognisable Protestant area. The fact that the Fountain is fenced/caged off makes it stand out a mile. It is also the only Protestant enclave on the city side, and is on the edge of the city centre, so it's not like they were spoilt for choice.
To get to the Oakgrove from the city centre, you would have to go down Bishop St Without. One side of that street is almost entirely taken up by a c. 100 metre long section of wall with high-netting/fencing on top that hems in one side of the Fountain. Walking past it, it would be blindingly obvious that there was something different about an area caged in like that. There is also an old jail tower along that section of wall (where Wolfe Tone was incarcerated when captured off Lough Swilly en route back from France) that almost always has the Union Flag fluttering from the top of it. So take your wildest guess as to how they clocked that the Fountain was a protestant area....
As AAD pointed out - the Tavern would be the first pub you would come across when you walked into the Fountain through an unimpeeded/obvious route form the direction of the Oakgrove.
As for local collusion - they may or may not have got into conversation with a few locals asking what that fenced off area was, or where the protestant areas were etc. That wouldn't be the same as having local supporters who willingly teed-up the pub for attack. Again - stop trying to spread the blame and implicate the people of Derry in an incident that they were clearly the victims of.
Anyways - I'm surprised you needed to ask the above, as I thought you were the expert on Derry, from your in-depth knowledge of tourist movements within the city....? :rolleyes:
Steve, I am still not sure, if these lads or some of them are thick like has been pointed out earlier that they would be able differentiate between pubs. I am not suggesting collusion, but they must have found out somehow....Quote:
So the pub was unfortunatly the first one they came across and decided to attack that
And the Fountain area is not hard to miss so local collusion is also out.
So now that we can identify some of these muppets, I assume Bohs will have them barred from Dalymount and will provide every other club with stewards for away games to ensure they don't get entry to away matches either?
See my explanation above POS.
Even Stevie Wonder would be able to tell the Fountain was a Protestant area.
It's a fairly safe bet that a pub in a protestant area - particularly one next to the Protestant cathedral and within sight of painted kerb-stones/murals - is likely to have a protestant clientele.
Reagrdless - I don't know Belfast particularly well, but I'd still know that places like Sandy Row (on edge of University area) or Tigers Bay were protestant enclaves. I didn't require 'collusion' to know that.
Collusion is a very strong word. For what it's worth, the story doing the rounds is that they were drinking with local heads who were more than happy to point the coked up morons in the direction of the bar in question. Of the 30 or so involved in the incident, only the stupidest 4 went down.
I neither know nor care if this is true by the way. They did the crime, let them do the time.
It's probably the thick ones that were caught.
I was at the game and Bohs fans were brilliant (as has been discussed on a Derry forum). It was so disheartening to hear about this yesterday and while I expect most EL fans know the difference between the club, it's fans and these people I know non football fans will see this as what Bohs fans do.
RT please refrain from using "P-rod" and such like. Cop yourself on. Things like this can be discussed without name calling.
If you're in a nationalist area of the north and you see an area fenced-in with a Union flag flying, red white n' blue kerbstones, and Unionist murals - no wait, your right. I can't see how anyone might think that was a Protestant area.... :o
Good to see your idiocy knows no bounds in terms of the topics it is willing to reveal itself in.
Please stop the whole 'Prod'/'Proddy sh!t as well.
One more case of sectarianism in this thread will result in suspension and/or bannings.
1) That mural is not situated where you walk/look down from the University (i.e. where someone would 'stumble' upon Sandy Row coming form a city centre/neutral direction).
2) The Fountain has a very similar mural on the left as you walk under the arch beside the Cathedral : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:L...Kaihsu_Tai.JPG
That picture also shows you the painted kerbstones the Bohs muppets would've had sight of from the pub they attacked. Still can't work out how they realised it was a protestant area, slow kid....?
Not that I know or care what being Merked is, but I suspect I've just done it to you. And I went large for an extra 30p.
So not for the first time - I really think you should stop digging.....
If you drive from Dublin to Derry you pass through towns such as New Buildings and Sion Mills. The red white and blue paving stones and the union flags do give a slight hint as to the political leanings of the locals. ditto for green, white and gold paving stones and tricolours.
However I'm still inclined to believe there was a tipoff because those 4 muppets are probably to thick to figure out anything for themselves.
The Bohemian board have finally issued a statement. The second last para is a doozy
Statement from Bohemian Football Club
The Board of the Bohemian Football Club condemns unreservedly the actions of the individuals charged and convicted of criminal offences in Derry. The Board welcomes the sentences of the court in these cases. They send a clear signal to those intent on causing trouble.
In recent years Bohemian FC has invested significant resources in a bid to permanently remove a small minority of troublemakers. During this period almost 20 people have been banned permanently from Dalymount Park. We have recently introduced measures aimed at ensuring in as far as possible that these known troublemakers do not gain access to away grounds
Some of the individuals involved in the Derry incident are among those who are banned from Dalymount Park and similar life bans will issue to others identified during court proceedings in Derry
Bohemian Football Club wishes to make it clear that those involved travelled independently and were not part of the group of some 300 supporters who travelled on the 6 coaches the club organised for the official trip. The arrangements to put that initiative in place were facilitated with the sporting assistance of Derry City Football Club. In all some 600 genuine supporters travelled, mixed freely with Derry City fans prior to the game without a hint of trouble and supported our team superbly
Club President Gerry Cuffe said “we are sure we speak for these supporters and all genuine fans and reflect the deep sense of anger felt within the club by condemning totally this mindless minority”
Violent behaviour is an increasing problem within society in general and sporting clubs, including the Bohemian Football Club, are not immune to this trend. The assumed attachment to our club and other bodies and events as a flag of convenience to mask reprehensible activities indicates the mindset society is dealing with in these instances.
The Bohemian Football club is a club wholly owned by its members and dedicated to sport and to being part of a community – an involvement that stretches back almost 120 years. It exists for its members and genuine fans who, as a significant body of responsible citizens, will do all in our power to assist the authorities to stamp out the type of behaviour witnessed in Derry.
Last Updated ( Thursday, 11 October 2007 )
Yeah didn't the board make an official effort to try to get back some BSC flag or banner that was stolen a few years back?
And that 'BSC: Perverts of Society' banner has been on display nearly all season.
LOL at this being society's fault.