I feel strongly enough that we should not return to the old season that i'd protest outside Merrion Square if was ever to happen.
Like most NL fans, I voted to play in Summer, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. However, the Summer Holiday question is going to crop up EVERY summer, and I fear that over time, the smaller clubs will gang up to change back to winter for their own reasons, and all the good work that has been achieved in the last few years will be wasted. As usual, selfish short-term interest will win over the long-term good of the league, and we'll end up like the Northern Irish league, going nowhere. :(Quote:
Originally Posted by Shelsman
Clicked winter in error :o , summer all the way for me. The European results have proved beyond doubt that it is beneficial to the teams in the league.
2week mid season break perhaps give the players a week to go away, still think holidays should'nt have a big bearing on it though, as i said they can head to the snow !
I couldn't give a monkies what the players think.
They get paid to entertain, I'm the customer and they'll damn well play when it suits me, not when it suits them.
There is still a view within football that the League should be run for benefit of the officials and the players. Which is one of the reasons why attendences are crap.
"They don't get a summer holiday"!!! Boo-f*cking-ho. Haven't they heard of winter sun?
What a ridiculous statement,maybe we should put up a sign outside the gorund."Fans,unless you are hardcore and intend to attend every single match this season,dont bother coming in"Quote:
Dont agree with players wanting holidays but was dissapointed the way osam and scully only focused on the players asking for holidays and not the other aspects.To ask to change back to winter just because players want holidays would be ridiculous
No, pathetic and disgusting because your attitude is demeaning to the league you claim to support. With fans as "committed" as you, the league will never go anywhere.Quote:
Originally Posted by johno
I'm not slagging off any small club, I'm disagreeing with the manager of a club that has been very successful in recent years,and which I respect greatly.Quote:
If longford beat us on sunday, then fair enough. I'll be disappointed, but I'm sure I'll get over it. Once it isn't because of a dodgy ref or somethingQuote:
spot on. on a (sort of) related note, what is people's obsession with taking their holidays in the summer?! Its the only time of year we get half-decent weather, surely its better to go off to Spain/Portugal/Morocco in the middle of winter, when its ****ing rain here and its 20+ over there :confused:Quote:
Originally Posted by OneRedArmy
Tradition Eanna. Apparantly, the league must conform to the demands of about 100 LOI players, so they can take their holidays when it suits them, and hold up the league's development, while they're at it. :rolleyes:Quote:
Originally Posted by Éanna
We all split our sides laughing down here, when Glentoran's players couldn't disturb their holidays to play Shels. Do we want that to happen here?? :o
Youse are using the Footballer's holidays to mask the real issues. It's only a minor thing imo (far less important than the 100's of fans missing while they're on the holliers).
Shelsman - you want to wake up to the realities of having a life outside of football.
I've lost all respect for Matthews over this. Is he insane? Does he want to go back to getting hammered in Europe? Oh wait :D
Attendances have not been down or up overall. The facts are that teams are playing on better pitches and are (longford excepted) getting better results in Europe.
WTF would we want to go back? :eek:
Scully was spot on on monday night. Players holidays? Are you for real? That smacks of amateurism and harks back to the bad old days when one of our players didnt play in Turkey in 98 cos he had booked his hols. Lets leave those days far behind us.
Stick to the real issues. Improving facilities, 10 team premier, audits of ALL clubs, increased marketing and throwing out convicted criminals running clubs.
Anybody got spare welsh flags?! We'll need them for the 30th :D
I can take the stick (well this year where it's justified), but other teams haven't done to well in Europe either with the summer season. Shels and Cork last season, Cork this season - progress getting worse as summer seasons go on... ;)Quote:
Originally Posted by NY Hoop
This is the most important thing, moreso than winter or summer football. Make it unacceptable for clubs to live beyond their means. As far as I can see only really Harps and Rovers that are genuinely doing so (including us).Quote:
Macy you are too level headed to be a longford fan :D
See you on the 30th. If you're bringing cop on we can accommodate him/it in the boez bog!!
Quote:
For people with kids it's when the kids are off from school.
I agree that it's better go somewhere in the Autumn or winter though and for me it's summer soccer all the way - i think it's the best thing the league ever did. I think there's a hell of a lot of things that clubs and the league could do to improve attendances without reverting to playing football in a mud bath again.
Ever read Kimmage's Rough Ride? Clubs in the eL are doing the equivalent of the domestiques he talks about taking drugs - (financial) doping to survive, not even to win in most cases. It's it's not if there's going to be another club in trouble more a case of who and when....Quote:
Has to be Summer soccer,good quality pitches,better atmosphere (usually),and much easier to travel to and from games and of course much better quality photos.Having said all that,it has dented attendances especially in rural areas where there is an inevitable clash with local GAA,but it is then up to the relevant clubs PROs to find solutions to the problem and to entice as many "bums to seats" as they can.Plenty of them around.:DQuote:
Winning a Europen tie is MUCH bigger than winning a domestic cup final -why? because you have to be sucessfull domestically to qualify for Europe in the first place and you are then playing the BEST teams from the other European countries, most of which have stronger leagues and clubs than us.Quote:
Cork City won their place by playing good football over a full season, yet ye got into Europe last season by winning around just four consecutive FAI cup games, one of which was against a non-league team and another against a First Division club !!!!! :mad:
Talk about good for a laugh! :p
As for calling the eL mediocre entertainment -I think you've seen too many matches at Flancare Park! :D
What is your problem with Longford Town and why do you associate me with same??:confused:Theres always something to whinge about,their football,manager,players,FFS even their stewards,is it just sour grapes that a part time club can be successful,cup wins,good home venue,mid-table league finish or is it lack of ambition on your part to support smaller clubs when results go against them(Wales),instead of berating them at every opportunity.If,as it seems,you want the El to progress both domestically and abroad then for gods sake support all your clubs big and small and especially when results are poor,maybe the leagues entertainment level will rise from mediocre then.Quote:
Anyway I'm sure there are plenty of Longford fans out there who are able to defend themselves without me adding anything.
It means yee won the cup over a few matches and did not do it over the longer period.
Precisely........and that it is a bit dodgy for the eL and Ireland to be represented in European Competition by a club that won just four games to get there!
Be that as it may, that's football for you, minnows sometimes cause upsets ( the romance of the cup and all that ) but are always found out in the end.
Your twisting things to suit your point of view.
:mad:
1,2,3,and 4 are all VALID points!!!!!!Quote:
returning to winter football would eb ridiculous.im sure its been covered in this thread so im not going over it again.just adding my disapproval
So what would you suggest,the top 4 qualify for europe instead?In which case us minnows would only have been one place off it last season and may have pushed further if we'd had something to play for and this season we would be on course for qualifying againQuote: