I agree
Printable View
I don’t accept that argument.
I would train on tarmac if it meant I could pull on the green jersey.
As would many lads that are in the squad.
So if someone doesn’t like the training and pulls out, it shows a lack of character. Nobody was giving out about the training or the football when we were doing well.
on another note, learn from this mistake MON, send michael OB home and replace him with Aaron Connolly.
Pride & ego is a killer
Blaming MON for the Grealish/Rice situations is silly imo. He handled both as well as could be expected.
We've no idea what really happened with Kelly.
He's made an absolute mess of this Obafemi situation though. I won't blame him for losing the player a such, but it would have been very easy to suss him out beforehand, instead playing out the situation in public the week of the games. This has been pure incompetence on O'Neill's part and he has deservedly ended up with egg on his face. Ridiculous.
well said. it is embarrassing to be picking players who haven't even committed to us :( even for this administration this is a new low. By all means let the kid pick but let him come back to us when he has made his mind up.
international teams shouldn't do test runs.
Granted he hasn't much senior experience but I'm sure Adam Connolly would have relished this week training with the seniors. It's a pity lads like him get the kick in the teeth.
This is a **** heap of the highest proportions.
Hopefully a defeat to the North and a hammering by Denmark are results enough to send MON over the edge...I doubt it though :/
Never hope for a defeat against the North!
Genuinely think that this a new low point of Irish football. To have a manager facilitate a player in the first team squad who is so uncommitted is nothing short of disgraceful.
Is Obafemi really uncommitted or is Martin O'Neill the one making this an issue here telling Obafemi that he should take time out to decide? Afterall, there are quotes from Obafemi saying that he was looking forward to going away with Ireland and possibly winning his first cap.
https://www.dailyecho.co.uk/sport/17220973.southampton-striker-wants-first-international-cap
Those quotes are hardly conclusive on committal long term.
I wonder is it a case that O'Neill is picking him because he is young just so he can point to the fact that he did call up young players. But because he has zero intention of playing him O'Neill is happy to use the card that Obafemi still has a decision to make so he cant play him.
Ive got my tinfoil hat firmly on with that theory, but its just so much bullsh1t constantly every time there is an international camp
I'm not really sure what the manager can do in this situation.
Grealish had agents in his ear telling him he will earn more money as an England player. He's still waiting on that first cap. He's ten months younger than Raheem Sterling, who has 46 caps. Not to mention Sancho, Foden, etc
Nobody has any idea why Kelly accepted, and then turned down, the call up.
Rice seemed to be committed, but then his chairman decided he was going to be England captain, and seems to be holding back Rice's new contract until he declares
Obafemi accepted the call up, but has had the Nigerian FA approach him to change allegiance.
He's in the squad to play. Surely, that means he should be a candidate to play in Denmark.
The national side isn't a pick and mix job. It is O'Neill's job to not let that happen and make it known that if he is isn't 100% sure about us, he shouldn't be taking up a place. If he called him up with an eye to the future, just play him. Michael O'Neill wouldn't be doodling around on something like this.
I have sympathy for MON on declan rice, but too often, he creates chaos around him. Going tomorrow is a chore for even dedicated fans. I will be there hoping for even 2 minutes of good football from us.
I am completely at a loss to understand what is going on and Davis seems to not understand the value of being chosen to represent your country.
https://www.independent.ie/sport/soc...-37530465.html
No, they broke the embargo. That's not going to sit well with the established press corps, and could lead to them being refused press credentials for the next event
But it looks like they botched the report too?
Ya can see why calling Obafemi into the squad to train / be part of the squad might seem like a good idea at the time
But in actual practice having a player in the squad that is not willing to play in the games just becomes obvious farce . From now on , if a player accepts a call up then he must be prepared to play in all the games .
We tried this . It just made the whole thing a farce !
Usually embargoes are set by PR firms or representative, not the media - at least as I understand them. They're also entirely voluntary, and no media outlet is under any obligation to respect them. Any PR firm or rep that tries to make life awkward for a journo who does break an embargo is going to get short shrift, and rightly so.
They've been respected by the media for as long as I can remember. No paper or journalist will release quotes from the embargoed stories until they are published
https://www.independent.ie/sport/soc...-37530498.html
This is a great interview with Callum Robinson. I posted it here rather than in his own thread, just to illustrate how personal national identity is and why I think we shouldn't judge players who play underage in one country largely for convenience. Robinson played underage for England but always wanted to play for Ireland and bureaucracy got in the way.
I found it interesting that Alan Browne got involved, but not by contacting the FAI but by contacting a journalist.
And did anyone read the story this week about a Scots born rugby player who moved south to play for Newcastle, qualified after 3 years of residence to play for England, got called up by Eddie Jones - and I think but must check, even making the subs bench in one game - but never made a senior appearance, and is now back with Scotland? He told Gregor Townsend on his call up that he wasn't really committed to England anyway and always preferred Scotland! What an utter t0sser.
Anyway, Kelvin Davies at Southampton says Obafemi would be great for us (also today's Indo online).
Obafemi commits to Ireland. What in the name of God has MON been talking about these past few days. He is some spoofer.
https://www.skysports.com/football/n...nd-and-nigeria
Fair play to him. Welcome Michael!
If this is true - MON hung the lad out to dry yesterday.
A quick search on twitter and the abuse directed towards the lad was ignorant.
Could O'Neill have handled this any more clumsily than this ?
The lad has had to come out with a statement to avoid boos on his debut, for his country.
Great stuff Martin, work to be proud of.