Perhaps Shamrock Rovers can give Pats a phonecall and ask them how to manage a game with a big away crowd?
This happens every time we play in Tallaght, our allocation sells out and some always have to buy tickets for the home end. Cover up your colours, get a ticket and walk down and sit beside the away end. There'll be plenty of room in the home end I'm sure.
If we have sold out 700 just to season tickets holders we'll probably have about the same again paying into the home end. Surely from Rovers' point of view it makes more sense to push the plastic barrier down a few rows and contain the additional Dundalk fans in that end of the main stand. The alternative is a load of aggro with at least a third of the rest of the stand occupied with Dundalk fans spread among the Rovers fans. I'd suggest there might be a bit of 'banter' between rivals too. It's going to be nuts.
Tickets all gone in Oriel.
Id recommend anyone going to Tallaght from Dundalk to arrive early as its gonna be mayhem outside the ground
Dundalk getting an additional 100 tickets. Seems to be the limit.
http://www.dundalkfc.com/shamrock-rovers-ticket-update/
jaysis, the amount of hot air on here would have got the Graff Zeppelin off the ground!
if you have a ticket for the game then whats the problem? if you dont just watch it on the tv at home, or in your local.
and perhaps calm the f**k down a bt , ye.
We didn't realise that going into the home end was such an accepted practice.
It'll all work out but Rovers could have saved a load of hassle by just giving Dundalk half the west stand in the first place. Regardless of what they do there'll be 1,000+ there from Dundalk, their handling of the situation has guaranteed a significant number of possibly drunk probably obnoxiously triumphalist* Dundalk fans sprinkled among their family/corporate/neutral section.
(* Yes, I intend to be obnoxiously triumphalist if we seal the deal)
Like it or not the reality is that the Gardai set the security requirements and that includes leaving a tranche of empty seats in the Main stand between the away support and they the home support , that allied to the design of the stand means you can't 'split' the allocation in two.
In relation to comments here that away fans will easily get tickets on the night for the home end - that happened once before against Pats and caused serious problems - the 'security plan for Friday will ensure that won't happen- downside might be a number of Dundalk fans may purchase tickets but then won't gain admission and also won't get a refund- so don't say you weren't warned.
What would be worse have a couple of hundred lads in a stand where they can be controlled or a couple of hundred lads walking around tallaght looking for somewhere to watch the game
All the Dundalk lads planning on arriving without tickets have to do is practise their German accents. Just don't mention the war.
None of that stops Rovers moving the orange plastic divider two or three blocks down the stand though. Logisitically it is not a problem to accomodate 1,000 - 3,000 away fans in Tallaght- astounding as it seems they managed to host large away crowds for Setanta and EA finals recently. The unmovable sacrosanct orange plastic divider was shifted down the stand. I understand that Rovers want to do what's best for Rovers and they may well want to fook Dundalk over considering the grimness of the away section in Oriel, but logistics isn't the reason for the ticket restrictions.
Think you're missing the point - only the Gardai can sanction the moving of the divider ( expect they will to accommodate max 800) dividing the stand in half won't happen as that would entail having to ask a number of members / season ticket holders vacate their designated seats in the middle of the Main stand. That also explains why for Setanta final the stand was split ie it was an FAI event so the security etc was controlled by the FAI/Garda this Rovers Members weren't entitled to access their designated seats
So time to put to bed the inference that our intention is to fook you over.
Fair enough. Maybe its the gardai saying 'under no circumstances can the orange plasticky thing be moved a couple of blocks, we'd rather have a couple of hundreds drunk ticketless Dundalk fans milling around outside a half-empty stadium than dare to move the sacred orange plasticky thing'. I'll be working on my finest Tallaght/Schleswig Holstein accent to ensure I'm in (the Rovers section of) the ground well before the literal and metaphorical kickoff.
Local retailers in Dundalk are doing a brisk trade in German football scarves. Guaranteed entry to Tallaght for German football supporters.
Shamrock Rovers, sie lieben das hoofball, jawohl?
When was the last title secured by an away side at Tallaght? I think AGS will have their work cut out for them Friday as its pretty likely there will be a welcoming party for Dundalk fans crossing the bridge from the shopping centre side!
That's all good and well but both of those were finals where the FAI run the security as you've said yourself so to use these as examples are pointless. Given its a final both clubs are entitled to an equal share of the tickets. In this case its just a league so its a different story. And if its the Gardai making the decision on the restriction then there's nothing Rovers can do. People are moaning and they don't know why Rovers can't give more then what 7/800 other then hearing from there mate said or from reading posts on social media.
I'm more concerned what there going to do with the Dundalk fans who show up. Theres hundreds booked on buses etc with no tickets
I have mine anyway so I'm not fussed. Just think a practical solution would be to let them congragate in one block.
Surely the guards will not want them out on the streets anyway as I can't see the pubs in Tallaght accommodating them.
In terms of Dundalk fans getting into the home end, are Rovers fans more Damo or more Ivor?
http://images.entertainment.ie/image...2/DamoIvor.jpg
Stole this of one of our lads twitter :D
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CQoFdCUVEAA2v2D.jpg
Thread should be re-named Shamrock rovers ask away fans to stay away to reduce crowds
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CQqWqvpWEAAmSLW.jpg
At least two buses of German fans from Dundalk heading to Tallaght on Friday following Shamrock Rovers kind invitation. Unreal the amount of German flags being made by various shops in the town.
Im sure the FAI will have a word and common sense will prevail!!!
At least it is on TV as imagine the 200 bus loads of Dundalk Fans that would arrive in Tallaght otherwise!
Rovers are ramping it up now, saying there'll be a strict ejection policy for any naughty Dundalk fans in the home end. I hope none of the German tourists accidentally applaud a good Dundalk passing move or they'll be out on their ear.
Have to admire Rovers' consistency- has any club worked so tirelessly on trying to get people not to watch them? TV cameras... no thanks. Away fans.... no thanks. Pat Fenlon football.... yes please!
Maybe Dundalk should erect a big screen at Oriel and charge €5 in.
Im just dissapointed we're not charging you lot €20 into our main stand.
I'm a Germany fan (no exaggeration they're a class act to see play) so ive been extended an invite by Shamrock Rvers, I just happen to follow Dundalk too!